We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience of a lifetime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kwandwe Melton Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kwandwe Melton Manor
Save
You added Kwandwe Melton Manor to your Saves list
Heatherton Towers, Fort Brown District, Kwandwe Private Game Reserve 6140, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“An experience of a lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with my family. We travel extensively and this is certainly one of the most enjoyable experiences we have had. We like our comfort and luxury and Kwandwe did not let us down. This does not come cheap at all but given the accommodations, hospitality and food I think we got value for our money.

Thanks to our guide, Alfie, our tracker, Monde and personal chef, Ilza and host Delana, we had a memorable experience.

Game was plentiful and we saw everything except leopard. Saw lion, cheetah, black and white Rhino, elepahant, buffalo Hippo and plentiful zebra, Khudu, Giraffe and wildesbeast. Even tortoises and ostriches.

All in all a memorable experience we hope to repeat. I completely agree with all the amazing reviews posted on tripadvisor and elsewhere

Room Tip: There are no inferior rooms. Everything is of the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denmark, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We ended our three week trip to South Africa with 4 nights at Melton Manor. It was everything thing I hoped it would be and more. We loved the rooms - pure luxury, think underfloor heating in winter! The staff were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble. The food was unbelievable - so delicious. Now the animals - we did 7 drives as we departed early on our last day. We saw a huge range including over 90 species of birds! I would thoroughly recommend Melton Manor to families or groups travelling together.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I stayed at Melton after staying at Fish River. It was very different but just as wonderful. It felt like your own home in the bush. The staff their, including Stewart the ranger and Chris, made us feel so at home. The service was perfect and the rooms were gorgeous overlooking the bush. Our game viewing was great at Kwandwe, lots of elephant and lions! I am already planning to go back with my family!

Room Tip: The front rooms have a slightly better view of the bush.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011 via mobile

Absolutely wonderful safari experience for our two families with teenagers. We stayed for two nights, and went on four game drives and a walking safari. We saw it all - lions, elephants, giraffes, baboons, warthogs, antelope, and the list goes on. The Melton Manor was amazing. Four perfect suites for our group of 8, absolutely delicious chef-specially prepared food plus snacks, fun staff (who even sang for us and helped us with some practical jokes), beautiful views, and safe! We had a great time with Alfie, our ranger, who knew just how to give us both exciting animal views and a fun ride to keep the teenagers excited as the weather heated up. Ilze, the chef, and Sipo, the housekeeper, could not have been sweeter (and these staff are dedicated to Melton Manor guests!). They helped us celebrate a sweet sixteen birthday and provided "surprises" along each safari game drive. Our kids (ages 13, 14, and 16) said it was the best vacation ever, and even our picky eaters loved the food. Definitely a top quality vacation spot we'll return to. As a note, this was our 3rd safari, and we found it every bit as exciting as Sabi Sands and other great locations, with unbeatable personalized service.

To get there, we flew from Cape Town to Port Elizabeth, and then the lodge arranged for the two-hour car transport. The drive was scenic and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kwandwe Melton Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwandwe Melton Manor

Address: Heatherton Towers, Fort Brown District, Kwandwe Private Game Reserve 6140, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The welcoming U-shape of Melton Manor enfolds up to eight guests in a warm and humorous embrace. This sole-use safari villa, where the smallest detail of your stay is planned according to your specific wishes, is perfect for family holidays or parties of friends. The Manor’s inner courtyard provides a focal point for shared hours, while the deep verandas of each bedroom suite offer stunning views of Kwandwe’s blue-lit hills. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kwandwe Melton Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.