We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On nature's doorstep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Legend Golf and Safari Resort

Save Saved
You added Legend Golf and Safari Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Travelocity
and 4 more sites!
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sterkrivier Rd, Entabeni Game Reserve, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“On nature's doorstep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed at Legends for 3 nights in January 2013 on a work conference. Excellent modern accommodation, massive bath and shower etc. Each room has tea and coffee facilities, and a bar fridge.

You are spoilt for choice in activities - game drives and the big 5 on your doorstep, spa and golf.
I was treated to a full body massage, which was a great way to unwind. We went out for an early morning game drive, and spotted a herd of elephants, hippo, jackals, kudu etc. Was really great.

We took the helicopter to the 19th hole, which was trully a wonderful experience. Gorgeous views and I highly recommend this to anyone visiting! We then had lunch on the top of the mountain..

Food at the resort was average. I wouldn't rave. But fairly decent.

Unfortunately one evening there was a function on at the pool area and the noise carried on until late. i called reception to complain 5 times, yet nothing was done about it. Also I decided to have an afternoon nap and woke up in a sweat as the aircon stopped working. When it is 30 degrees outside, aircon is essential! They explained it was due to a power failure and their generator kicked in... however it seemed many of our aircons were not connected to the generator.
Luckily it was back on in the evening.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    24
    8
    4
    8
See reviews for
6
15
1
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tahiti
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Legend is quite a good resort, unfinished though... The golf is OK but the thrill is the Extreme 19th, a Par 3 from the mountain. any common golfer that can afford it should do the experience for the fun and his own records.
The Entabeni game reserve is not huge but has it all, we could encounter most of the species and got beautiful pictures without having to drive hours long with the ranger
The Minus are : no serious restauration, lack of a swimming pool to the standard of the resort... Unfinished, lack of money from the promoter of the project.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Client Liason and Branding Executive OBO General Manager Gary Millar at Legend Golf and Safari Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Albert Tahiti,

Thank you for taking the time to put your review on Tripadvisor. It is heartening to see that you enjoyed the Extreme 19th and the game viewing at Entabeni Safari Conservancy. We welcome constructive comments and would like the opportunity to give you some feedback on our resort’s development.

Due to the size and scale of the Golf Course development, the developers are very careful as to where they spend funds. As you will appreciate, we are in the middle of a World Recession and therefore development, if any, everywhere in the World, is at a much slower pace. The developers chose to allocate funds to our new Events and Conference Hall which can accommodate 650 guests, as well as a fleet of new Safari and Operational vehicles in 2012. This year, 2013, the Clubhouse at the Signature Course will be completed including a new Restaurant. However, in terms of formal Restaurants currently available, there are 4 options for Leisure guests, namely the 2 Clubhouse venues, Lookout Restaurant and the Shebeen. These are not counting the larger dining venues reserved usually for groups, namely the 3 outdoor Boma venues and the Banqueting Halls. Individual guests are also welcome to book dinner at one of the Entabeni Lodges for variety during their stay. We trust that you will return to Legend Golf & Safari Resort in the near future and enjoy the new developments as they unfold.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our guide was outstanding and we managed to see a lot of wildlife in a few drives (elephants, lions, zebras, giraffes, a cheetah, hippos, snakes, monkeys, wildebeests, kudus, etc.)
The meals were very good, although inconsistent; Our camp was very empty on one of our nights, so it was understaffed... it would have been fine except my lost/delayed baggage arrived on that night, and no one knew it had actually arrived. Making outside calls from the lodge (to the airport, inquiring about my bag) was a big hassle.
They only provide small plastic water bottles, which is a huge waste. If you're traveling there, I would recommend bringing a couple of big bottles of water with you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Senior Marketing Assistant OBO Gary Millar, GM Entabeni Safari Conservancy at Legend Golf and Safari Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I can only apologise for the lack of service received from my team on the ground regarding your suitcase and assure you that this is not the norm and that the matter has been taken up with them. Water is supplied in a standard 500ml bottle as many guests find the larger bottles more difficult to handle considering the terrain in the Conservancy. Thank you for your compliment regarding your guide – it is always heartening to hear when our team members deliver the Legendary experience we strive to create. I look forward to welcoming you back to Entabeni Safari Conservancy again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Recently spent 2 nights, wonderful game drives (twice a day early morning and sunset) the only issue is that some jeeps are quite old and not comfortable. The resort itself is ok, not luxury, rooms are spacious but a bit dirty. Service is quite slow due to the distance between main facilities and rooms. Perfect for golf players thanks to the unique “extreme 19th” hole. If I come back to SA I would probably try something else

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Senior Marketing Assistant OBO General Manager at Legend Golf and Safari Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Businesstraveller072,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for your compliments on the golfing and safari experiences offered on our Resort. Regarding the condition of our vehicles, I can happily inform you that a new fleet of vehicles has been procured for our Resort and our adjacent property Entabeni Safari Conservancy. The rollout of this new fleet has started in the Conservancy with Resort vehicles set to be delivered before year end. The press release and photographs of the new vehicles can be found on our Facebook page, www.facebook.com/legendgolfsafari . I do you hope you retain Legend Golf & Safari Resort as a golfing and safari destination when returning to South Africa as I can assure you that our Resort is constantly evolving with the aim of providing a Legendary experience for each and every guest that passes through our gates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I went for 2 nights in early November and really enjoyed the extreme 19 experience. We were disappointed in the resort. When we arrived the safe was broken, and as a result we had cash stolen from our room. In hindsight we should have kept all of our cash with us, but it seemed clear that this was set up from the start with the broken safe. We had to involve management and security- but little was done and management was unresponsive. When we checked out we also noticed we had been charged twice for the nicer dinner, so make sure you review your bill!

All in all- I would recommend for a day golf trip, but the food and resort was not worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Senior Marketing Assistant OBO General Manager at Legend Golf and Safari Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Emily


Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I apologise for not personally discussing this matter with you at the time of the incident. However, having followed up on the Security Incident Report I am of the opinion that all procedures were adhered to as per our Security Policy. As per the letter addressed to you from our Resort & Conservancy Security Manager, no further evidence has come to light. However, should that change, I will be in direct contact with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This is more like a timeshare resort versus a Safari Resort. Let me say if your expectations are staying in a golf resort that's near the bush....great place and 5 stars. It's a HUGE property and feels like an estate more than resort. The rooms are very nice and showers are huge. The TV's are a bit small for the size of the room but do the trick. Internet is almost nonexistent (beyond slow even with ethernet cord). They don't have any irons on the entire property and was told all laundry is done offsite which takes 24 hours. What? That's right. If you need to press a shirt...won't happen. Never have seen that anywhere in the world. Customer service is fine but not really a wow experience. I didn't golf so it would be difficult for me to rate that, but the helicopter ride to the mountain top certainly seemed cool and unique. It's a nice area and for what it is the place is nice. If I were going for vacation, I would be a bit disappointed. Just be sure you know what your getting and set the appropriate expectations for the trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I stayed as part of a business conference for 3 nights. The rooms were well appointed and had a great bathroom. Food was good but not outstanding (probably because it was conference fair!). The sevice was excellent!

I am not a Golfer but understand that this is one of the most spectacular 18 hole courses in SA. Sample the 19th hole by helicopter!

The game is great and the Big 5 are all available. There is also quad biking and a Spa.

A great place to to chill and recover from city lifeQ

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Legend Golf and Safari Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legend Golf and Safari Resort

Also Known As:
Legend Golf And Safari Hotel Mokopane
Legend Golf And Safari Hotel
Address: Sterkrivier Rd, Entabeni Game Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Entabeni Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Entabeni Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Legend Golf and Safari Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legend Golf and Safari Resort is situated within the Entabeni Safari Conservancy in the malaria-free Waterberg Region of the Limpopo Province of South Africa, just a 35 minute flight or a two and a half hour drive from Johannesburg. This new resort is setting new standards in exclusivity and tranquility and reflects the rich cultural legacy of this ancient part of Africa. The Legend Golf & Safari Resort consists of an exceptional and unique 18-hole Signature Course, a luxury estate and many other facilities, situated on a Big 5 Game Reserve in the heart of the African bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Legend Golf and Safari Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legend Golf and Safari Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.