We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location to relax and see some wildlife” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ravineside Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ravineside Lodge to your Saves list
Ravineside Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Sterkrivier Rd | Upper Escarpment, Entabeni Game Reserve, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great location to relax and see some wildlife”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

This lodge is set within spectacular scenery, approx 3 1/2 hour transfer from jo'burg. On our visit we were the only guests at the lodge which made the place seem very empty but nice at the same time. On our arrival we drove past some rhinos which were always located by the front of the lodge.
There are 5 lodges on the game reserve, the ravineside lodge is on the upper escarpment which is 30min drive from the lower escarpment (which is where the lions are) so this eats into quite a large chunk of your daily game drives. I would recommend to stay at one of the other lodges on the lower escarpement to increase the amount of time that you get to see the big cats, especially if you are only spending 2 days there.
At our lodge the pool was empty during our stay, not that this really bothered us but could some people. They did off to drive us to another lodge if we wanted to go swimming.
The food was ok but just lacked a bit of inspiration and quality. There was nothing to complain about but you was not blown away eithe. The choice was a limited and did not wet your lips. On our last night the manager booked us into the kingfisher lodge (5*) for dinner but again the food was fairly similar.
The staff were all extremely helpful and warm and made your feel very welcome. Your ranger takes you everywhere and looks after all your needs during your stay.
The rooms are set overlooking on the edge of a ravine which is a lovely setting although we did not really see much wildlife from the room (not that we were there much). All you can see is rocks and bushes into the distance. The bed was extremely comfortable but the bathroom was a bit dissapointing.
during our 3 days we see 4 of the big 5 which was great. The buffalo are rare on the reserve though we managed to see them but this was the first time our ranger had seen them for 10 weeks. the reserve is massive so this is not surprising but do not expect to see wildlife every minute of the day. On occasions we did spend a couple of hours driving around and not seeing very much. i dont think this is because there is many animals, it is just wildlife with free roam over a very large area.
Enjoyed our stay but not sure whether i was given any real reasons to go back

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petts Wood
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

This was a fantastic place to stay. The staff were so good, and you really felt special. The lodges were amazing, with great views. When we got back to our rooms at night, due to still being abit chilly the beds, had been turned back with heated blankets switched on. Our ranger "Jonty" made our game drives really special. He even arranged a rather splended picnic in the bush - I am not talking sandwiches etc. This turned out to be fully laid table, with wine glasses etc. Thanks to everyone that made our holiday so special.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, somerst
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We had 5 nights booked at the Ravineside lodges, but were upgrades to 5* kingfisher after 2 nights as we were the only guests staying up there. Ravineside was very rustic and despite the weather being rather wet and cold we were more than happy staying there-it was very cosy. Kingfisher was definitely more luxurious (robes, slippers, courtesy sherry & cookies etc), and has a fabulous position on the lake, but we found the service-which was excellent,was not superior to ravineside. All the food was delicious but we found 3 X 3 course meals a day too much and the staff seemed surprised when we started skipping courses!
Once you got used to the 05:30 starts the drives were excellent and the rangers very helpful and informative, trying hard to ensure that we saw as much game as possible. This was our first experience of safaris and will definitely not be our last, a truly memorable experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

We were made to feel special from the minute we arrived until the moment we left. Nothing was too much trouble.

Nick Becker, our ranger, was passionate, friendly, helpful, informative. All the staff were excellent.

The food tastes far better than it looks. The rooms are adequate, and there were gaps between the floorboards showing light down the ravine!

There are a number of different starred properties in the Game Reserve, so there is something for everyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgomanero, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

We are not beginner in doing drive games in South Africa, and we can say that Ravineside Lodge is a very beautiful place with magnificent scenery.
We spent three nights there.
The games were very interesting and we saw a lot of wildlife including two cheetahs (but no leopard in sight and not so many birds). For us the games were a little too short (about 3.5 hours x game).
Our ranger was very knowledgeable and we were able to take all the photos we want to take.
The jeep was large enough to allow me to shot all my photos using my tripod, (and this is a very great thing in order to get good shots).
The Lodge was very nice, the room was comfortable and with an amazing view.
The food was really good and no problem at all with the staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

Our four night stay courtesy of Virgin Holidays was a fantastic experience and wonderful value. The only extras we had to pay for were drinks from the bar which were also very reasonable. The scenery is breathtaking and you are taken to difference parts of the reserve on each game run. The ride from the upper escarpment to the lower escarpment is particularly exciting and more like a ride on a roller coaster - not for the sqeamish. Our ranger although very young was extremely competent and did everything he could to make our stay memorable. In fact all the staff were first rate and we certainly didn't experience any hasseling for tips as a previous reviewer reported. The animals are superb and there's a wonderful selection of birdlife to be enjoyed.

Driving from Jo'burg Airport was very easy and although the last 30 km was on dirt roads they were in good shape as long as you kept an eye out for the odd pothole.

We drove out to a couple of other places outside of the reserve, eg. Nysvley Nature Reserve and the Doorndraai Dam Nature Reserve which are particularly good for birdwatching and felt very safe and everyone we met was helpful and friendly.

I highly recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

We went in November 2009 for four nights with Virgin Holidays. Its about a three hour drive from JBurg on great roads for most of the journey. The scenery is spectacular as the reserve is on two levels, on top and below a massive escarpment and even with two three hour drives a day I doubt we covered the same ground on more than one occasion. The food and accomodation were excellent and the staff were very efficient and friendly. The Ranger we had for the four days was superb and made the whole experience something never to forget. The lodges are perched on the side of a ravine and are very comfortable, great place to sit in the sun and look over the plain on the other side. Beer, wine etc. were the only thing we had to pay for and were very reasonable considering you are a captive audience. There was more than enough to see for four days as the reserve is vast and the variety of animals fantastic. We had a couple of twitchers on our outings for two of the days which added to the experience as the variety of bird life is amazing. I could not recommend Ravenside highly enough and for value for money hard to beat in my opinion. One piece of advice, having flown to SA before when we went up to Kruger, it makes the trip less tiring if you stay beside JBurg airport for a night to catch up on your sleep/allow for late flight arrival and then pick up a hire car early the next morning from the airport. We stayed in the Emperors Palace which is only 5 mins from airport, and enjoyed the spa facitities which was a fanastic way to recover from an overnight flight, and it makes sure you get up to Entabeni in time for lunch and your first game drive in the late afternoon.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ravineside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravineside Lodge

Address: Sterkrivier Rd | Upper Escarpment, Entabeni Game Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Entabeni Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Entabeni Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravineside Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravineside Lodge comprises tranquil thatched wooden lodges on stilts with magnificent views. Each lodge has 3 or 4 luxury en-suite bedrooms with an African ethnic theme. A private open-plan lounge and bar area extends to the open sundecks. From here guests may indulge in bird and game watching and experience the beauty of the ravine with the rippling sound of water far down in the valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ravineside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravineside Hotel Entabeni Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ravineside Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.