We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gomo Gomo October 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gomo Gomo Game Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge
Save
You added Gomo Gomo Game Lodge to your Saves list
Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gomo Gomo October 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights which really allowed us to get the most out of our stay. We saw 6 out of the maginifent 7, only missing Cheetah. Being a private lodge you can get very close to the wildlife. Our ranger was HJ, and he certainly earns his money; ranger, receptionist, bar man...

The food was very good, although it is set menu. However, if you have any dislikes/allergies they are catered for.

We were fortunate that we had the chalet nearest the main building, so did not need escorting to our accommodation after dark. Apart from the night the Honey Badger, took up rescidence outside our chalet.

Another good point about this lodge, is that it has its own watering hole; which means during the day, the wildlife comes to you.

Overall, I highly reccommend Gomo Gomo.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    37
    14
    1
    3
See reviews for
63
143
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Gomo gomo game lodge is a treasure the rangers and staff just make the whole experience superb

We were late arriving due to plane delay however Bernhard greeted us warmly and took us on the safari ride of our lives within an hour a pack of wild dogs lion and leopard along with rhino... Tired we got back to the lodge to ready for dinner only to be stopped with a loud banging on the door.. A lion kill not 300 yards from the lodge had just happened we all
Loaded back up and watched the events unfurl

The next 4 days we had roan and dom ( the tracker) and every single day was just amazing they are great at what they do but importantly great company

If you want a safari where style over substance is important don't come here because this is all about nature at its best .. The food is excellent all fresh cooked in a family like atmosphere

My 10 year old daughter who was nervous beforehand loved everything cannot recommend highly enough.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydenburg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

In this reserve they are the only 1 of 28 lodges that allows babies to stay - a welcome for couples with children who want to get away to a game lodge. I really battled to find a place that accommodates babies. They even allowed my baby to go on the game drive, and it really was no big deal! We had a car seat and she enjoyed the outdoors and the open vehicle. I sadly forgot to take a hat for her, but another guest helped me out. Just fair warning the only facility they really provide is a camping cot - there is no access to a kitchen for washing of bottles or sterilising, but they did help me out when I requested. Also no changing mat or nearby place to buy things so go well-prepared.

The game drives were awesome!! Very friendly staff and a great location. I found the food average and minimal at times. Also would have preferred it if they provided bottled water in the rooms. On the whole a good stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and have a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We very much enjoyed our time at Gomo Gomo, but their strapline of “welcome to the wild” is worth bearing in mind. The wildlife was the highlight of our stay.

The accommodation was fine for the amount of time that you spend in it – most time in the middle of the day is spent relaxing by the waterhole, keeping an eye out for visiting wildlife. As well as excellent sightings of animals and birds on the game drives, we had the rather unusual experience of wildlife excitement during two of our evening ‘boma’ meals – the first interrupted by a leopard sighted near the camp and the second by an impala running into the waterhole to escape a chasing hyena.

We didn’t find the welcome as warm as other lodges that we stayed at, the accommodation was adequate rather than luxurious, and the food was wholesome rather than refined – but this was consistent with the real focus of Gomo Gomo being the wildlife experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and I have recently returned from a 5 night stay at Gomo Gomo lodge, as part of our honeymoon, we found the whole visit fantastic from start to finish and we would have loved to have stayed longer. During our stay we saw all of the BIG 5 and spent several hours on the drives amongst herds of elephant, and buffalo, Our guide Bernhard and tracker could not have been more helpful, and determined we tracked Leopards for 1 and half hours through the bush and we found two on the same night, we tracked wild dogs for over an hour and came across a pack of 11 at a waterhole having just feed from a kill. The waterhole at the venue is a jewel in the crown it attracted wildlife throughout the day and night, waking up to find a leopard, civet and many other animals have been just outside your lodge in the night was so exciting. The walks are very informative about the tracks, dung , plants and trees. Our lodge had a wonderful view of the waterhole and we had a very nice gift left for us on our last night...The food was good and there seemed to be plenty of it, the evening drives and sun downers are something special as are the animals which you only see at night, now they spot a bush baby in a tree from 300meters away I do not know, I won't forget the angry Chamelion or the baby elephant meeting the croc in a hurry, would love to be back there..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We are a family of 4 and stayed at Gomo Gomo for 3 nights. Our kids are 9 & 12. Its a small and intimate game lodge that had up to 20 guests while we were there. The rooms are beautiful and quite unexpected out in the middle of nowhere. We had a family room with a queen and 2 single beds in a separate room. The room is fully airconditioned and has a little verandah that overlooks the water hole.

Our kids were the only ones there and we were very conscious of them making too much noise. It didn't seem to be an issue though as everyone seemed happy. There is a lovely pool which they played in a lot. There is free wifi up in the main lodge.

The game drivers were amazing. Our guide was HJ and he went out of his way to make sure we all had a great time. We saw every animal except for the leopard but we still had an amazing experience.

The food was top class. It was not a buffet but a set menu so we had no choice what to eat. This did prove to be a problem for the kids at some meals but they were OK. Next time I would request more kid friendly meals before arrival. The game drives started at 6 am and breakfast wasn't until 9.30. This was an issue as there was only a dry biscuit to eat with our coffee before hand which is not sufficient for kids. Easily fixed though - as we asked new of the staff for a bowl of cereal. All good. The only other thing i would have said is that a fruit bowl for snacks between meals would be great.

We got washing done here for 100 rand per bag. Great price and it was back the same day.

The water hole right in front of the lodge was great. We had herds of elephant, impala, wart hog, kudu and a crocodile.

I would highly recommend Gomo Gomo lodge.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had a great time here. We stayed for 2 nights and the rooms were spacious and had a patio that looked over the watering hole. The game drives with Rowan were awesome – he was very informative and tenacious about finding the animals for us to enjoy and photograph. We only had 6 people in our vehicle which ensured that everyone had a good view. The food ranged from good to OK but the main reason for going is to see the animals!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gomo Gomo Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gomo Gomo Game Lodge

Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge is a private and intimate Lodge situated in the prestigious Klaserie Nature Reserve, Greater Kruger National Park, with a common unfenced border. Our traversing area is approximately 6000 hectares (14800 acres) of the reserve offering guests varied landscapes with an excellent possibility of coming face to face with the “ Big 5 “ (lion, leopard, buffalo, elephant and rhino) and numerous othermammals and bird species in their natural habitat.Early morning and late afternoon / evening game drives are conducted in open 4 X 4 Land Rovers with well qualified and experienced field guides and trackers who will ensure an exciting and informative safari. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gomo Gomo Game Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge South Africa/Klaserie Private Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gomo Gomo Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.