We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome african safari” 5 of 5 stars
Review of andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngala Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge
Save
You added andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Mpumalanga, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome african safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We spent 4 days and 3 nights here and had the most memorable time ever. The staff are super friendly and attentive and the guides and trackers will ensure you really see a lot of animals and understand them deeply. We had Elliot as our guide - he grew up in the bush and has been doing this for 20 years. He can tell you everything you need to know about every animal and find the Big 5 for you! We saw 3 of the Big 5 within an hour of our first game drive! They were all great with our kids aged 9 and 10 - and our tracker Norman was awesome too! I'd go back in a heart beat! Food was amazing, service staff were excellent - what a way to spend the New Year!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    25
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
80
136
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I cannot give this lodge enough stars - the staff went out of their way to ensure you had an amazing time. Wildlife aside (which was also fantastic - the big 5 were seen on the first four game drives) - the rooms, food and staff are excellent. I would recommend this to anyone - families and/or couples. I travelled on my own and they did everything to ensure I had good company too. No electric lights at night which was awesome. The guides are experienced and I felt safe the whole time. The sunset stop on the drives for hot chocolate and/or wine were a nice touch. Definitely worth every penny. If you're going to do a safari, do it in style at Ngala.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I always wanted to see the Big 5. My wife and I were recommended by friends to go with AndBeyond and we loved the destination. Food, people, security, comfort and relaxation in a Safari experience. Yes, all the Big 5 were there and we only needed 3 nights to see them all.
Even if we couldn't see all of them, the experience was unique, the cuisine was amazing and all staff, from reception to rangers and trackers, helped us enjoy the best experience we could have ever imagined.

Room Tip: Rooms facing back have higher probability to score morning sites of baboons, bushboks and warthogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

After spending three nights in another Private Game Reserve in Londolozi in Sabi Sands and then two nights in Kruger National Park, I checked into Ngala Lodge. The wildlife viewing was difficult. It was the hot summer season and all the bush was overgrown so spotting was challenging. However, I had more success at Sabi Sands and in the park itself. If you're looking for super modern amenities like a cell signal, coffee maker, refrigerator, or in-room internet, this is not the place to go. If you're looking for a private terrace overlooking something beautiful while sipping coffee in your robe, this is also shouldn't be your first choice. However, the staff and the food made it extremely appealing. The grounds are not breathtaking. I was traveling solo, but a couple or family might have found the place to be very relaxing and low-key.

The staff was exceedingly pleasant and all addressed me by name. Few requests were unmet.

As for the wildlife, we did see five cheetah - something that evaded me the prior six nights at other places. That made it worth it. However, we never saw the breadth of wildlife that I experienced elsewhere. It had suddenly gotten very hot (at one point 45 degrees celsius) so being outside during the day time was pretty miserable for an American addicted to A/C. Our guide and trekker were very gracious and wanted us to have a great time.

There were a few inconveniences: a bug in a bottle of sherry left in my room that was never replaced, a broken safe that was never replaced, and transportation back to Hoedspruit that caused me to miss my flight to CPT.

All in all, if you're looking to be 'wowed' by a resort-like setting in the bush, I would choose staying in Sabi Sands. If you're looking to be in a remote area completely disconnected from the outside world, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We had the great fortune for staying here for 5 nights, it is an absolute dream. We got there really late and we were pretty exhausted, from then on everything was effortless we were greeted, a few guys took our bags and another parked the car. Our amazing butler called Given sorted a bit of dinner for us when we arrived. The next day we got up for a game drive, we met our ranger and tracker, the great combo that is called Steve and Norman, top chaps, totally brilliant at what they do, we saw leopards everyday!!! Each game driver was amazing, we saw leopards, lions, elephants, buffalo, lots of birds and had a really cool night drive. The food was amazing, 5* all the way and really cool ways of presenting and really exciting ways of having dinner!! we were totally spoilt Thank you so much to the Ngala family x

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect. This is a little tip on getting there - if you have a sat nav you can ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at Ngala Safari Lodge as part of a group touring Southern Africa.
The accommodation was very comfortable in individual huts with en-suites. The meals were delicious and the safaris provided on Ngala's own reserve were excellent with informative commentary provided by the expert guides. Each time we travelled in the 4WD vehicles we encountered many animals, including the "Big 5".

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Ngala is a DREAM. The service there was the best we have ever seen anywhere! The welcoming staff - all of them - are genuine, warm and always smiling. Each family is 'assigned' a butler, tracker and ranger. So for us - Silence, Joseph and Rhett were the BEST companions for our stay of 3 nights there! Silence magically appeared to know what we wanted each time we went up for a meal. Joseph was an excellent tracker - do NOT know how he sees tracks when we are traveling and bumping through the bush!! And Rhett was just an amazingly happy, energetic, knowledgeable young man who loved what he did and shared a lot of info in a very entertaining way! If he did not know the answer - he found out and reported the next time we met!! Of COURSE we saw the big five and much much more on our drives. (6 drives in total). Do NOT miss or give up going on a drive. Just the experience of being out in the jungle and the little tidbits of knowledge are so worth it - never mind that you ALWAYS see exciting animals in their natural habitats. And Rhett focused on the whole kit and caboodle - animals, plants, ecology, fecal matter differentiation:-) It was amazing!!
The food was exceptional. There was a mid-drive snack/drink morning and evening and one morning there was even a pancake breakfast set up in the middle of the bush with a griddle and everything! Connie was a wonderful hostess and the cooks are AMAZING!
you CANNOT go wrong by going to Ngala~ I hope we get to go again!

Room Tip: We actually stayed at the lodge so both rooms 1 and 2 were great - the first and second ones on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge

Address: Mpumalanga, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Ngala Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ngala Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The romance and mystery of Africa come alive in 20 thatched cottages tucked under a dense canopy of tamboti trees at Ngala Safari Lodge. Exuding classical safari charm, the spacious veranda, with its wonderfully comfortable armchairs, looks out onto a popular waterhole. For pure indulgence, the Safari Suite offers an elegant sitting room, private swimming pool and exclusive use of a safari vehicle. Mouth-watering meals are served in the shade of an enormous weeping boerbean tree, while a large swimming pool lies on the edge of thick riverine woodland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngala Safari Hotel Ngala Private Game Reserve
AndBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge Ngala Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.