We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable experience beyond our wildest dreams” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges to your Saves list
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   N2 between Port Elizabeth & Grahamstown, Shamwari Game Reserve 6000, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unforgettable experience beyond our wildest dreams”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The staff were very welcoming and accommodating. Our ranger jack was absolutely fantastic and a real credit to the Shanwari Reserve. The passion, enthusiasm and fantastic knowledge was second to none. There was nothing he didn't know continued to provide information from the plants to the animals and threw in some astronomy information for good measure. Great interaction with his clients made us feel welcome was thoughtful and considerate to those who may have been nervous or new to the group built trust up very quickly therefore made us feel more comfortable and enjoy the experience more. The element if suspense made the experience even more exciting. We would appreciate it if he was recognised by the management team for his performance. Thanks for a great adventure Rebecca and Naz
If we were to provide constructive feedback I would readjust the feedback cards so that the criteria for feedback incorporated excellent and refrain from using "above average" suggestions would be poor average or excellent if you want a real factual feedback

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    55
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
144
442
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We spent two days in this luxury class game reserve. Accommodation - Bayethe tents lodge - as well as service, meals and quality of staff were very top notch. Most impressive was Mino - "The Indian Ranger" - who was extremely knowledgeable as well as fun and got us the most out of our four game drives. It was definitely due to his passion, ambition and commitment that we got extremely close to all of the "big five". An unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Shamwari far exceeded our expectations. We stayed at Bayethe for 3 nights in a luxury tent, yes it is made of canvas, but resembles a 5* hotel room inside, air con, minibar and lots of comfort. The nice warm welcome on arrival continued throughout our stay, everyone was friendly and helpful, nothing was a problem.

Our ranger was Jacques, whose incredible knowledge of wildlife, the reserve and fantastic sense of humour was second to none (he also makes an excellent G&T!). Having to get up at 0500 to go on the morning game drive wasn’t a problem to us as Jacques always made sure we saw as much of the wildlife as possible and we knew the drive ahead was going to be worth all the effort.

We never expected to see such a variety of animals and up so close; sitting in an open jeep surrounded by elephants, watching families of lions strolling past, a pair of leopards mating, to name but a few was indeed an incredible sight, a fantastic experience, a memory that will stay with us forever.

The food was excellent at Bayethe; after the morning game drive we loved the way
we sat at breakfast joined by Jacques and our “drive” group enabling us all to discuss what we had seen that morning and plan what we’d like to see on the next drive.

We both made use of the spa, after bouncing around in a jeep through the bush for 3 or 4 hours, a back massage is very welcoming and the facility is great.

The whole team at Bayethe made our trip a fabulous experience, but Jacques he made it truly memorable, thank you Jacques.

We would thoroughly recommend a visit to Shamwari for a lifetime experience.

Dave & Angee - Scotland

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Highly recommend this safari if you want something authentic but still luxurious. Only 1 hr out of port Elizabeth.

Stayed at the Long Lee Edwardian manor, we had a honeymoon suite, it was very spacious and romantic! Mini bar was fully stocked and complimentary.

We saw everything! Our tour guide, the Indian ranger Mino, he went above and beyond to show us a memorable time. He catered to what the group wanted. We had a picnic out and he delivered what I asked for the morning I was departing, which was lions on a kill!!

Memorable experience to say the least. It was a wonderful 3days and 2nights for us. Above all I was able to have wifi access through out the whole manor, yes with warthogs running around a d giraffes coming right close to our estate.

Highly recommend this experience!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our group was made out of 11 people - all family and family friends. We stayed at Long Lee and loved our entire stay. Accommodations, food and service was great! We were initially thrilled to see all the warthogs on the lawn going about their eating, but always had to watch out for poop or for where they were if we wanted to get back to our room.

Of course, the best part of the trip was our game drives. Even getting stuck out in the middle of a storm during an afternoon game drive was thrilling! Our rangers, Jessica and Abel, were fantastic.

It was also a pleasant surprise when the rangers brought out the drinks and snacks in the middle of our afternoon game drive. The attention to detail is great - from the blankets, ponchos and fleece warmers in the jeep to the juice, hot chocolate, brandy upon arriving back at the lodge after a drive.

We hope we get to go back soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We recently stayed at the Long Lee Manor at Shamwari Game Reserve and absolutely loved it. We have never left a review on Trip Advisor but logged on especially to share our views on this amazing place.

The Long Lee Manor is a lovely old house in the middle of the reserve, you have to drive 7k up a bumpy drive to get on to the reserve and then a short drive inside the reserve to get to the manor. Once there everything is done for you. The accommodation is lovely, we were in the main house with views out over the reserve. The room was amazing with a huge bed and an old style bath tub plus a walk in shower. All of the food was delicious and the service was excellent.

The highlight was of course the game drives we went out in the afternoon and early morning and the ranger, Abul, made the trip for us. He was so dedicated to making sure we got as much as possible out of our trip. He was good fun and very knowledgeable about the animals, the reserve and the history. We were really lucky and managed to see lions, cheetah, elephants, giraffe and rhino all very close up. Nothing was rushed and we all loved every minute.

We were not sure whether safari was for us so this 2 night trip, as part of our honeymoon in South Africa, was a taster - we now cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

After 2 weeks in South Africa, this was our last stop and it just made our vacation. Shamwari was incredible. The service is seamless, the accomodation is luxurious (we stayed in the bayethe tents), the tents have all the mod-cons you expect from a 5 star and more. We love the fire place, the free standing bath, and the linen was just pure luxury. The outside shower was also fun. We loved our private jazucci but unfortunately couldn't use it as it wasn't heated and in April it was a little cold - that's our only niggle.
Food is great quality and it doesn't stop - everything we had was tasty and they kept spoiling us with sunset drinks a nibbles, a great bbq, 3 course lunches and afternoon tea. You will not go hungry here.
Our ranger, Headman, was just fantastic - unbelievably knowledgeable and just had an incredible passion for wildlife. Similar to the other guides and to all the other staff at Shamwari, Headman went out of his way to accomodate our requests and make sure we saw as many animals as we could.
We loved everything about Shamwari and cannot recommend this reverse highly enough.
My review isn't going to add much - as I concur with all the great comments already written.
It's absolutely worth every penny. It's not pretentious in anyway and everything was so relaxed we loved it. Shamwari is one of the best places I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges

Address: N2 between Port Elizabeth & Grahamstown, Shamwari Game Reserve 6000, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Shamwari Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Shamwari Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere 75 km from Port Elizabeth towards Grahamstown, Eastern Cape, South Africa. Shamwari is the crown jewel of private game reserves situated in the malaria free Eastern Cape, the birth place of Nelson Mandela. This privately owned 25 000 hectares of prime natural terrain has received numerous international awards. Shamwari is an exploration of nature with close encounters of free roaming wildlife and the coveted big five with a choice of unique lodges, an exclusive private villa and the adventurous Explorer Camp. Luxury accommodation is offered in 7 different game lodges on Shamwari Game Reserve, all of which are 5 Star graded. Choose a game lodge that perfectly compliments your ideal African experience. EAGLES CRAG LODGE - Exclusivity, privacy and serenity for the most discerning of travelersBAYETHE TENTED LODGE - The ultimate in luxury tented accommodationSARILI LODGE - A colonial and bush experience. Perfect for families or small partiesLONG LEE MANOR - Refined elegance from a bygone era. RIVERDENE FAMILY LODGE - Colonial Africa in an elegantly restored CHILD FRIENDLY frontier home. VILLA LOBENGULA - Villa Lobengula is a beautiful and tranquil space tucked away in the depths of the valley bushveld. Booked on an exclusive use basis only. EXPLORER CAMP - Camping & walking experience among the Big 5 on the magnificent Shamwari Game Reserve ON SAFARI - Game drives can last up to 3 hours each and are conducted twice a day in open vehicles / Guided walks / Star gazing RELAX - Various treatments can be enjoyed at our Relaxation Retreats which are situated at Eagles Crag, Lobengula Lodge, Bayethe Lodge and Long Lee Manor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamwari Game Reserve Hotel Shamwari Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.