We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tau Game Lodge

Save Saved
You added Tau Game Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tau Game Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Madikwe Game Reserve 2581, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Brussels
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Customer service is excellent. The staff is friendly and enjoy talking to the guests. The accommodation's are nice but a little small. Rangers are great and very knowledgeable. Food was buffet style and was good, breakfast being the best meal. I only stayed one night so I cannot comment further on the food.
My only complaint is that we ate outside for dinner when it was near 0'C. Didn't make sense to me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    22
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
54
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I loved it so much with my daughter that I returned with my husband. He loved it too! Great food, great staff and great game drives. I will be back for more! The policy of no self-drive, off-roading only for confirmed sightings and a maximum of 3 vehicle at a time at a sighting are a great balance between accessibility of the animals and protection of the environment.




  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

This is out first visit to Tau for over 8 years. It was fantastic to return and to discover that if anything it has improved (if that is possible!). The rooms are great and overlook a fairly busy waterhole - some great game viewing from the room. The food is gourmet fine dining in the bush and is excellent. Game drives are brilliant with very knowledgable guides. We saw 4 of the big five in our one day stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narooma, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

There is nothing bad you could say about Tau Game Lodge, I have travelled the world and stayed in many different levels of accomodation and Tau is equivalent to the best of them. We received a beautiful welcome and all of the staff made you feel at home. The rooms are a decent size and very comfortable with an amazing outlook on to the lagoon. The food is awesome and the surrounds of the Lodge are very kept. The place is spotless. The rangers do their utmost to find you animals and make your experience just awesome. We saw Wildebeest, Waterbuck, Elephants, Crocodiles, Zebras, Impala and Warthog and that was just from the balcony in the first 15 minutes of arrival! This lodge was easy to get to as we travelled down from Gaborone Botswana and it was only a short drive.

Room Tip: They all have amazing views of the lagoon, maybe if you don't like walking ask for closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Tau in March for five nights for what can only be described as the experience of a lifetime. The staff, game drives, rooms, grounds, food....everything was amazing. We were travelling with our daughter, her husband and our three grandsons and our ranger, Kenneth was fantastic. He went the extra mile every game drive to make the experience memorable, he was patient with the kids and a mine of information about the animals, the game reserve and South Africa. A real highlight was our visit to Supingstad schools with Tumi and Kenneth to learn more about the schools and the work of the Tau Foundation. Allround, an experience not to be missed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was on business in Gabarone , Botswana and unexpectedly had 3 days free. Started calling operators in Botswana randomly and ended up with a proposal to spend 3 nights here. I didn't know anything about safaris so I was extremely blessed indeed

It is an easy trip from Gabarone (<1 hour) and even the border/immigration is a cool experience.

Madikwe/Tau had a lot of things that are important and that I didn't know about but that are critical to your experience. Tau is on a water hole so you see lots of animals. It has seperate huts and so you don't feel you're in a hotel. Madikwe controls the number of visitors plus does not have self-drive - so you're in a real natural environment and the animals are really wild. It never feels crowded.

The jewel of the experience, and why you are there, are the game drives. You're assigned to a Ranger. Ours was a son of the soil, Grant Botha, who was absolutely brillant. He had an encyclopaedia of knowledge and could answer (or pro-actively bring up) almost any fact - I was asking him questions like "how much does a Zebra eat a day?", "what is the % sucess rate for a lion's hunt". He was also a brillant tracker and could read and explain the landscape very easily...and was very well versed on the ecology and social/historical context. He's from a farm himself so obviously brings all that knowledge and experience to bear.

The highlight of our trip was seeing and following a hunt of 2 wildebeest by a pack of wild dogs. We also saw all of the Big 5, cheetah's etc. The real "safari" experts in my group were very impressed. In many cases. you get to less than 6 feet from the animals...who completely ignore the presence of the jeep and they're habituated.

As a neophyte, I was also worried that I'd be bored (after 6x 3-4 hour game drives) but the conditions vary so much, the light/weather/what you see, that each trip was fascinating.

I was travelling solo but wanted to offer a few observations for others.

One thing to check for any safari is whether kids can come. For safety reasons, kids <6 years cannot participate on game drives. They can do smaller drives and they have good babysitting....but if you have very young kids, you might be better to wait a few years.

Looking at the huts and the setting too, it is extremely romantic. I wish my wife was able to join. If you wanted a honeymoon spot that had no downside risks....this would be brilliant.

Room Tip: Get a hut right on the waterhole itself. I did and it was a treat to see crocs etc. These are number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was my first game lodge and it was wonderful. We were part of a group and they looked after us very well. We asked for a ranger who was a birder and Ken did a great job. It also helped that our group (3 couple) stayed with him for the 6 times we went out. The birding did not interfere with our spotting of the land animals.
The room (a small cottage) was delightful with an out door shower.
Good food too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tau Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tau Game Lodge

Address: Madikwe Game Reserve 2581, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Specialty lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tau Game Lodge 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tau Game Lodge is a 5 star Game lodge Situated in “Big 5”- Malaria Free Madikwe Reserve. Accessible by scheduled flights, or a 4 hour drive from Johannesburg. Each of the chalets ensures privacy with its own viewing deck, the main lodge offers a Curio shop, Swimming pool as well as a lounge, bar, and dining area, all partially outdoors.The convention centre offers state-of- the-Art meeting facilities. At The Spa Oasis, guests are offered rejuvenating spa treatments, surrounded by the beauty of the African Bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Tau Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tau Game Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tau Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.