We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of our holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Serondella Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Serondella Game Lodge to your Saves list
Serondella Game Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Thornybush Game Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hoeven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The highlight of our holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

The start of our holiday in South Africa couldn't be better. What a perfect place to stay. Absolutely fantastic!! Do not hesitate to include Serondella in your trip. You won't be disappointed. A little marvel in the bush.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
115
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Just retured from a fantastic 2-week holiday in South Africa and this was the highlight of the trip. Hosts David and Kelly are fantastic, and we loved the shared meals where guests can chat and get to know each other. David has no hesitation in driving off-road in order that his guests get a great view of the 'Big Five' as close as possible. Sharing sundowners towards the end of the drive watching a fantastic sunset was a great moment. Credit also to Mpho who is a great tracker, he ad David work as a great team. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gharghur, Malta
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

This is the perfect lodge if there ever was one. It is set around a beautiful garden with a fantastic viewing platform within Thorny Bush Reserve. The garden is home to plenty of wild life and the swimming is an additional bonus! Our family of 5 stayed in the two storey lodge which was architecturally interesting and spatially well planned making great use of views onto surrounding landscapes. This reserve was far more exciting than Kruger due to vehicles off roading and the rangers co-ordination of animal whereabouts. We saw all big 5 and cheetahs several times. Food also very good....perhaps could be more generous with the portions! Highly recommended....wish I could return!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed at the Serondella property for one night and it was one of our highlights of our South Africa trip. Henri the ranger was fab and ensured that we spot the big 5 during our 2 safaris that we did with him. The rooms are large and the bath overlooks a watering hole. This was a new and a special experience. The service is top class and personalized. My wife and I are vegetarians and the Serondella team ensured that every need was taken care and ensured delicious vegetarian meals were provided. While we visited in August, the weather was a bit chill (low teens) especially at night. While we got into bed at night, the Serondella team had placed hot water bottles at our feet. A super touch for a cold night. Overall I cannot recommend this place enough. My only regret is that I spent only 1 night. Will surely make Serondella a must visit place when I visit South Africa next.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

What a special and exceptional experience! From wonderful, friendly hosts, to beautiful and spacious rooms, and superb game drives, Serondella is simply magical. I'd go back again in a heartbeat.
Hosts, Dave and Kelly, make you feel warmly welcome from the minute you arrive. Game drives with Dave, and tracker, Mpho, are stunning. We got closer to more animals than we ever believed possible - rhino (black and white), leopards, cheetahs, lions, elephant, buffalo, giraffe, zebra, warthogs and many more besides. Dave, with his understanding of photography, ensured that brilliant photo opportunities abounded. Bush walks with him were fascinating and, as a qualified game ranger, he has a wealth of bush knowledge.
The lodge is quietly elegant, comfortable and relaxed with lots of great "extra" and thoughtful touches. Two big waterholes just outside the lodge fences mean you can relax on your private deck and watch animals come and go.
While Serondella doesn't claim to be a five-star lodge, it is nevertheless able to compete with the best and, given it's four star status, offers excellent value for money. (I've stayed in some five star establishments which would be hard-pressed to match Serondella's standards.)
Food was always good, and Kelly was a star in trying to arrange gluten free meals for me, always going the extra mile, which was much appreciated.
I cannot recommend Serondella highly enough, and I look forward to our next visit there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

This lodge is bliss. I could not imagine a better one. Food is lovely, our suite with the bath overlooking the watering hole (so you can almost bathe with warthogs and elephants) was a dream, the beautifully designed grounds are lovely -- and this opinion is shared by various monkeys, nyala and hornbills who rather cheekily intrude. On the extraordinary game drives, Hanri Du Toit was our guide and Mpho (don't know his other name) our tracker. Amazing men, both -- not sure that Hanri will be there for much longer tho. But if he is, get him to take you on a bush walk (don't worry, he's armed.) What he doesn't know about medicinal plants and your chances of surviving a black rhino charge probably isn't worth knowing. One of the best weekends of our lives. And yes, you will probably see all of the big five, up close and personal. Don't forget to tip the staff -- folks there don't have a lot.

Room Tip: ask for the room they use as honeymoon suite if you are a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLAVH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed with our two children at Serondella for two nights and it was the highlight of an already memorable vacation in North eastern part of South Africa. Kelly and David are wonderful hosts and David a very enthousiastic and knowledgable ranger. One one game drive we saw leopards (one cub and mother after a kill), watched for about an hour 5 cheetahs playing (mother + 4 cubs), had a (fake) black rhino charge and saw a a huge male lion after an eland kill being watched by white lions on the other side of the fence fro the Timbavati reserve. It is a very small and intimate camp, which ensures personal attention and serenity.

We loved it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Serondella Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serondella Game Lodge

Address: Thornybush Game Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Serondella Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serondella Game Lodge, Thornybush Game Reserve, is a four star superior lodge set in the heart of the African bushveld. Offering fantastic big 5 game viewing, exquisite African cuisine and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Serondella Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serondella Game Hotel Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Serondella Game Lodge South Africa/Thornybush Private Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serondella Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.