We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go to Kwandwe there are much better game lodges in the Eastern cape- This is not And Beyond- overall poot” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge to your Saves list
Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge
Heatherton Towers, Fort Brown District | Grahamstown, Kwandwe Private Game Reserve 6140, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off for 3 Nights
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Don't go to Kwandwe there are much better game lodges in the Eastern cape- This is not And Beyond- overall poot”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

This is not a real And Beyond lodge but only affiliated. In other words don't think about and beyond quality. And that's visible in all aspects, mediocre food, poor care in the rooms, not personal, mediocre game viewing. There are much better , typical and personal lodges in the Eastern cape like Riverbend lodge which has caring and friendly staff in contrast to a anonymous Kwandwe which is overpriced. What struck me most ist that when I complained to And Beyond , they told its not "their" lodge, so why can theymarket it then advertise it under their name? Other traveller experience; with all respect I wonder how much side by side comparisons are done with other top lodges; it seems Kwandwe is a trap for first timers in Africa. Avoid the place and spend money in Pumba , Riverbend, or other nice game lodges around ADDO and avoid this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    3
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
90
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

This place is WONDERFUL!! 5 stars all the way! It's very beautiful and we were lucky enough to see so much . Robin our Ranger was terrific and his knowledge second to none. Aided (and abetted!) by Ernie the tracker, they made sure our stay was very special and one of our best ever holidays. Food and service was excellent - even the 10 course meals !! Champagne in the bush, and pancakes and cocoa with amaretto for breakfast, so many memories!!. No complaints from us - the staff, service, lodges were all amazing. We learned so much and met some terrific people. Thank you. We'll be back!!

Room Tip: The outside showers are great and the veiws from each lodge are pretty special - beware of monkeys o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Four of us, two parents and two teenagers, stayed three nights at Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge. It was amazing. We arrived and went out almost immediately on a drive with our ranger, Robin and our tracker, Ernie. Their knowledge and enthusiasm were infectious and throughout our stay they showed us everything the reserve had to offer. We saw four of the big five but more exciting were special moments like seeing two rare hyenas finishing off a lion kill.

The reserve is absolutely beautiful and another highlight was going on a walk during one of our drives. We were looked after excellently throughout our stay and every member of staff was gracious and went out of their way to help. Particular thanks go to Zuko, our "butler".

We are missing it already.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

What a beautiful place! The Great Fish River lodge was truly an amazing gift. The service was 5 star and the staff went above and beyond to make sure my husband and I had the perfect honeymoon. On our first day we saw 4 out of the big 5. The guide Robin and tracker Ernie did an amazing job. Sim our personal butler saw that we had everything our hearts desired. Yuri the manager ensured that our time at Kwandwe would be one of the best memories we would ever have. Many thanks to all for this wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

The Great Fish River lodge provided a superb ending to your adventure. The staff, location and service were out of this world. Nothing we asked for was to much trouble from fishing trips, in room massage, BBQs and pancakes while on safari. We saw the big 5 and more, everything you could imagine. We were looked after the whole time which made our stay magical.

Room Tip: In the evening guests are escorted to their rooms by staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011 via mobile

Large 20 000 plus Hectares seclusion. At times.one is reminded of the Ngorogoro. Or Serengeti of Eastern Africa. Well worth while. Amongst the top ten game reserves in South. Africa. Dr. T

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

This place was a truly magical end to our first ever South Africa experience. The accomodation is out of this world, the staff, service and general ambience of this place was second to none. In addition the game drives were spectacular, guided by wonderful men such as Doc and Siza they made our experience one we will never forget. If you want to safari, you must go here.

Room Tip: Any room in the logde is wonderful but if you find walking difficult request one nearer the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge

Address: Heatherton Towers, Fort Brown District | Grahamstown, Kwandwe Private Game Reserve 6140, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This founding lodge with only 9 privately situated suites features a classic-contemporary style of simple elegance that embraces the lodge's splendid setting high up on a steep bank overlooking the Great Fish River. The colour scheme comprises a calm and natural palette of earthy tones, from khaki browns to charcoal greys.Pewter and glass add an effortless yet understated glamour to the furnishings; artefacts such as ostrich eggshells, hides and horns create subtle points of interest and relevance to the lodge's surrounds, whilst natural linens and plenty of texture preserve its simple but sophisticated atmosphere.Watch majestic kudu meander down to the river from the Lodge's expansive viewing decks, or observe playful Cape clawless otters swimming in the cool waters below from the comfort of your private balcony. Suites are spacious and feature en-suite bathrooms, indoor and outdoor showers, personal in-room bars and private decks with plunge pools overlooking the vast reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kwandwe Great Fish River Hotel Kwandwe Private Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.