We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“African paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngala Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge
Save
You added andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Mpumalanga, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“African paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Just returned from Ngala and it was a life-changing experience! Beautifully-furnished lodge in the middle of the Timbavati Reserve adjacent to Kruger National Park. Staff are simply the best ever. Elliot our game ranger and Norman our tracker were outstanding. Saw the big five on our many game drives. Took our 2 sons (ages 12 and 15) along and they were treated so special by everyone. Many other families stayed at the lodge during our stay but there were couples and honeymooners as well. They welcome you upon arrival and tell you that you are family and it is true. We stayed 4 nights and I would recommend a similar stay vs rushing in for a night or two and then stressing out if you don't see all the game on the first drive. We flew into Nelspruit and flew out of Hodspruit. The former airport is a 3 hour drive while the latter is less than an hour. If you can afford it take the closer airport. The drive from JNB is 6-7 hours.

The food at the lodge was excellent and the head chef was recently featured in a local magazine for the variety and quality of the meals served. They prepared special kids meals when our boys needed a simple alternative. Nice pool in immaculate grounds for something to do during the hot afternoons. There were 20 - 30 other people at the lodge with us yet we rarely saw them other than at mealtimes. One last point - all drinks (including alcohol) are included which is a nice touch.

For the price and service we could not imagine a better option. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    23
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
74
121
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cookham Dean, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Second visit here and thoroughly recommend it without hesitation.

GREAT rooms, FANTASTIC safari guides, WONDERFUL wildlife. Bliss!

Seeing a leopard up a tree, a pack of 20 wild dogs and much much more were experiences never to forget.

The ultimate surprise though......turning a corner in the bush and finding one of the resort staff cooking us pancakes for breakfast, accompanied by coffee with Amarula. Stunning!!!!

I simply cannot rcommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

The best way I can sum up my three-night stay at Ngala Lodge is with a conversation I had about five or six times with experienced safari-goers:

Them: "Where are you going on safari?"
Me: "Three places -- ..., Ngala, and ..."
Them: "Ngala Tented Camp or Lodge?"
Me: "Lodge."
Them: "Oh."

Here's the deal. Ngala is a very nice property, the staff is extremely kind and eager to please (that's the reason I went with very good rather than average), and I had a pretty good time there. For family trips, it might be a great place to go. For our honeymoon, it was not ideal.

Ngala was our second of three game reserves for a honeymoon safari trip. It was unquestionably our least favorite, but in fairness to Ngala, the other two destinations were absolutely exceptional. Had Ngala been our first destination, our experience may well have been different. It felt like summer camp. An extremely nice summer camp, of course, but that wasn't the vibe we were looking for on our honeymoon. Were we planning our trip all over again, the one change we would make is to omit Ngala altogether.

I realize these comments are vague. We did have specific issues, but they were so particular to our experience there that I wouldn't even hold them out as a critique of Ngala, and it would be nitpicking anyway. Ngala is a very nice property, but as we discovered too late, there are many nicer ones.

Room Tip: Rooms to avoid, if possible, are those farthest from the main camp area -- i.e., the ones next to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

The accommodations were clean, very comfortable, with great food, and incredible service. I can't say enough about the people: Momma Connie, Dennis and Nate took excellent care of us. Even managed to get a prescription filled for me. Derrick and Norman were our ranger/tracker dynamic duo. We saw the big five in the first two game drives--and we were there "off season". We booked our trip through &Beyond---that's how we ended up at Ngala and I am very grateful. What makes Ngala unique is that it is owned by a nonprofit committed to conservation. Also, you can go off road in this private reserve which is how we were able to see the Leopard. South Africa is a beautiful country and culture that's great to visit anytime of the year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I had been at Ngala several times, but this time was different.
The welcome was warm, the accommodation cosy, the food excellent, but the rangers caused stress. The first game drive set up was a vehicle full of tension with a guest who's laptop had just been stolen at the international airport and a ranger who couldn't deal with a tensed situation. We got stuck twice out of two game drives and this spoilt the experience quite a lot. Fortunately the camp manager reacted accordingly and rearranged the game drive set up by splitting the group onto two vehicle with two new rangers. Our ranger was great on the first game drive, but that faded away throughout the remaining game drives by wanting to go back to the lodge while we were watching the interaction between a cheetah and a leopard or driving off while we were photographing. It was challenging to keep the spirit high and very manageable through the support of the wildlife. We had just amazing sightings.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Ngala Safari Lodge lived up to our expectations as a luxury destination with (most importantly) very good wildlife viewing. The cottages are excellent, and the service is just top notch. One thing that Ngala really has going for it is the food. We stayed at Phinda as well, and despite being behind Phinda in terms of the accommodation, the food more than made up for it. Great! The wildlife viewing was just amazing for us, though I realize we may have been lucky. We stayed two nights and managed to get incredible wild dog sightings as well as a fantastic male leopard in the day time, on top of lion, elephant etc. One thing worth noting is we took advantage of the andBeyond Stay for 3 Nights and get 4th Free offer, which we spread out over Ngala and Phinda. Personally, 2 nights was fine with us but I'm sure it would be very easy to stay longer in the lap of luxury!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris france
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

A surprising place Swimming pool, birds & little animals coming around at breakfast time.
An open dining room with lanterns hanging from the trees along with the candleabra and very good food. The baker Carolyn bakes breads and dessers that are five star. Moses our "butler"
was so wonderful we wanted to adopt him. The safaris are great and one can see the big five plus. There is also a water hole in the garden, fenced off of course. Mama Africa (Connie) perfectly arranged everything including music, singing and dancing. P E R F E C T

Room Tip: All of the hut/cottages are the same other than a family suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge

Address: Mpumalanga, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Ngala Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ngala Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The romance and mystery of Africa come alive in 20 thatched cottages tucked under a dense canopy of tamboti trees at Ngala Safari Lodge. Exuding classical safari charm, the spacious veranda, with its wonderfully comfortable armchairs, looks out onto a popular waterhole. For pure indulgence, the Safari Suite offers an elegant sitting room, private swimming pool and exclusive use of a safari vehicle. Mouth-watering meals are served in the shade of an enormous weeping boerbean tree, while a large swimming pool lies on the edge of thick riverine woodland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngala Safari Hotel Ngala Private Game Reserve
AndBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge Ngala Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.