We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simbavati Lodge March 2014” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Simbavati River Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Simbavati River Lodge to your Saves list
Simbavati River Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Northern Sector of the Timbavati | Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simbavati Lodge March 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My friend and I had a very nice stay at the lodge. We managed to spot "The big five" during our four game drives. The animal came up very close :-)
I can really recommend Simbavati Lodge to anybody who doesnt have too much time and also want to stay at a lodge wich is easy to reach. We stayed for two nights.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear SofiAE523

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for the recommendation, we really appreciate it.

It is very exciting to hear that you got to see the Big 5.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will come back and visit us again.

Keep well, kind regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    39
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
112
110
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We (two adults and a ten-year-old) stayed for 3 nights in one of the family chalets at Simbavati River Lodge. The accommodations, amenities,and service were just wonderful! We cannot say enough good things about Diff and Caswell and the drives we experienced with them. Animal sightings were magnificent and varied. We cannot oversell how great our time there was!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Kathy D

Thank you for the beautiful review. We are thrilled to hear that you and your family had a great safari experience at our lodge.

We will pass on your compliments to all the staff.

We hope to see you again and soon.

Kind regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at simbavati river lodge in march. I can not recommend highly enough. The tented accommodation, food, service,location and game drives all exceeded our expectations. There was a problem with unseasonal heavy rain which caused the river to flood and become impossible to cross but at no time did we feel unsafe. The staff monitored the situation closely and kept us informed. Actually this drama added to our adventure and did not trouble us at all. Guide christof and tracker Daniel really went the extra mile to ensure our safari experience was the best it could possibly be. Great sightings up close with some amazing creatures. WOW! I would not hesitate to return to simbavati. A truly memorable, magical holiday.

Room Tip: Go for the tents rather than the lodges. The canvas walls mean that all the sounds of the night will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear diane p

Thank you for the review.

We are glad that "Mother Nature" added to your experience at the lodge by surprising your trip with unseasonal rain. We are also happy to hear that you felt safe and that our team kept you updated with regards to what was happening with regards to the rain.

We will pass on your compliments to Christof and Daniel who will be thrilled to know that they were part of making your holiday memorable.

Thank you for also writing a great tip regarding our tent accommodation.

We hope that you can come back and visit us again!

Keep well, kind regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed for four nights at the lodge. The service and food were excellent - they even accommodated fairly extensive dietary restrictions with no hassle. It should be noted that the property is no longer on a river.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear A_CC1037RU

Thank you for your feedback and compliments regarding our service and food it is greatly appreciated.

Unfortunately we cannot control "Mother Nature" as much as we would like to.
However the river in front of our lodge was in flood at the beginning of March 2014.
The water reached all the way up to the deck and in actual fact flooded our Boma area.
The water has since then subsided and the river in front of the lodge is flowing again.

We do hope you can come back again when you can see the water flowing at it is truly a beautiful sight.

Keep well, kind regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Game viewing was good as not contrived.felt like boxes were simply being ticked rather than a well hosted experience.
Food very boarding school like!!
Fridge in tent not working well and drinks at bar were not ice cold as they should be.
Could do much better

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Paula N

We are disappointed to hear that you did not have the best safari experience with us.

We have asked the Management Team at the lodge to look into your comments regarding the fridge in the tent and the bar to make sure that they are both working.

We have also passed on your comments regarding the game drives and food to make sure that all the relevant parties are aware of this and so that we can strive to improve on our product and service offering.

Thank you for your feedback it is appreciated.

Kind regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schagen
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Such a beautiful lodge and a very friendly, helpful staff. Our room (Elephant) was stunning, luxurious and with an amazing view. We really enjoyed the gamedrives and are blessed to have seen the Big Five from up close! Our kids have also enjoyed themselves perfectly. The food and drinks was everything one could wish for. Hope to return one day! Kind regards from the Netherlands.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Janely

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.

We are glad to hear that you and your family had an awesome holiday and that you got to see the Big 5.

We too hope that you can come and visit us again.

Keep well, kind regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

My daughter, Karin and I had the opportunity to go away on a short stay before she started her new permanent work. The friendliness and coming to assist us with our luggage when we arrived, quite exhausted after a six and a half hours drive from Jhb was touching. We had v ery good game drives with Diff, the head guide and Nicholas, the tracker,who are very knowledgable on facts about nature and animals and we also had great game viewing experience with Moshe, especially when the hyena came walking non-challantly towards us on the tar road when we were having our Sundowner drinks! We were able to see four of the Big5 on our game viewing and lucky enough to see a buffalo on our way out when we left the lodge on our day of departure. We also saw wild dogs within ten minutes of our first game drive on the very first day, which is very rare. Our luxury tented room was also very special and the experience of the wild animals being so close to camp at night. The meals were fantastic and compliments to the chefs once again. We want to thank you once again for hosting us and making our experience memorable. Wishing Elmarie, Charlie, Andrea and all the staff at Simbavati the very best and hope to see you again one day. Keep it up!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Rosemarie

Thank you for the beautiful review.

We are so glad that we were able to "wow" you with our lodge, our service, our food, and our game drives.

Thank you for your compliments we will pass them on to all the staff at the lodge.

We hope that you can come back and visit us again.

Keep welll, kind regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Simbavati River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simbavati River Lodge

Address: Northern Sector of the Timbavati | Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Simbavati River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simbavati River Lodge is situated in the northern sector of the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, and surrounded by 12 000 hectares of wildlife and rich wilderness in which you can experience an authentic and affordable African safari.The design of this 4-star lodge is contemporary, warm and welcoming. Guest common areas offer a generously proportioned lounge, bar, boma and extensive decks with breathtaking views overlooking the Nhlaralumi river where regular wildlife sightings take place and guests can unwind.Accommodation consists of eight luxury tents and three chalets; all are privately situated, comfortably furnished and with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Simbavati River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simbavati River Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Simbavati River Lodge South Africa/Timbavati Private Nature Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simbavati River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.