We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so wild about Wildside” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wildside Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Entabeni Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildside Camp
Save
You added Wildside Camp to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Sterkrivier Rd | Lower Escarpment, Entabeni Game Reserve, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not so wild about Wildside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I guess it all depends what you have seen before, but I was not impressed with this Wildside camp at Entabeni. I mean the tents were OK and the ranger Michael was really wonderful, but the food was so mediocre! We didn't even get a coffee or tea during our morning drive... that is only done in winters they said. Common! You need to skimp on a rusk and some tea?? Being up from 5:30 am and then 4 hours in a Jeep, we need some coffee! I would not rate the camp more than 3 stars. A bit disappointing for me, especially when I compare it with bush lodges in Madikwe!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleBouic, Client Liaison at Wildside Camp, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Mireille,

Having received and read your review, we were disappointed to note that your overall experience was not the Legendary one we strive to create – and for this we apologise. We welcome beneficial comments and have passed your points on to the Camp Manager and her team to be addressed as clearly not all procedures were followed during your stay. We thank you for the positive comment on Michael, our ranger and have passed it on to him. We trust that this one visit will not deter you from returning to Entabeni Safari Conservancy in the future and affording us the opportunity to provide you with a truly Legendary experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    17
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
36
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taarnby, Denmark
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The Wildside Camp is the most amazing place, I have ever stayed at! It was an incredible thing living in a little luxury hut, where all the wild animals can come right up to you. There was an evening where there was like 10 impalas right outside the door. You could hear lions roar in the distance, a magical place to stay at! It was back in 2007, that I was there though so it's been awhile but I would love to go back one day!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, U.K.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The whole experience at the camp was first class.Mikey the ranger/guide was so helpful and knowledgable, he always had the interest of the animals at heart, and did not pursue, approach too close etc but used his knowledge and experience to great effect. We saw elephant, Rhino white and black, hippos, cheetahs x 2, 5 lions and just for good measure 3 kills, one of which happened minutes before we came across a female with a wildebeest carcass. All different kind of antelope etc , and just for good measure, giraffe, and baboon on site. As well as the animals, the bird life was varied and the food and facilities at the Lodge were spot on. We will visit again.we had 4 days and wish it had been longer.

Room Tip: We had no.20 which was fine,If I had a choice it would probably be 4 or 5 for being close to where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just got back from a wonderful 3 day / 3 night stay at Wildside Camp. Had the best time and the safari exceeded all expectations. First of all, it was a quick easy drive from Johannesburg. Upon arrival we were checked in to our awesome tent - which was quite luxurious. Lots of bedding, spacious in size with a clean, modern bathroom. Lunch was prepared and our first game drive was at 4pm that day. We didn't waste any time... Our ranger Michelle was absolutely fantastic. She was passionate, engaging, friendly and extremely knowledgeable. We felt very fortunate to have Michelle as our guide and ranger - she was awesome from start to finish. We saw every animal you could imagine - zebras, giraffes, several prides of lions, cheetahs, hippos, elephants - every drive had its own breath-taking moment and experience. Food was top notch, we were well fed and everything was delicious. I would highly recommend Wildside Entabeni.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I had a wonderful three days at Wildside Safari Camp, Entabeni, South Africa. My guide, Marco, was fantastic and he was able to locate all the animals on our game drives, both morning and evening with his tracking skills. He also has a great knowledge of the birds in the area. I would thoroughly recommend Wildside Safari Camp to anyone wanting a fabulous time in the bush in South Africa. The accommodation is very comfortable and the staff amazingly cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We just got home from our trip to South Africa and going to Entabeni Safari Camp was absolutely the highlight. We did two safaris a day and saw all kinds of animals including lions, rhinos, hippos, cheetas, crocs, giraffes, and zebras. Our guide Dan was fantastic. He got us up close and personal to the animals including a lion kill. He would study the various footprints and dung along the road to know where the animals were heading so we could find them. If you are going to South Africa, definitely go to Wildside Safari Camp; it was truly a trip of a lifetime.

Room Tip: We were in Room #2 and saw zebras and giraffes from right outside of our porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

A week here is a trip of a lifetime. The guides are awesome, the food is good, the tents are very comfortable, and the wildlife viewing is incredible. The guides get you close to the animals and we had the right combination of games drives, down time, and other activities. We were fortunate to see the lions hunt and make a kill and also saw them feeding at another kill. The tents are more like rooms with wood floors, thatched roofs, and full built in bathroom with a shower that is partially outside.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wildside Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildside Camp

Address: Sterkrivier Rd | Lower Escarpment, Entabeni Game Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Entabeni Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Entabeni Game Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Wildside Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled against the majestic cliffs of the Waterberg Mountain lies Wildside Safari Camp where you can experience the wild side of the bush. Stay close to nature in tented chalets on wooden decks. Traditional South African hospitality and superior cuisine await you in the informal dining and bar area extending to the boma. Here, in the warm atmosphere around the campfire, you will experience an African night at its best. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildside Camp Hotel Entabeni Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildside Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.