We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous holiday in the bush” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baobab Ridge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baobab Ridge
Save
You added Baobab Ridge to your Saves list
Portion 13 of Joubertshoop | Klaserie Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous holiday in the bush”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have just returned home to Cape Town after a really lovely time with family and friends at Baobab Ridge. The Lodge is well laid out and luxurious, the units are beautifully built to blend into the bush and are set out all along perimeter fences and at night you can hear lion / rhino / hyena etc just outside the fences. The staff are friendly and efficient and seem happy to go the extra mile. We loved the game drives with the very knowledgable guides / rangers. It was fantastic to have interesting bush facts pointed out to us and to have all our questions answered.
We loved sitting outside around the fire at the boma at night and having our dinners there. We went with the self-catering option which worked very well for us but i believe the caterers are excellent as well. Thank you Baobab Ridge for an unforgettable stay! We cant wait to visit again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and look out over the bush - Just depends how far you want to be from the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
2
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Having spent many a time in the bush, Baobab Ridge must be one of the best. What makes it so special is that the people at the lodge are more like friends than staff. They go the extra mile to make your stay truly enjoyable. Along with this, the accommodation is top notch and of course the surrounding bush and game drives outstanding. After an exciting day's game drives what more could you want than to enjoy a glass of wine around the fire listening to the night sounds and enjoying the starry skies as your guide regales you with 'bush' stories. Well worth a visit and I would have no hesitation to recommend Baobab Ridge to anyone. Having spent an unforgettable 3 days there I look forward to my next visit. Well done all at Baobab Ridge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a place you just have to go to, the accommodation was pure luxury, the cottages had windows on all sides so whether sitting in huge comfy chairs that reclined in the lounge area or lying in bed you felt you were in the middle of the bush. Our host Nini was lovely and nothing was to much trouble, all the staff working there were also very helpful. Our guide David was superb and having also been a tracker he was the best I and my friends who I went with have ever had, his knowledge and understanding of the animals behavior was excellent and he never took any risks we all felt in safe hands. He made sure we saw as much as possible which included wild dogs, cheetahs and a pride of lions up very close absolutely amazing. We catered for ourselves in what I can only describe as an amazing kitchen which you would only find in the best restaurants. It was lovely to come back after the late afternoon game drive to have the briaar lit and everything ready for us, having the place to ourselves was fantastic and very relaxing. This is one place I would go back to again and again and can't praise it enough. JJ

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

excellent must go to,accomadation luxury.all the staff were very helpful.Jason was away so we had David as our guide for the stay and he was great, felt very safe with him,wow did he know the animals,he knew from a distance when it was safe and not safe.Our host nini was lovely. nothing was to much trouble for them,
it was great being able to cater for ourselves this was very relaxing, having the whole place to ourselves was great.
would go back again and again.
James and Susan

Room Tip: all the rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

For my first time in South Africa, Baobab Ridge was a superb place to be. The lodges were very spacious and clean with windows all the way round looking into the African bush.
Although we were self catering the facilites were excellent and it was great to be able to use the briaar.
The game drives were just magical and our tracker, David, was just amazing in his knowledge and understanding of the animals.
I will certainly be returning!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I never knew that self-catering but otherwise fully serviced options existed, but in the future this is all I will do and I think i speak for all 18 of us that stayed at Baobab Ridge and their near neighbours Walker's River Camp in January.

You fly into Hoedspruit – or drive – and for the same sort of price you’d pay if you stayed in the Kruger and booked morning and evening game drives you get your own camp with better facilities and better guides who do exactly what you want them to when you want them to do it.

As I said we booked into Baobab Ridge and the nearby Walker's River Camp, both lodges were fantastic and to help explain the reltive pros and cons of each, I'll talk about both here.

First of all, from start to finish the service at Baobab Ridge was fantastic. You really do benefit from having the owners on site at all times and although it is self-catering, you never really have to do much. Speaking of catering, the kitchen is huge and well stocked with everything you'll need, the local Pick 'n Pay even takes orders by email and delivers them for you so that's way easier than you'd expect.
The design of Baobab Ridge is the more modern and more ‘hotely’ of the two: a big communal room with a large lounge (including DSTV), large dining room, and conference facilities is surrounded by fantastic rooms that, when the windows and doors are all opened up, feel like they are right in the bush. The bedding, towels, and toiletries are all of the level you'd expect in a hotel too.
In contrast, Walker’s River Camp is more rustic with simpler – though still fantastic – cottages and an open bar/ dining area that retains more of the charm of a traditional game farm. Where Baobab Ridge feels like a hotel, Walker’s feels like your own farm. Walker's also has a great pool, which in summer became the focal point of most our days.
The game experience with both is also fantastic. Although they’re only 15 minutes away from each other, they are actually in different reserves: Baobab Ridge in Klaserie and Walker’s River Camp in Timbavati. The only way this really impacts you is that Baobab Ridge have access to a shared radio frequency which invariably means you’ll see more game with them, but at Walker’s we had http://www.martinmeyer.co.za/ as our guide for the week and he was superb. What you miss in more regular sightings, you gain in in-depth bush knowledge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Baobab Ridge is a hidden gem with its self catering option making this affordable as far as private lodges are concerned. The lodge itself is extremely well appointed and immaculately clean. The rooms have very large bathrooms and a separate lounge and patio. The furnishings are new and they are tastefully decorated. The main lodge is also great for spending time relaxing in with an incredibley well equiped kitchen. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The game viewing was great and in our three day stay we had multiple sightings of Rhino, Elephant, Lion and Leopard. Jason was a very professional guide and certainly the ethical and relaxed way in which he conducted the game drives and approached animals was particularly pleasing. Baobab Ridge is also a great place for children who can play in the Lodge area freely in the day and Jason goes out of his way to make game drives informative and interesting for them. He also was very kind in letting his two cats become the main objects for entertainment and very kindly let the children watch his favourite Noddy DVD!

All in all a great three days and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baobab Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baobab Ridge

Address: Portion 13 of Joubertshoop | Klaserie Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baobab Ridge Lodge is a private lodge situated in the prestigious Klaserie Private Nature Reserve. It provides luxurious yet affordable air-conditioned accommodation, offering guests beautiful bush-veld landscapes with an excellent possibility of coming face to face with the "Big 5" and bird species in their natural habitat. *This lodge is fully catered and can be booked exclusively for up to 16 guests (ideal for groups seeking complete privacy and no age limits!). *The lodge can only be booked on a self catered basis, if the entire lodge is booked privately, not for individual cottages! Activities at the lodge • Game drives in open Land Rovers. • Walking safaris, please request in advance, subject to availability and not included in rates. Minimum age is 16 years and up to 8 guests per walk. • Rhino conservation events, subject to availability and not included in rates (only available when entire lodge is booked) The Klaserie Private Nature Reserve (approximately 60 000 hectares) is part of the Greater Kruger National Park and open to the Kruger National Park and Timbavati Private Nature Reserve. The private game reserve lies along the western border of the Kruger, with no fencing separating the reserve from the Kruger or the Timbavati; allowing the animals to roam freely between the private game reserves and the Kruger Park. The game in both the Kruger and the neighbouring reserves is essentially the same, the only difference being the experience of driving off-road in open game viewers with professional guides and that this area is known worldwide, as the area the white lions originated from. They are born and live in the wild here, so the gene pool of the white lion is carried within the lions of this area and we have the odd sighting of white lions in our area. The professionally trained guides who accompany you on drives or walks are expert rangers (who are able to do their own tracking!) and are in contact with other lodge vehicles, greatly increasing your chances of finding the wildlife that you want to see. Some of the other game found in our area, are giraffe, wildebeest, impala, waterbuck, warthog, porcupine, African wild cat, honey badger, genets, bush babies, kudu, zebra, wild dog, cheetah, pangolin, aardvark, hyena, hippo and much, much more. Birding is quite spectacular, especially during our spring and summer when the migrant birds breed in the area. Hearing the cheerful call of the beautiful Woodland Kingfisher in the Summer, the haunting cry of the African Fish Eagle over waterways or the familiar evening camp fire sounds of hyena, lion, Nightjars and the Pearl Spotted Owlet has such a wonderfully calming effect! (Summer: September - April / Winter: May - August). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Baobab Ridge South Africa/Klaserie Private Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baobab Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.