We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monwana Game Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Monwana Game Lodge to your Saves list
Monwana Game Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Thornybush Game Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“An amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Monwana Game Lodge offered an incredible safari experience! We saw all 5 of the big 5 in our first two days along with many more! The highlight of the trip was watching three elephants including a baby drink and bath at the waterhole just before dinner on our last night. The food and service exceeded expectations in every way. I highly recommend staying at Monwana!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the waterhole!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
78
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Emma, Jacques, and the tracker Morris do everything that they can to make your stay truly special. The staff could not be more welcoming and the rooms are luxurious. The impala and wart hogs that roam the grounds are adorable and one night we saw a mother and baby rhino by the lodge's water hole. Of course on safari, it is all about the game drives, and Jacques and Morris make each one memorable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We loved Monwana lodge. It was cozy and intimate. Jaques and Emma were wonderful gracious hosts. Animals like antelope, warthogs and monkeys are scampering around the grounds of the lodge. But don't just stay home, the safaris were over the top... Jaques takes you out every morning and evening and his knowledge is astounding. Morris, the tracker was so astute in spotting animals.We saw elephants, rhinos, lions, leopards, buffalo, hippos, antelope of many species, giraffe, zebra multiple times and a cheetah on our ride out of the reserve. Marvin, the dominant male lion, even roared for us while we sat in the rover only 10 meters behind him! We saw a pride of lions gorging on a giraffe they had slain. It was truly unforgettable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Thorny Bush was out of this world! We saw amazing sightings with a knowledgeable confident Safari guide. You have dinner by a waterhole where animals come to drink! The food was delicious and the beds were comfortable. When arriving you feel like a member of the Royal family! The staff were friendly and welcoming! You MUST go to Thorny Bush!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Where to start? Having decided some months ago to visit S. Africa as a family (i.e. Mum,Dad and two teenage boys) we then faced the daunting challenge of choosing a safari venue from the hundreds of different options. In time honoured fashion we took the recommendation of a colleague who had stayed in Monwana last year. This was the best decision we could have made. What a superb place! We were royally looked after by Charle and Mich, the stand-in host couple.
Charle has an ability to sniff out animals practically to order - even locating a fleeting glance at the elusive honey badger. We saw the big 5 several times. In fact we saw 4 of the big 5 on five of our six game drives. Loved the hot water bottles for the morning game drives. It is touches like this that make the difference. Mich oversaw the camp and the cooking. If I say that after more than 3 weeks now in S. Africa that the food at Monwana has been amongst the best we have enjoyed on this holiday, it will give you an idea of the quality. The rooms are first class. We could not recommend this more highly - and given we are an extremely well travelled family you should take that recommendation as being as strong as it gets. If we could give 6 stars we would.

Room Tip: The Zulu rooms proved ideal for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is by far the way to do Safari. Jacques and Emma and the entire staff were so welcoming and made us feel at home. Very accommodating with dietary needs, and making our trip very special!!! Monwana is small camp which allowed that personal touch for all their guest. Morris their tracker has been there for YEARS and is unbelievably good!!! Valentine is the best bartender :) Get ready to bushwhack through the shrubs and see the wild life at its finest and then enjoy drinks by the pool and a nap before you head out for evening drive. You'll have a blast here! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We spent some glorious days at Monwana Game Lodge. What a gorgeous place! Upon arrival we were met by the most hospitable staff, offering us a cold drink while checking in and we were brought tot the lodge by our private ranger Oscar, who immediately spotted a baby giraffe with its parents!

Since I run a boutique hotel in Sandton, Sandton Boutique Hotel, I am quite critiacal about other establishments. This one exceeded my expectations. Our suite was beautiful and large, well appointed with a bath and bathroom looking out over our private deck and the veld...the only creatures that could peek in were the baboons and the impala.

Our hostess and the manager of the place, Emma, could not be nicer or more professional. We were offered an afternoon tea before going on the first game drive. The drive was spectacular and beautiful. Not only did we see 4 out of the big five, the scenery and environment was enchanting. The Cheetah we saw was awsome and she just walked past our vehicle...
Dinner was a braai at the boma: great food, good stories by the fireplace and lovely wine: we chose the Haute Cabriere.
On our way back we chose to take the scenic route via the Blijde River Canyon, the Panoramic route. It was worth the detour!

I certainly hope to be able to spent more time at Monwana and thank our hosts for their hospitality and great service!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monwana Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monwana Game Lodge

Address: Thornybush Game Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Monwana Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monwana Game Lodge, Thornybush Game Reserve, is a Four Star Superior lodge set in the heart of the African bushveld. Offering fantastic Big 5 game viewing, exquisite African cuisine and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Monwana Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monwana Game Lodge South Africa/Thornybush Private Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monwana Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.