We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exemplary safari lodge and experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kambaku Safari Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kambaku Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exemplary safari lodge and experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My partner John and I stayed for 2 nights. The lodge was small (8 rooms), intimate and beautifully laid out, inside and out, with tasteful furnishings and wonderful candlelights lighting the place romantically after dark. We have stayed at other lodges, but the personal attention we received here, in particular the lunches and dinners together with staff at different venues around the lodge, were second to none.
The safari drives were a fantastic experience, we saw all of the big 5 and much more, and our guide Steve and tracker Albert were extremely knowledgeable and passionate about even the smallest of animals, as well as the bird life. Steve even made us see spotted hyenas in a more forgiving light!
John uses a wheelchair, and the staff were extremely helpful and accommodating from our initial email contact, sending us photos of the rooms, and then gave us the largest room and built a ramp specially for John.
The small team at Kambaku are not only highly professional but also warm and welcoming. We would happily stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kambaku2007, Owner at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Kambaku Lodge and your stay here. Your mentioning of John in a wheelchair and the fact that we can accommodate this will be helpful to others in the same position I am sure. I am happy to see that our staff's passion and dedication to their job shines through, and that the intimate atmosphere was enjoyed. You would be most welcome to stay again anytime !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    20
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
106
110
31
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Thank you so much for an unforgettable 5 wonderful Christmas days at your lodge. All members of our family from the youngest one (13) to grandfather (75) felt 100% comfortable at the lodge as well as on the safari. The team was dedicated and it was our feeling that they loved their job, the lodge and cared for all of us, like a family. The safari was magic, with all kind of small and big animals. The rangers and the trackers did a wonderful job, lot of knowledge and a great sense of humor. We will highly recommend the lodge, the people, the animals and the good feeling you will have a long time after a stay at Kambaku

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kambaku2007, Owner at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hello to Oslo ! As anyone who follows our Facebook page (kambakusafarilodge) will see from the posts over Christmas that this lucky group got to see the white lions 4 days in a row, and two different prides of lions on Kambaku on two different kills... not to mention all the leopards, wild dogs, elephant, rhino and multitudes of plains game! And then there was the added bonus of being a family here for Christmas and sharing this special time with us - well, all we can say is that we hope it was one of the best Christmases ever for your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Fantastic staff who really cared about making our visit the best possible experience. The lodge and facilities are very nice. Bryce and Eric led us on the most fascinating walks and drives. We could not have been happier with our choice of lodge. If you are considering a trip to a game lodge, go to this one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kambaku2007, Owner at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hi there and thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Kambaku. We hope that your recommendation will help sway others in choosing to stay at Kambaku - especially for those who are interested in both bush walks and game drives. Bryce and Eric's (combined) almost 30 years experience in the bush is not to be missed! Hope to see you soon again when you next visit SA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, CT
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our family spent three days at Kambaku with Bryce, Nicola, and their exceptional staff. They could not have been more accommodating, the rooms were very comfortable, and our guide and tracker were totally committed to our seeing the Big Five up close....and they delivered. We saw all Big Five multiple times, plus giraffe, zebra, wild dogs, and others. Brunch and dinner were absolutely delicious, with the venue changing daily. The family of warthogs hanging around the watering hole were a bonus! We compared notes with other families we met after we left Kambaku, and no one had as great an experience as we did. We still can't believe the pictures we were able to bring back from this amazing experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quite comfortable. The ceiling fans are a must during the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kambaku2007, Owner at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hi there and thank you for the excellent review on your stay at Kambaku. We have been exceptionally lucky over the last months with all the wonderful sightings and are so glad that you were here to share them with us. I am happy to see that our staff's dedication come through so strongly in their work, and that even our warthogs are obliging ! Photos are our memories and memories keep us alive - so treasure them all, and share them all !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanwilliam, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I was VERY impressed with Kambaku- the lodge and rooms are nice but what impressed me most was the owners Nicola and Bryce that treated all the guests like family- they are extremely hands and gave my older parents the room closest to the Main area as my dad struggle to walk far. They also had steps for him to get into the game vehicle. Although I left my 2 year old boy and 4 year old girl at home they have a 3 year old daughter that entertained us all with her laughter and wit and they say that when families with smaller children come to visit they usually join their girl at their house etc. They are almost completely solar powered and will also install the solar geysers in the near future so very green and environmentally friendly too. The food was great and the atmosphere homely and relaxed- I really like the lodge very much- we were a mix of guests but because there is only 8 rooms total we had brunch and dinner together as a group and it worked out perfectly and we all got to know each other very well. If he is available ask Bryce the owner to be the ranger he is one of the best I ever had before and said he would do it on request (our tracker Albert was excellent too and walked through the bush to ensure we get right to animals- the other clients said there rangers at Kambaku was also outstanding… November was lovely to see all the young wildlife and the bird viewing was fantastic. We saw the Big 5 and more in only 3 game drives and even had a close encounter with a Leopard. They do muffins est. on the morning drives and then a full brunch at 10 am with breakfast and lunch menu items like Lasagna and salads est.… I cannot recommend Kambaku enough and cannot wait to see Nicola the owner again as she made us feel like family!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kambaku2007, Owner at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your fabulous review on Kambaku. Most of what you have covered echos the other guest's comments - they feel like family. We pride ourselves on not only being owner run - but involved owners - so take extra care on the small things that matter and that make or break a holiday for guests. They are no extra trouble for us, but make the world of difference to a stay. We are extremely proud of our solar array of 80 panels, and in the fact that we do not have to run the generator at all to supply power - so have lowered our carbon footprint enormously. We look forwards to welcoming you back to stay - except the family must come with next time as I am sure they will have such fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malongo, Central African Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My daughter and I stay at Kambaku Safari Lodge recently and we had a really great time. We found and tracked all sorts of animals, birds, plants, etc. in a natural setting without many other visitors in the bush. The ranger guide and tracker were very professional. The accommodations were natural, very comfortable and peaceful. The food was fantastic.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kambaku2007, Owner at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Hi Rusty -

Thanks for sharing your stay with other potential guests! Peaceful and quiet is what we aim for, along with good food and game viewing, so looks like we managed it all during your stay ! Hope to see you again someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had an exceedingly special stay at Kambaku. They tailor made our ONE day stay into an amazing experience.I was so impressed that despite just a one night sleep over they made a huge effort, made us feel so welcome! This lodge is owner run, and they have a little girl themselves they knew exactly what our 5 year old twins would enjoy. Bryce was fantastic on the game drives.... our kids are now experts in all kids of dung! We even played soccer with some Elephant dung. The rooms were lovely, with lots of personal touches. Fantastic food.
Next time we'll go back for much much longer!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kambaku2007, Owner at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Hi there and thank you for the wonderful review of your stay at Kambaku. One night is very short, but even so it sounds like your family had a lovely time ! Getting kids to appreciate and enjoy the bush is high priority for us, as they will be our future conservationists ! We need to convert them early on and what better way than by making it fun for them !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kambaku Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kambaku Safari Lodge

Address: Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kambaku Safari Lodge is nestled in the heart of the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, which can be found within the world renowned Greater Kruger National Park.The camp is well situated in this unspoilt natural wilderness area, home to an astonishing array of animals including the Big 5. Kambaku provides the ultimate escape from busy schedules, with eight well appointed thatched chalets overlooking our own private waterhole.Attracting guests from around the world, Kambaku offers superior standards in all of our facilities yet always maintaining a high level of environmental consciousness. Our dedicated staff will cater to the individual needs of our guests making for a truly memorable stay. With scrumptious bush cuisine in a relaxed, rustic setting our guests can truly unwind and immerse themselves in the restorative powers of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kambaku Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kambaku Safari Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Kambaku Safari Lodge South Africa/Timbavati Private Nature Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kambaku Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.