We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is huge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Legend Golf and Safari Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Legend Golf and Safari Resort to your Saves list
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sterkrivier Rd to Haakdoring Rd, Entabeni Game Reserve, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“It is huge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I went there with a group of 12 golfers. The rooms and suites are massive so the air con does struggle to cope so you have to keep doors closed. The rooms were very clean and the fixtures and fitting were excellent. Everything is very spread out so you need transport to go anywhere on site. On arrival they give you a sheet listing driving times to get from one place to another. If you have a car fine, if not then you can ring for transport but it can take a little while to arrive. There was a big conference on when we first arrived with 300 guests which spoiled things. Once they left things improved. The restaurants were okay but not fantastic. The staff were excellent and did their best under sometimes trying situations. I thought the golf course and club house were good. There is a new club house opening in several months time which may improve the dining situation.
Oddly there was no information booklet in either the room or the suite we occupied. It would have been helpful. We may have then made more use of facilities and found where the swimming pool was. Because everything is very spread out we assumed there is no room service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    29
    13
    4
    10
See reviews for
7
21
3
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are clean and well-appointed, aircon was underpowered, service was not great, my room had helicopter flyovers from 6am, food was shocking (fatty, unimaginative, some got ill on day three), and I never managed to find a pool or a bar if you don't want the Clubhouse. I was there for a corporate event but wouldn't return on a holiday.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleBouic, Client Liaison & Branding Executive at Legend Golf and Safari Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Monikaluel,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are disheartened to read that you feel our Resort is a golfer’s only paradise when in fact we offer a number of activities for non-golfers. We wish to thank you though, for bringing to our attention that perhaps there is insufficient signage and marketing material on our property and can assure you this is being addressed. We ask that you do not lose faith in our Resort and consider returning to us to experience what our property has to offer. Follow us on Facebook to keep updated on the current and new facilities as well as our great Summer Specials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed as part of company event. Facilities were not spectacular, but good, food was good, rooms were very nice, neat and clean. Setting is very good if you are looking for a breakaway in nature, with game walking on your doorstep and nice bushveld views.

18 Hole Golf course was in quite good condition although fairways are bit bumpy and rough is very thin, taking into account the current drought. I expected more, but it wasn't bad.

Overall, I would rate it high average. It was nice being there, but I would not bend over backwards to go again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Really enjoyed it, would go back again, again and again. The bar adjoined to the world tour golf is nice and relaxing, would reccomend to go there for few drinks before setting on the golf world tour :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Although my trip was work rather than pleasure - two weeks at this amazing resort was a wonderful experience. Waking up each morning to bird song, treated to visit of Impala, Kudu, Sable, Wilderbeest and not forgetting the cheeky Vervet Monkeys.

The staff are always smiling and a pleasure to deal with. My working days were long , to have a home away from home to return to each evening was perfect.

Wifi in room a godsend. Sat. TV to keep in touch with the outside world.

Looking forward to returning to this very special resort.

My only small critic is that their is no room service and many days the cleaning did not leave appropriate toiletries.

Room Tip: All peaceful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed here with my family for the long weekend. The expectation was that this would be a 5 star experience but unfortunately it fell very short of that. The unit was small and cramped and we had had maintenance and housekeeping issues. The bathroom hand shower had a leak that flooded the floor everytime was used it. The soap canisters in the bathroom were half-empty and the shower cubicle was not cleaned. After a few complaints we were allocated a new room but we had to move all the bags ourselves. The housekeeping staff watched us without offering assistance.
In the new unit the top of the tap fell off but I managed to fix it
The weekend ended really badly when my camera went missing while we had dinner on the last night of our stay.

A few other things that make this family un-friendly is that the accomodation is far away from all facilities. So everytime you need to go somewhere you need to call for transport and then stand on the roadside waiting for it .... that is if you do not have your own car ... in which case you will need to drive.

At one point we felt for a cup of coffee and called room service .... we were told that they do not offer coffee with milk ... only with creamer...
Another visitor complained that they called for a shower cap and was told that they do not have any...

All in all ... this resort has one unique selling point which is the extreme 19th hole ...this is only attractive to avid golfers who want something different. Other than that there is a host of better resorts available for the same price. Not recommended.

Room Tip: If you really want to stay here then be prepared for a small room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleBouic, Client Liaison at Legend Golf and Safari Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Good Day Mr Kalidas,

We have received your feedback after your stay at Legend Golf & Safari Resort, thank you.

We understand that you did report your missing camera during your stay and unfortunately after investigating this, it was not found. Despite further investigations by our Security Manager, the missing camera has not materialized. Should you require any form of documentation from our side regarding the investigation for insurance purposes, please contact us on reservations@legendlodges.co.za and we will gladly assist.

The layout of our resort is a big attraction for most people as it ensures privacy and a view into nature. It also helps for guests not to be disturbed by unwanted noise or people. We understand that this was not a plus point for you as you would have preferred to be closer to everything. We apologize that the maintenance in your room was not to standard and that you had to be moved, this is definitely not ideal for any guest and we have asked our maintenance department to start checking all our rooms to rectify any problems. The fact that you found our housekeeping staff unhelpful, is unacceptable and they have been addressed to ensure better service and friendliness in future.

We market Legend Golf & Safari Resort as a Luxury Resort and a bush destination cannot really be compared to a 5 star Hotel. The coffee and tea making facility in your room is for your comfort and to enjoy at leisure without the need to phone room service. We do however pride ourselves on delivering a Legendary experience, and it is disheartening that you did not fully enjoy your stay. From your manual guest feedback we saw that there were some good experiences as well and the overall feedback from the group you travelled with was very positive, advising that our resort would definitely be a venue to return to in future.

We trust that you will rather remember the good than the uncomfortable after your stay at Legend Golf & Safari Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glens Falls, New York
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Loved this safari resort. Quiet and very spread out but just what we wanted. The game drives were the best. Be sure to ask for Dan, he may be from the US but was the best guide hands down. I would go back just to do drives with him. Loved the rooms, food was good. They were still building in April so hopefully they have done something with reception, it was not a good first impression. But after that, everything was great!

Room Tip: Ask for Dan and always book with a travel agent so someone has your back. The transfer from Jo-burg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleBouic, Client Liaison & Branding Executive at Legend Golf and Safari Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you ever so much for your feedback. Our staff are our biggest asset and we are glad that the service they provided to you will be remembered. Your comments regarding Dan have been passed on to him as well. Regarding our Reception area – a few minor changes have been made since your last visit, however the major renovations will begin in 2014 once our Golf Clubhouse is finalised. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Legendary resort in the near future.

Andy Young, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Legend Golf and Safari Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legend Golf and Safari Resort

Address: Sterkrivier Rd to Haakdoring Rd, Entabeni Game Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Entabeni Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Entabeni Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Legend Golf and Safari Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legend Golf and Safari Resort is situated within the Entabeni Safari Conservancy in the malaria-free Waterberg Region of the Limpopo Province of South Africa, just a 35 minute flight or a two and a half hour drive from Johannesburg. This new resort is setting new standards in exclusivity and tranquility and reflects the rich cultural legacy of this ancient part of Africa. The Legend Golf & Safari Resort consists of an exceptional and unique 18-hole Signature Course, a luxury estate and many other facilities, situated on a Big 5 Game Reserve in the heart of the African bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Legend Golf and Safari Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legend Golf And Safari Hotel Mokopane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legend Golf and Safari Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.