We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch service at a really beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kapama Southern Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kapama Southern Camp to your Saves list
Kapama Southern Camp
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Kapama Private Game Reserve | Hoedspruit, R40, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa (Formerly Hongonyi Private Game Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Currently, Luanda, Angola
1 review
“Top notch service at a really beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

We've never been waited on quite like this. Shannae (I know I'm not spelling that right!) and Mark were not only fabulous guides, but also took care of all of our needs- room issues, drinks, food, organizing doing stuff off the property- EVERYTHING.
The rooms were very comfortable and cleaned well every day. They are more lodge rather than hotel, so a few bugs, geckos and such were expected, and not a problem for us. The staff did all they could to get pesky ants out of the room when the showed up- which was related to the weather, not cleanliness.
We bought the all inclusive package that included a daily Big 5 game drive at the nearby lodge and lunch (as well as other meals). This was a great deal for all we got. The drives we great every day- we saw all the big animals both at the other lodge and at Hongonyi.
The only thing that left this vegetarian traveler longing for just a little more was the kitchen. The food they provided was good- but it was a set menu. For a picky eater/restricted diet it was a bit hard. I was always given vegetarian food, but, it was often cheese heavy which is not ideal for me. After a few days I was really excited to get away and choose my own food. The food quality really was fine- and my meat-eating husband never complained- but for a picky/restricted diet, it just wasn't ideal.
All in all it was a great place to stay- very quiet and relaxing. The wildlife comes very close to the lodge, and sometimes right onto the property- we saw warthogs, eland, giraffe, rhinos, monkeys and more all within 50 meters of the lodge if not closer.
3-4 days are enough at Hongonyi, because there isn't much else to do besides go on the drives/walks. My husband and I spent a lot of time napping and reading, which was perfect for us- exactly what we wanted. But if you're a gotta keep moving all the time kind of person, this is probably not the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    47
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
56
130
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KwaZulu-Natal North Coast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

From the time my boyfriend and I arrived at Hongonyi we were treated like royalty! We had the honour of being hosted by the owners of Hongonyi, Thomas and Shelley, for our two night's stay, who were most welcoming and friendly. We went on two game drives, one of which was in hot pursuit of Lion that had escaped from the next-door farm, and two morning bush walks, where we learnt so much from Thomas about the flora and fauna of the specific biome. We were also priveledged to spot a wide range of animals including cheeta, hyena, giraffe, rhino (and Lion from the next-door farm). A big thank you to Thomas and Shelley for their great hospitality and for the wonderful time that was had! Tracy and Matt

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

I've been to a number of 4 and 5 star lodges, but passion beats stars. The owners obviously enjoy their "business" and make you feel welcome. It's like visiting their home rather than a guesthouse/lodge. I enjoyed a big 5 game drive as well as a bushwalk. Since we only stayed one night we missed the bushbabies and the rhinos at the lodge. I'm definately planning to visit again, spending more time.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

Hongonyi is good value for the money. It's not the best game reserve you can go to, but for what they charge it's worth it to stay for a few days. The property is fenced in so the animals cannot come and go, they are there to stay. We saw numerous animals on the property and enjoyed the Big 5 game drive that they contract out to a company that operates in Thornybrush just down the road. The Big 5 game drive was incredible and TRex was our driver and he got us to the animals we wanted to see. The food was very good and the atmosphere around the boma was terrific. The staff sang and danced for us - they were great. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. This would be a good place for families with kids to do some wildlife viewing. Loved the patio overlooking a lake and seeing a Bushbaby up close. Shanna was very knowledgeable and is well on her way to becoming a great guide (she's new) and she also has running the property down pat and is so good at making sure everyone is taken care of!! For a smaller reserve, Hongonyi was a good find and great value!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorks
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

We were greeted on arrival by Melanie, a brilliant hostess and game driver. She was helpful, friendly and informative. We enjoyed a swim in the pool and a drink overlooking the waterhole where giraffe were drinking; it mas wonderful. The game drives were superb we saw giraffe, zebra, warthogs, cheetah, eagle, impala and lots more. We didn't expect the big 5 so stayed at another lodge, elephant plains. Do not be put off by not having the big 5 as Melanie can organise it for a big 5 game drive with a neighbouring reserve. Definitely going back to Hongonyi. It was the best experience of the holiday. Oh and the food and setting was out of this world. They really look after you.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

We arrived at dusk to be greeted by a giraffe. The lodge had a wonderful dining area where we sat around a camp fire on small personal tables the first night. The food was very good. We had pork chops and sausage cooked on a bbq with soup and salad that night. They also made a single dish to try every night of some "game" animal which you wouldn't taste anywhere else.

The Big 5 Game Drive was the best!! We saw so many animals up close and personal. It really was a thrill. We even saw a cheetah with her small babies.

In the morning we got up to get coffee before the early morning game drive in the main lodge and there was a bush baby that would come for a morning biscuit. He would jump from the light fixture to our shoulders.

The room were very nice with mosquito nets. They had a nice shower with great power and hot water which we didn't always have at other places.

We enjoyed the pool between all our activities and could watch the "bush" while we were in the pool. It was a very relaxing "homey" feeling place. I am sure anyone who goes would love it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

The two nights/three days I spent at Hongonyi was the highlight of my
trip to South Africa. It is a superior 3 star lodge only because of no bathtub. It should be rated higher. The decor is elegant and the service is the best!
The staff made it a point to get to know us and try to pamper us.
We were spoiled and the food was wonderful.
There is so much to do there. I know we will rturn and prehaps have extra time to enjoy the beautiful property.
The game drives were outstanding. This was the 3rd park we visited.
We were able to get close to the animals and see an abundance of them. They took us to Brian Jone's rehabilittion center down the road which is world renown. There are many other activities in the area.
This lodge is like a secret NOT TO BE MISSED!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kapama Southern Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapama Southern Camp

Address: Kapama Private Game Reserve | Hoedspruit, R40, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa (Formerly Hongonyi Private Game Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Kapama Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kapama Southern Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kapama Southern Camp is the proud new addition to our Kapama Game Reserve family and is situated on the southern most section of the Kapama Private Game Reserve. It offers luxury safari accommodation, warm hospitality and friendly service in a tranquil setting which will satisfy even the most discerning nature lovers' taste.Lounge & PoolRelax in the lounge with a good book or just sit back and indulge in the breathtaking beauty of mother nature in all her splendour. Alternatively you can lazily lounge around our magnificent pool and deck area and stare into the vast African yonder, hopefully spotting some of the many animals that often pass in close proximity. If the African sun becomes too much to endure, a dip in the refreshing swimming pool will bring immediate relief, and the friendly barman will be on hand to spoil you with a tantalising cocktail.DiningBreakfast and lunches are normally served in the dining room with open sides, so you will always have nature just a few meters away while enjoying tasteful culinary creations from our qualified chefs . Dinner is served in the traditional outside Boma, again with nature as the backdrop and a starlit sky overhead creating the perfect setting.Southern Camp also boasts a fully equipped wine cellar where we stock only the finest wines from top South African vineyards in a perfectly humidified environment.Southern Camp Standard RoomsSouthern Camp offers 10 standard rooms. These include 4 family rooms catering for a maximum of two children under 12 per family room. All our standard rooms are equipped with an en-suite bathroom with shower only. Safe boxes and Coffee & Tea making facilities are standard in all rooms. The insect screens and air-conditioning will make the balmy summer evenings just so much more enjoyable.Southern Camp Suites (pictured below)Southern Camp also offers 15 Luxury Suites. En-suite and fully equipped with shower and baths, air-conditioning and a mini-bar fridge as a standard commodity. Take a relaxing bath and stare out the big wooden frame window, keeping an eye on the magnificently coloured birds just outside your suite or sit on your patio wile having your early morning coffee and feel the excitement build as you prepare for an exhilarating safari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Kapama Southern Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapama Southern Camp Hotel Kapama Private Game Reserve
Kapama Southern Camp Kapama Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kapama Southern Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.