We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great camp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shindzela Tented Safari Camp

Save Saved
You added Shindzela Tented Safari Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Johnniesdale Farm, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great camp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

this is somewhat primative camp in a very remote location in the bush veld. you sleep in these tent/ cabins. they have a bathroom attached to the back with a shower, toilet and sink. and they have hot and cold water. what more could you want? animals come into the camp day or night. it is a fantastic experience. dave, brian john and the gang are great guides and fun. we all eat at the same table. the cooks were fantastc too. very nice. they prepared vegetarian food for me.
we met many cool people there. the small size of the camp and the community table allows you to mix with people better which is great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear gnatking

We are so happy to hear that you had a great stay at Shindzela!
I have passed on your message to the guys!

Hope to see you all again!
Shindzela Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    24
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
99
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This camp was a real find and delight to stay at. This is close up Safari, don't expect to be pampered and covered in luxury (saying that accommodation is comfortable), but do expect to get very close nature in all its wild and beautiful African forms, in camp and out. You don't have to go on a drive here to find the animals, you are very much living in their domain. We had amazing experience of an Elephant outside our door earlier one morning.
Dave (the Owner) and his trackers have a wealth of experience and know exactly what the are doing. We spent 3 days at Shindzela that I will never forget, its endearing camp that grew and grew on us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Stephan h

Thank you so much for your kind words! I have passed on your message to the camp and Dave.
We do hope to see you again in the near future.

All the best
Shindzela Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I joined tripadvisor because I was compelled to write a poor review about another lodge we stayed at in Peru, so I thought I should write about a positive experience we had to balance it out.

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in October of 2012, and had a great experience. It was our first safari and first time in Africa. We came to Shindzela bc our friends had spent part of their honeymoon there the year before and had a wonderful time.

The guides were different than the ones that our friends had, but we really liked ours as well. Peter, Monika, and Sam were all super friendly all of the time, and very knowledgeable. All questions were welcomed, no matter how basic.

It also seemed like a very authentic experience, as it was in a private game reserve that opened to Kruger. We hardly ever saw any other people or trucks during our drives. There were no 'guarantees' so you knew when you had a sighting that it was truly wild.

The support staff was great as well, and the food was actually quite good.

The only complaint that we had (mostly my wife haha) was that we wished the tent was more 'secure' from the outside. Twice we found large scorpions in our tent; once one was on the ceiling and another time my wife almost stepped on one. We thought it was because the tent zipper to the bathroom wasn't attached to the wood flooring.

We can't wait to come back and see a leopard to complete our Big 5.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Ben R

Thank you for your review! we really appriciate it -
I will pass your message regarding the staff and kitchen along to the camp.

Hope to see you and your wife at Shindzela again!
Regards
Shindzela Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby, National Capital, Papua New Guinea
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Found this safari camp on the internet and everything sounded like what I was looking for.
The camp is not 5 star but that wasn't what I was looking for. This camp and the staff offer a low key truly African safari experience that is definitely "up close & personal".
On the day of arrival had to wait in the dining room for a wild bull elephant to move out of the camp so I could get to my tent. A great introduction to Shindzela!
This is a small camp so guest numbers are smaller which is another great attraction for me.
Game drives occur early in the morning and late afternoon/evening (night) and cover a diverse topography including fairly dense bush and more open grassland.
This was my second trip to Africa and safari experience. Shindzela fulfilled a couple of wishes on my "bucket list"....leopards, rhino and buffalo!
Couldn't have been happier with the game viewing and the experience and knowledge of the guidea and owner. The accommodation was great. Very comfortable and all the necessities including game outside the tent. Loved the food served up and the introductions done by local staff at all the meals. A definite must for me to return and experience a different time of year in this camp.

Room Tip: Pick the tents furtherest from the main building as you get to experience the game up close & ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Jim M

Thank you very much for your great review! We hope to see you again at Shindzela! P.S an elephant bull was in camp again yesterday!

Kindest Regarsd
Shindzela Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We can't recommend Shindzela highly enough, we had a truly magnificent 3 nights there and only hope we can go back one day. Having lived in South Africa for 3 years some years ago we had stayed in several safari camps, including some far more costly than this, but this was our most enjoyable experience . The place does what it says, a 'real' bush experience orchestrated by David, a man who is so obviously passionate about the bush and keen to share it with others. The camp wants for nothing, it is very atmospheric all the necessary amenities are there. The 'tents' are very comfortable, the feeling of not being fenced in certainly heightened the experience and it was lovely to lie in bed listening to the sounds of the bush going on around us at night. We had the tent furthest away from the dining area etc, and I would highly recommend that. The staff were all wonderful, Dave and Stephanie our delightful guides took us on walking safaris where we came across a family of 5 rhino with a baby (at all times we felt completely safe and that Dave was in control of a situation). Having been on safari before and seen the Big Five many times we were just as eager to see the smaller inhabitants of the bush and our tracker and guides didn't disappoint, with night sightings of a chameleon (don't know how they spotted that one), interesting birds and insects etc. Afternoon visits from Wanda the warthog who came to scratch those hard to get at places on the tree trunks and side of the pool was all the entertainment we needed! The ladies in the kitchen didn't disappoint either, homely meals, well prepared were the order of the day and lovely drinks and snacks when out on game drives meant walking safaris were a must! There honestly was nothing we could fault. Just keep on educating people that there is more to the bush than the Big Five and you can't go wrong. Fantastic value which we will recommend to friends

Room Tip: The room furthest away from the camp overlooks the river bed and has many passing animals and is ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear fabhols_12

Thank you very much for your wonderful review! We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time!

I will pass this onto the guys at camp!
Take care and looking forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We have been travelling for 7 months thru africa and europe, and this was our best experience of the whole trip! Apologies for the late review. peter and monica were our guides and are deadset legends. Saw a family of rhino, giraffe, lots of antelope, rare sivet and tracked lion, and when we had morning tea after the game drive, a herd of maybe 30 elephants walked straight past the car! Saw lots of antelope on the walks, the african bush.is.fantastic. As is the lux camp tents, with hot outdoor (private) showers. And the lovely ladies put a hot water bottle in ur bed after the night drive! The food is homely and top shelf, all really lovley people, who care about nature, are know wat they are talking about. also met some great guests, who have similar views on the value of nature and real safari, not "stupid tourists" Very good value too. Cant wait to save up and come back to africa, and stay with these guys! Thanks so much! I may even join in the poo spitting contest next time peter! (its only impala poo guys, dont freak!)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear brad_d174

How lucky you are to travel for such a long time! Thank you so much for the great /excellent feedback, we appreciate it immensely! I will pass on your message to the guys at camp!

All the best, and hope to see you soon
Take Care
Shindzela Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingolstadt, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed there for 6 nights in September. After beeing welcomed by Peter we went to our tents. Nice, large tents with bathroom on a wooden platform in a beautiful location. Every morning we did a beautiful walk with Peter and Warren (you guys are great :-) ). Twice we could get on foot very close to a herd of elefants. Monika, Peter, Warren and Sam do a very professional job.We always felt very safe and comfortable. Saw lots of animals from lions (a pride of min 20) to a very rare sighting of an amazing Pangolin wich made Warren almost to be beside of him with joy. Food was tasty and always of good quality: a special thanks to the kitchen team.

On the whole a wonderful experience. We new what to expect and we got more than that.

Thanks for the wonderful time.
Cheers from Gerlinde, Magdalena, Peter and Herbert

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shindzela, Front Office Manager at Shindzela Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear herbel

Awesome! Thank you for your review! I will most certainly pass on your kind words to the guys in camp!

Glad you had a great time!
Take Care
Shindzela Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shindzela Tented Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shindzela Tented Safari Camp

Address: Johnniesdale Farm, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Specialty lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shindzela Tented Safari Camp 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shindzela is an authentic tented bush camp situated in the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, greater Kruger National Park. The camp accommodates a maximum of 16 guests and is unfenced, making it very much part of the wilderness. Shindzela is not built by an award winning architect, nor is it furnished by an interior designer. What you will find though, is a comfy bed, freshly laundered linen, and décor from local crafters and artists. Shindzela is a comfortable/rustic tented bush camp, where you can relax, enjoy our warm hospitality and immerse yourself in the African wilderness. We love our informal, relaxed atmosphere. Each safari tent is built on wooden decks, and has their own en-suite shower/toilet and hand basin. The camp also has a swimming pool and overlooks our little watering hole, from where you can watch animals come down to drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Shindzela Tented Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp South Africa/Timbavati Private Nature Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shindzela Tented Safari Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.