We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like nowhere else” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gomo Gomo Game Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge
Save
You added Gomo Gomo Game Lodge to your Saves list
Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
London UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Like nowhere else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We originally heard about Gomo Gomo from Trailfinders, the UK travel agents we use for flights, and although we booked directly, I'm so glad they mentioned this amazing place as I've no idea how I would have gone about choosing from the hundreds of options. We had 4 nights here at the end of our trip and whilst we knew it would be the highlight, we didn't realise just what a magical and exhilarating experience a safari here would be.

I won't repeat what others have said about the lodge, etc. It's all very nice. What made this so successful for us was the dedication, warmth and enthusiasm of the staff - all of them. Our ranger Ivan and tracker Dominick made sure we had the best possible chance of spotting game. We saw 4 of the big 5 on our first drive! We were apparently exceptionally lucky with sightings during our time, to the point that I said to my husband that we didn't really need to have booked 4 nights.... but then on our penultimate drive we saw a cheetah (rare) really close up devouring an impala, so we left having seen the Magnificent Seven in the end.

Speaking as someone who's not an animal lover and doesn't even have pets, I can't believe how interesting it was hearing all about the animal behaviour. Ivan knew the answer to every single question I came up with. We also learned a lot about birds and plants. The staff genuinely like meeting people from all over the world, sit with you at dinner etc and we really appreciated how much they give of themselves, talking about their country and their own lives, which opens up so much for guests. There is a very convivial and sociable atmosphere amongst guests with people coming and going all the time. I did overhear someone questioning the presence of children but that is clearly part of the ethos at Gomo Gomo and they go out of their way to make families welcome. All the children present during our stay were very well-behaved and they tend to put families together on game drives.

I cannot speak highly enough of this place. Unlike others we didn't particularly rate the food, but that is a minor point in the whole scheme of things. Thanks to everyone at the lodge for making it such a wonderful 4 days for us.

Room Tip: Family chalet 3 is very well situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    37
    14
    1
    3
See reviews for
63
143
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Everything about Gomo Gomo is great: the lodge, the staff, the game safaris,the location, the food and even the cocktails (Lion Wannabe is a must try!). We had the best time there and would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights and had what was comfortably one of the best weeks of our lives. Everything - from the rooms & food to the rangers and trackers and of course the wildlife & bush walks - was an absolute joy.

We chose this place because of (relatively) competitive pricing and the waterhole location & we're delighted we did.

Every days starts with a wake-up call at 5 am, and from that moment until bedtime (after a few post-dinner drinks with the rangers), every single minute is overwhelmingly, mind-blowingly fantastic.

Not to be missed, never to be forgotten & hopefully one day to be repeated.

Thanks to all the staff

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Gomo Gomo is life changing. From the moment we walked in the door of the lodge, our time was amazing. Our ranger, Johan, was absolutely fantastic. He was one of the most interesting and knowledgeable persons we had ever met. Riding with him was one of the best experiences of our lives. We saw the big five on our first two game drives. We sat within 10 yards of a roaring male lion, and it was the most electrifying experience of my entire life. Johan found excellent spots for sunsets and drinks, and he answered all of our numerous questions. The lodge was perfect. We had ample space and privacy, as well as delicious food. We stayed three nights/four days, and there was never a dull moment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and had the most amazing time. HJ our ranger was so knowledgeable and was able to answer all our thousands of questions. The game drives were amazing and not busy so we were able to view the animals for as long as we wanted. Wild dogs, zebra, lions, tons of elephants, crocodile, buffalo, black mamba, kudu, impala, giraffe just to name a few, the list is endless. All the staff ( including 'elephant pooh man' ! ) were so welcoming and happy to assist in any way.The food was lovely and lots of it too ! Gomo Gomo is in a idyllic setting, very relaxing and the children loved the pool. The accomodation in our thatched cottage was perfect, clean and lots of room.
We loved every minute here and were sad to leave, i couldn't recommend it enough.
Thank you so so much for such a great time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Had an awesome time at Gomo in August.
Great accomodation, lovely food, friendly people and fantastic game viewing.
Herds of 40 -50 elephants at the watering hole daily as well as seeing the lions, leopards, rhino etc.
A really great lodge in a wonderful location

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Attempting to select a safari adventure in and around Kruger can be a bit of a mental minefield! Did we want to be in the park itself at a camp, or in one of the many private game lodge's that flank the western edge of the park? Ultimately we chose Gomo Gomo as it represented a balance of value whilst offering an off road experience and close up viewing of the wildlife, which you may not get if you stay within Kruger's boundaries where you are limited to the roads only.

Gomo Gomo was a wonderful choice, offering very comfortable, yet not ostentatious, accommodations at an affordable price when compared to some of the other lodges. If it's luxury you are looking for, then perhaps this isn't the place for you. But if the idea of a small and intimate lodge, with only nine units enabling a more personable experience, is more to your taste then read on!

We stayed three nights, just the perfect amount we felt, and thoroughly enjoyed our six safari drives both on and off road plus a bush walk. All of the rangers and trackers went above and beyond in order to find us game and we were very satisfied with the animals we saw, and the information the knowledgeable rangers provided about everything.

Accommodation is in one of the spacious brick and thatched units, with most of them overlooking the watering hole that delights all guests when elephants, buffalo or impala gather around for a drink. An awesome experience as you sit on your private deck, to see an elephant saunter by heading for the water!

The stylish lodge serves as the communal area for meals and beverages at the bar. Meals were generally very good, and the dinner served outside around the Boma was a great way to round off the day. The staff were all very nice and helpful.

We flew into Eastgate airport where we were met by the friendly head ranger, Johann who drove us to the lodge. Note the cost for this is quite pricey if only two of you are being picked up. On departure we were dropped off at the gate, and we used Ashtons shuttle bus, who we recommend, for the six hour drive to Johannesburg.

Our first safari experience, and Gomo Gomo Lodge ensured it was a wonderful and unforgettable adventure. Highly recommended!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gomo Gomo Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gomo Gomo Game Lodge

Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge is a private and intimate Lodge situated in the prestigious Klaserie Nature Reserve, Greater Kruger National Park, with a common unfenced border. Our traversing area is approximately 6000 hectares (14800 acres) of the reserve offering guests varied landscapes with an excellent possibility of coming face to face with the “ Big 5 “ (lion, leopard, buffalo, elephant and rhino) and numerous othermammals and bird species in their natural habitat.Early morning and late afternoon / evening game drives are conducted in open 4 X 4 Land Rovers with well qualified and experienced field guides and trackers who will ensure an exciting and informative safari. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gomo Gomo Game Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge South Africa/Klaserie Private Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gomo Gomo Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.