We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Game Drives Were Boring!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gomo Gomo Game Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge
Save
You added Gomo Gomo Game Lodge to your Saves list
Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Game Drives Were Boring!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

Gomo Gomo has moved an is no longer in the Timbavati. It's in the Klaserie. We stayed for three nights. We were lucky to see two or three animals on the drives. The staff pushed going to the bar so they could sell us drinks. They did not want you to go back to your chalet after the evening drive before dinner. The atmosphere at Gomo Gomo was rather cold. It always seemed like the animals were in an area where we could not go. We very rarley went off road. Pay more and stay at a lodge in the Timbavati.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    39
    16
    1
    4
See reviews for
68
155
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

New Gomo Gomo is again a magical place, with great staff, very skilled and “great humorous” rangers, helpful and friendly managers. The accommodation is just perfect, with all luxury provided. We didn’t miss the tents:-) of the old Gomo Gomo! Food is great, but just too much!! We gain (with 5 people) 12 kilos !!!!
And the wildlife is fantastic! We saw, beside the big 5 several times, a serval, a porcupine, and an African wild cat.
We had wonderful leopard sightings, and loved the ” running-away” male lion!
The big herd of buffalo's, the herd of elephants with small calves, and the relaxed rhino couple with calf: it are all memories, printed on our heart!
New Gomo Gomo stole our heart again, and we enjoyed every second!
It is a real magical and, most important, a truly wild place!
Thanks for chosen such great location!
We will definitely be back!
Eric De Backer & Karin Meeussen
Belgium

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

Gomo Gomo was the highlight of our SA trip and given that we were travelling around for a month, that's saying a lot.
The lodge is in a brilliant location not too far from Hoedspruit airport and yet still isolated.
The accomodation was really comfortable and clean, and the tribal stories left on your bed every night was a lovely touch.
The staff are friendly and welcoming and the food was superb with very generous portions.
We loved being part of the game drives, and Mike and Oscar went out of their way to give us the best safari experience. We saw 4 out of the BIG 5 with the exception of the leopard who is seemingly still cautious around the vehicles, mind you it wasn't for want of trying to locate one! We did have a rare caracal sighting, and we saw some African wild cats aswell. The highlight for us was the lion sighting on our last day, where the lions were calling each other, we were all numb in the jeep, pinching ourselves to make sure this was really happening! The photos still don't do it justice.
All in all Gomo Gomo is a fantastic place to stay, great people, great food, and great drives-we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

We had a wonderful time at Gomo Gomo, and I was well looked after on my birthday. Whilst I can see in the other reviews that the game viewing may not be what was expected, if you want to see the big 5 in 45 minutes, go to the zoo. It was a wonderful experience to be part of the track, rather than having it handed to you on a plate so to speak. We both learnt a lot about the bush, how much respect we need to pay and how there is always an everpresent danger (both for us and for the animals). The accommodation was lovely, and we understand the place has only been there for 6 months or so - staying in a thatch roofed cottage was plenty rustic for us! Quite the luxurious bush experience...

Mike and Oscar were great on the jeep, and anyone who puts up with me for 3 days on a jeep deserves a medal :-) We saw 4 of the big 5, understanding that Leopard shouldn't be 'easy' to spot...enough to get us heading back next time! I hope the place retains its sense of rawness and isolation, as that is what the true experience should be.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

I stayed here for three nights and had an amazing time. We did a safari each morning and afternoon, stopping for drinks around sunrise/sunset, and saw an incredible amount including the 'big five'. The lodge has a waterhole by it where we were visited by elephants and a hippo. Tasty meals and a good atmosphere is created by the knowledgable guides. Check the price of drinks before ordering - the white wine we ordered ended up being quite expensive but having then seen the drinks menu, other drinks (beer, red wine) were reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

Our trip to Gomo Gomo exceeded our expectations. We went to South Africa with the purpose of viewing the animals in the natural habitat and it was an awesome experience. We decided to stay at Gomo Gomo for 6 nights while we found most people typically stay one or two nights and then bounce between different lodges. We are so glad that we stayed for a more lengthy visit. We were able to see all of the animals (including the big 5) and we were able to relax and enjoy the setting. The rooms are simple and provide all of the necessary amenities. (A phone to the main lodge in case of emergency would be a nice addition though.) We did have a little difficulty with hot water in the shower. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. Johan was an excellent guide and Jeffrey is very talented at tracking. Together they make a great pair. We were able to get very close to the animals and take excellent pictures. We very much enjoyed the game drives and the stops for morning coffee and evening sundowners were very nice. The food was tasty and they accommodated my dietary limitations (although I did have to remind). While we’ve never stayed at another safari lodge, we left Gomo Gomo with complete satisfaction.

We opted to take the flight from Johannesburg to Hoedspruit and we’re very glad we did. Flying from the US, we were exhausted and a 6 hour drive from Johannesburg with jetlag would not have been safe. Also, if you go in the winter, be sure to take a few sweatshirts and a windbreaker. While it’s hot in the midday the drives are quite chilly with the cooler temperatures and the wind from the drive. Although we were advised to take malaria medication, we encountered very few bugs.

To view photos from our trip - http://www.flickr.com/photos/33012306@N03/

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

I was a sole traveller and stayed 2 nights at Gomo Gomo Lodge which was a fantastic experience although a hefty single supplement was added (the lodge tell me they don't get many single travellers as they are geared for couples) - I wish I could have afforded to pay for a few more nights. The lodge moved to their current location in Dec 08 so all the buildings and facilities are fairly new. The rooms are big and roomy and have both shower and bath (I would have been just happy with the shower). All rooms look out onto the water hole and I saw plenty of game during the day. Morning & Sunset game drives are included and whilst we did not see a huge amount of game the quality of what we saw was very good - we got very close to a feeding lion, rhino, giraffe & elephant plus many other animals. All the staff were great, food was very good and I would really like to return again one day as I saw everything else but never did see a Leopard.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gomo Gomo Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gomo Gomo Game Lodge

Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge is a private and intimate Lodge situated in the prestigious Klaserie Nature Reserve, Greater Kruger National Park, with a common unfenced border. Our traversing area is approximately 6000 hectares (14800 acres) of the reserve offering guests varied landscapes with an excellent possibility of coming face to face with the “ Big 5 “ (lion, leopard, buffalo, elephant and rhino) and numerous othermammals and bird species in their natural habitat.Early morning and late afternoon / evening game drives are conducted in open 4 X 4 Land Rovers with well qualified and experienced field guides and trackers who will ensure an exciting and informative safari. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gomo Gomo Game Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge South Africa/Klaserie Private Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gomo Gomo Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.