We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Step Beyond!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Legend Golf and Safari Resort

Save Saved
You added Legend Golf and Safari Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sterkrivier Rd to Haakdoring Rd, Entabeni Game Reserve, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“One Step Beyond!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Yo. The Soulman was travelling again- to beautiful Limpopo, North of Jozie Town. The Soulman and his lovely Soulmam dished out a great weekend for our wonderful friend Markus to celebrate his 60th birthday. So the Soulman packed his yellow little hard-case humidor, stuffed it with a gooooood weekend's supply of Habanos and off we were.
What better place to check out for a gulf nut than Legend Golf & Safari Resort with its world famous Extreme 19th : The greatest Par 3 on this planet!
The resort is located in one of the most beautiful spaces this country has to offer. The Waterberg's landscape is breathtaking and the golf courses in the resort are the place to go for a round or two in the midst of the bush! Top accommodation combined with great foodie spots and watering holes await the golf and safari enthusiast. Great service by a staff that makes your stay a treat! And, yes....the Extreme 19th is an experience of a lifetime. Pack your driver, board the chopper to hop to the top of the mountain and - Rock'n'Roll, Baby!!!! This is the heavy, heavy monster Par! The nuttiest Par 3 around - One step beyond! Yes, it is a bit expensive, but worth every single penny! Hey, Pete and Lisa: Thanks for a great stay and a great party - rock steady Buster! The men with the yellow little suitcase will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    27
    9
    4
    9
See reviews for
6
17
1
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for a week here, which I guess is a bit unusual since most people seem to stay for a couple of days. How they can see the whole place in that time beats me. Virtually everything about this place is unbelievable, the scenery, the views, the golf, the wildlife - just so good. We played both the courses which are challenging but fun. The Tribute course is a great idea and well set out but harder than it looks which I guess is fair given its 10 par 3s from famous courses around the globe. The Signature course is much more 'normal' apart from the wandering wildlife. It's pretty long with good layouts and (best of all for us) was no where near the level of busyness that some of the courses that we have played on (some days it felt like we were the only ones there!). We also played the Extreme 19th which is UNBELIEVABLE. if you get a chance to do this do not miss the opportunity. If I go back I'm doing it more than once - hang the cost.
I've seen some reviews about the service but honestly, I couldn't fault it. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to make sure our stay was first class. Everyone, from the guys maintaining the grounds to the rangers, to one of the Directors of the resort made us feel like we were exceptional guests that deserved special attention.
The room we had was lovely, well set out with good space and all the amenities. The resturants we went to were excellent and the ones out in the game reserve were very exciting especially when the lions roaming around outside. The restaurant at the lodge even put on an impromtue show of African singing at the end of the meal. We went on a couple of game drives and saw everything including a rhino chase a pride of lions way. Very exciting. We also went to see the White lions (not albinos!) I only hope that the legend that is linked to them comes true.
So basically, a great place for a real relaxing stay with great golf, very helpful and cheerful staff, all the wildlife and a bucket list item - what more could you ask for?

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We came to legends on a conference and I was so disappointed. It is such a beautiful venue but the service and attention to detail was terrible. Over a period of 5 days, we had power failures for 4 days. The telephone is the room did not work. Nor did the tv- the tv did not work for 4 days and when phoning (off our cell phones) for help, we were told someone would come only after begging. Lights in our room didn't work either and some of my colleagues showers didn't work. These are simple things that one would think someone would ensure was functional. The food was terrible as well with 3 colleagues that I know of becoming ill and it looked as though the previous nights food was just reused the next day. The waiters were also not very clued up and although they tried to be helpful, they did not seem to know much.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Client Liaison & Branding Executive at Legend Golf and Safari Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort. We do strive to create a Legendary experience for all our guests and apologise if this was not the case for you. Due to our remote location and the fact that our cabling is exposed to the elements and animal activity, we do have instances were connectivity is lost to our televisions. This, coupled with the power outages experienced within our area, has been the cause of much frustration to our guests. As I am unsure which group you travelled with, I am unable to supply you with detailed feedback regarding the food complaint. I can, however, assure you that with the appointment of a new F & B Manager we are confident that issues of this nature will not occur in the future. We are in full agreement that it is the little things that can make or break a person’s stay with us and we thank you for bringing them to our attention. We welcome constructive comments as we believe they can only assist us in bettering our service. We do hope that this stay does not deter you from returning to Legend Golf & Safari Resort in the near future and allowing us the opportunity to create a Legendary experience for you.

Regards,
Michelle Bouic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed at Legends for 3 nights in January 2013 on a work conference. Excellent modern accommodation, massive bath and shower etc. Each room has tea and coffee facilities, and a bar fridge.

You are spoilt for choice in activities - game drives and the big 5 on your doorstep, spa and golf.
I was treated to a full body massage, which was a great way to unwind. We went out for an early morning game drive, and spotted a herd of elephants, hippo, jackals, kudu etc. Was really great.

We took the helicopter to the 19th hole, which was trully a wonderful experience. Gorgeous views and I highly recommend this to anyone visiting! We then had lunch on the top of the mountain..

Food at the resort was average. I wouldn't rave. But fairly decent.

Unfortunately one evening there was a function on at the pool area and the noise carried on until late. i called reception to complain 5 times, yet nothing was done about it. Also I decided to have an afternoon nap and woke up in a sweat as the aircon stopped working. When it is 30 degrees outside, aircon is essential! They explained it was due to a power failure and their generator kicked in... however it seemed many of our aircons were not connected to the generator.
Luckily it was back on in the evening.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahiti
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Legend is quite a good resort, unfinished though... The golf is OK but the thrill is the Extreme 19th, a Par 3 from the mountain. any common golfer that can afford it should do the experience for the fun and his own records.
The Entabeni game reserve is not huge but has it all, we could encounter most of the species and got beautiful pictures without having to drive hours long with the ranger
The Minus are : no serious restauration, lack of a swimming pool to the standard of the resort... Unfinished, lack of money from the promoter of the project.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Client Liason and Branding Executive OBO General Manager Gary Millar at Legend Golf and Safari Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Albert Tahiti,

Thank you for taking the time to put your review on Tripadvisor. It is heartening to see that you enjoyed the Extreme 19th and the game viewing at Entabeni Safari Conservancy. We welcome constructive comments and would like the opportunity to give you some feedback on our resort’s development.

Due to the size and scale of the Golf Course development, the developers are very careful as to where they spend funds. As you will appreciate, we are in the middle of a World Recession and therefore development, if any, everywhere in the World, is at a much slower pace. The developers chose to allocate funds to our new Events and Conference Hall which can accommodate 650 guests, as well as a fleet of new Safari and Operational vehicles in 2012. This year, 2013, the Clubhouse at the Signature Course will be completed including a new Restaurant. However, in terms of formal Restaurants currently available, there are 4 options for Leisure guests, namely the 2 Clubhouse venues, Lookout Restaurant and the Shebeen. These are not counting the larger dining venues reserved usually for groups, namely the 3 outdoor Boma venues and the Banqueting Halls. Individual guests are also welcome to book dinner at one of the Entabeni Lodges for variety during their stay. We trust that you will return to Legend Golf & Safari Resort in the near future and enjoy the new developments as they unfold.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our guide was outstanding and we managed to see a lot of wildlife in a few drives (elephants, lions, zebras, giraffes, a cheetah, hippos, snakes, monkeys, wildebeests, kudus, etc.)
The meals were very good, although inconsistent; Our camp was very empty on one of our nights, so it was understaffed... it would have been fine except my lost/delayed baggage arrived on that night, and no one knew it had actually arrived. Making outside calls from the lodge (to the airport, inquiring about my bag) was a big hassle.
They only provide small plastic water bottles, which is a huge waste. If you're traveling there, I would recommend bringing a couple of big bottles of water with you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Senior Marketing Assistant OBO Gary Millar, GM Entabeni Safari Conservancy at Legend Golf and Safari Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I can only apologise for the lack of service received from my team on the ground regarding your suitcase and assure you that this is not the norm and that the matter has been taken up with them. Water is supplied in a standard 500ml bottle as many guests find the larger bottles more difficult to handle considering the terrain in the Conservancy. Thank you for your compliment regarding your guide – it is always heartening to hear when our team members deliver the Legendary experience we strive to create. I look forward to welcoming you back to Entabeni Safari Conservancy again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Recently spent 2 nights, wonderful game drives (twice a day early morning and sunset) the only issue is that some jeeps are quite old and not comfortable. The resort itself is ok, not luxury, rooms are spacious but a bit dirty. Service is quite slow due to the distance between main facilities and rooms. Perfect for golf players thanks to the unique “extreme 19th” hole. If I come back to SA I would probably try something else

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Senior Marketing Assistant OBO General Manager at Legend Golf and Safari Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Businesstraveller072,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for your compliments on the golfing and safari experiences offered on our Resort. Regarding the condition of our vehicles, I can happily inform you that a new fleet of vehicles has been procured for our Resort and our adjacent property Entabeni Safari Conservancy. The rollout of this new fleet has started in the Conservancy with Resort vehicles set to be delivered before year end. The press release and photographs of the new vehicles can be found on our Facebook page, www.facebook.com/legendgolfsafari . I do you hope you retain Legend Golf & Safari Resort as a golfing and safari destination when returning to South Africa as I can assure you that our Resort is constantly evolving with the aim of providing a Legendary experience for each and every guest that passes through our gates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Legend Golf and Safari Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legend Golf and Safari Resort

Address: Sterkrivier Rd to Haakdoring Rd, Entabeni Game Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Entabeni Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Entabeni Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Legend Golf and Safari Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legend Golf and Safari Resort is situated within the Entabeni Safari Conservancy in the malaria-free Waterberg Region of the Limpopo Province of South Africa, just a 35 minute flight or a two and a half hour drive from Johannesburg. This new resort is setting new standards in exclusivity and tranquility and reflects the rich cultural legacy of this ancient part of Africa. The Legend Golf & Safari Resort consists of an exceptional and unique 18-hole Signature Course, a luxury estate and many other facilities, situated on a Big 5 Game Reserve in the heart of the African bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Legend Golf and Safari Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legend Golf And Safari Hotel Mokopane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legend Golf and Safari Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.