We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lodge in mini-bush” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kapama Southern Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kapama Southern Camp to your Saves list
Kapama Southern Camp
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Kapama Private Game Reserve | Hoedspruit, R40, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa (Formerly Hongonyi Private Game Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
NYC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good lodge in mini-bush”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Not sure why this was rated 3 stars rather than 4. It is a small, but full service game lodge. For the price this is a great bush lodge. Common areas, food, and service were all good. The private game farm is fairly small so there are a limited number of animal types...no ele, hippo, or lion. However we had an amazing leopard viewing, rhino sighting from the bar, and saw Nyala antelope performing an elaborate male dominance ritual. The staff were very nice and accomodating. It was a really good bush experience for our 7-year old boy. Room was nicely decorated, a bit small for all our bags, bathroom was basic but everything worked well. Electricity seemed to be plentiful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    47
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
56
130
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suva, Fiji
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Was the highlight of our trip to SA ( and amongst stiff competition) . The staff and management were very friendly and the experieince unique . Dont miss the morning walk in the game park and make sure you meet Elvis while you are there! Parkinson family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roetgen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We had a wonderful stay this April in Hongonyi, the guides and the staff were very, very friendly, hospitable - and knew a lot interesting things to tell about the (native) plants and animals.
The stunning morning-walks, the exciting gamedrives, and, last but not least, the perfect food (for example barbecued meat, eaten at the patio under the spangled sky) - this is definitely 5 stars worth!
we'll definitely come back, guys!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The lodge is a few miles off the road and definitely feels like it is in the middle of the bush.
The managers and staff were all extremely friendly and welcoming from the moment I arrived. For part of the time I was the only guest at the lodge and was made to feel like one of the family.
Accommodation was relaxing and quiet - nice to be woken by monkeys on top of the roof. Good variety and quality of food - particularly enjoyed the breakfasts.
The time I spent there seemed to pass very quickly - a bush walk before breakfast, then relaxing and taking in the animals which ventured near the lodge, and ending with a bush drive in the late afternoon. The guides were excellent both in pointing out the animals and helping me to be aware of the surroundings.
A great three days and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

This lodge is just amazing! If you are looking for a great, personal and deep safari-experience with good value for money; this is the place to go! We had a fantastic experience; far beyond our expectations! Already from the gates untill the lodge various animals were greeting us, breathtaking close! And comming in the lodge the managers were awaiting us with smiles and refreshment, just lovely! The lodge is beautifully styled, and everything is done with love and care. The staff is just great; everybody would walk the extra mile just to make sure that everything is perfect for the guests. As we are honneymooners, they also arranged a surprise in our room!
And not to forget the safari's!! Ranger Mark is fantastic; he has 17 years of experience and does not take you for a regular safari; he takes you for a once in a lifetime experience! He is so enthousiastic and truely a walking encyclopedia; he teaches you more than you could imagine about all the mysterious ways of nature...
We have spotted much more than the big 5. And also laying at the lodges pool you can spot great animals that walk by on quiet moments, also very nice.
The food was also great. Everything was fresh, healthy and made with love.
After 3 days we did not want to leave anymore...we felt so at home! We found it very special that the managers got up early with us and escorted us to the gate to wave us goodbye...
This was one of the best experiences we ever had - at this wonderful corner of the earth!

Room Tip: Rooms are large, lovely styled and very clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at hongonyi! There is not a single thing that we could pick on at this reserve. It is clean, friendly and they always go beyond the normal to make you happy! We were delighted to see nearly all the animals at the reserve. Only the elusive leopard hid from us! The managers Railey and mike were fantastic. Railey always done all she could to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Mike was an excellent guide - he is a walking encyclopedia! He is also very friendly. We had many good laughs with him. All the other staff were great especially evelyn, happy and abel! The owners were superb too. Happy even washed our car on the day we left!
We simply did not want to leave and we wish we could of stayed-we really hope one day we will return!
Craig and keira from england

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Our first experiences in Hongonyi was on our drive into the game reserve we had just entered and encountered giraffe and zebra only mtrs from our car. When we arrived at the Lodge we were greeted by Heidi (and the neighbourhood monkeys which were jumping all over the roofs of the lodgings) who showed us to our rooms, which are very comfortable and well appointed. We arrived on the Royal Wedding Day and it was not a problem for Shelly our hostess to bake wedding cup cakes in commemoration. (although we missed the wedding) which she also had set up for us to view on the tv.
Evellyn, was waiting with a warm smile in the open air bar for our arrival with drinks and a inviting fireplace roaring. We were able to view the animals from this bar with drink in hand as the sun set. So far a fabulous experience.
The food was fantastic and it was an experience to dine with the resident porcupine (elvis) who would not leave until he had his fill (off our plates of course).
We had the most amazing experience when we were invited to witness the recollaring of the resident cheetah (mother) and whilst she was sedated were able to pat her 1 month old cubs. (so cute)
The night safari (with Dale) was great we were able to observe numerous big and small game under a clear romantic starlit sky.
We only had a two night stay but we would have loved to stay longer..... very relaxing...
informative ..... One of the most memorable stays of our trip

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kapama Southern Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapama Southern Camp

Address: Kapama Private Game Reserve | Hoedspruit, R40, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa (Formerly Hongonyi Private Game Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Kapama Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kapama Southern Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kapama Southern Camp is the proud new addition to our Kapama Game Reserve family and is situated on the southern most section of the Kapama Private Game Reserve. It offers luxury safari accommodation, warm hospitality and friendly service in a tranquil setting which will satisfy even the most discerning nature lovers' taste.Lounge & PoolRelax in the lounge with a good book or just sit back and indulge in the breathtaking beauty of mother nature in all her splendour. Alternatively you can lazily lounge around our magnificent pool and deck area and stare into the vast African yonder, hopefully spotting some of the many animals that often pass in close proximity. If the African sun becomes too much to endure, a dip in the refreshing swimming pool will bring immediate relief, and the friendly barman will be on hand to spoil you with a tantalising cocktail.DiningBreakfast and lunches are normally served in the dining room with open sides, so you will always have nature just a few meters away while enjoying tasteful culinary creations from our qualified chefs . Dinner is served in the traditional outside Boma, again with nature as the backdrop and a starlit sky overhead creating the perfect setting.Southern Camp also boasts a fully equipped wine cellar where we stock only the finest wines from top South African vineyards in a perfectly humidified environment.Southern Camp Standard RoomsSouthern Camp offers 10 standard rooms. These include 4 family rooms catering for a maximum of two children under 12 per family room. All our standard rooms are equipped with an en-suite bathroom with shower only. Safe boxes and Coffee & Tea making facilities are standard in all rooms. The insect screens and air-conditioning will make the balmy summer evenings just so much more enjoyable.Southern Camp Suites (pictured below)Southern Camp also offers 15 Luxury Suites. En-suite and fully equipped with shower and baths, air-conditioning and a mini-bar fridge as a standard commodity. Take a relaxing bath and stare out the big wooden frame window, keeping an eye on the magnificently coloured birds just outside your suite or sit on your patio wile having your early morning coffee and feel the excitement build as you prepare for an exhilarating safari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Kapama Southern Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapama Southern Camp Hotel Kapama Private Game Reserve
Kapama Southern Camp Kapama Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kapama Southern Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.