We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thakadu River Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Thakadu River Camp to your Saves list
Thakadu River Camp
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Madikwe Game Reserve, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

It's a nice place with outstanding service. However, food options are limited ( quality is ok ) for the amount of money you pay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    28
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
58
44
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

Brilliant service from everyone at Thakadu! Very nice reception when you arrive. Small personal touches made all the deference! We had such a memorable anniversary. Game drives were fantastic, the massage was brilliant and the food was exceptional. Such a peaceful setting!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Thakadu is a tented camp and the Four Seasons is a hotel - enough said. This is 5 star and well worth the trip. The food, service, setting the moist wash clothes after game drives and tents (with A/C no less) is superb. The highlight however was our guide, which is part of the package, 2 drives each day, none less than 3.5 hours took us to see what there was to be seen, including the rarely seen Black Rhino. Better yet was our guide - "Patience", a local woman who is a highly skilled ranger and whose eyesight for the large and small was extraordinary. If one didn't know better we would have thought she had placed some creatures were they could be found later. One such instance after sunset says it all - as we moved down a dirt road Patience spotted a 3 cm long Chameleon on a branch by the side of the road, which was a follow-up only minutes before to spotting a Bush Baby on a tree at least 20 metres off the road in a tree - all this while driving and moving the spotlight around. I've been on safaris before and never have I seen a guide with such a collection of skills - be warned that if you get into a discussion about birds or stars you better know them well as Patience or you might get ashamed. Be forewarned that the drive in is a dirt road that last 20+ kilometers, but you can drive 60-80 kph on that road without issues.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

from the greeting after a long drive with chilled lavendar-scented towels and a glass of cream soda, to the breakfasts, to Patience-best-game-driver-in-the-universe, to turn down service, to the views, the pool, the service, the staff, the singing of happy birthday in tshwane, ..... i could go on and on. it was the best place we visited in south africa and we are really looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arklow, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 extremely enjoyable days at Thakadu. The food there is amazing, the game drives are great (ask for Patience - the best guide ever), the rooms are lovely (ours was number 8 - a little far from the main reception but with such GOOD food it probably helped!!)
We saw lots of beautiful animals - a whole family/pride of Lions on our 1st day and lots of elephants, a pack of about 30 African Wild Dogs, rare Black Rhino and the more common white rhino.
Patience even found us a leopard late one evening
I REALLY enjoyed Thakadu
Only criticism were the directions sent to us by the Madeki Collection people but as it turns out we got a free game drive as we had to cross nearly the whole of the southern section of the reserve.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the reception but you can also be lucky as you can sometimes see some smaller an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Germain-de-Joux, France
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Nous avons passe 2 nuits dans ce lodge. Les chalets ne sont pas de grand luxe mais tout y est: lit king size douillet, clim, jolie terrasse. Au restaurant il y a meme WIFI. Les repas sont corrects et gouteux. Les rangers sont super efficaces et ont une reponse a toutes vos questions. On n'a jamais vu autant d'animaux dans un parc et dieu sait qu'on en a visites....Le personnel est tres serviable. Il veille pour rendre votre sejour le plus agreable possible.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed at Thakadu for a weekend getaway (two nights three days). It was really lovely. The tents aren't what you would expect. They are actually more on the posh side and well kept rather than roughing it(ie,camping). The game drives were very enjoyable and the rangers were knowledgeable and very friendly. Our guide provided us with a astronomy lesson on our night drive. You just don't see stars like that in the city. So amazing. We had a 'picnic' in the wild as part of each game drive, that was truly awesome. The lodge staff were friendly and helpful. It was a great weekend away and we had no complaints about our stay. The only issue we had was with the directions that we were given. They were quite vague and we ended up on a very long, rough dirt road which wasn't kind to our sedan at all. There was however another route which we were supposed to take that has a shorter and kinder dirt road. I suggest they provide GPS co-ordinates of the camp and maybe clarify the directions further.

Room Tip: Enquire on a tent closer to the main buildings, the walk to the tents can be quite far. The staff wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thakadu River Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thakadu River Camp

Address: Madikwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Thakadu River Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Thakadu River Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thakadu River Camp Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thakadu River Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.