We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Memories” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kapama Buffalo Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Save
You added Kapama Buffalo Camp to your Saves list
R40, Kapama Private Game Reserve, | Kruger Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Gold Coast, Qld, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Magical Memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed at the Buffolo Camp for 4 nights just after Easter. From the warm welcome by guide Jeffrey who was waiting for us at the aiport, to our sad departure again with Jeffrey, our stay was absolutely delightful. This was our first African Safari and it delivered in every sense. The food was great and plentiful, the tents comfortable, the staff attentive and considerate. But my BIG credit has to goes to our guide Jeffrey. Without his patience, experience and humour (he pulled my leg unmercifully) I'm sure we wouldn't have seen such a large number of animals, learned so much and laughed so much while doing it. His company at dinner each night was a huge plus. What more can I say....magical memoreies.

Room Tip: We stayed in Leopard tent which was convenient to everything. There are only 10 tents and all are g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    22
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
117
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

This camp is ridiculously nice! The rooms you stay in are technically tents but they're small buildings on stilts...think the huts in the ocean in Bali, etc. These tents have the most comfortable beds in Africa (but Americans still will find it a long way from a Denver Mattress) and a soaking tub in the room to get rid of the grime of the game drives.

The shaded decks off of your room that overlook the riverbed are perfect for napping and checking out wildlife. There is also a Nespresso machine!!!! In the bush!!!

We went in mid March and it was about 30 Celsius (90-ish Fahrenheit) during the day. I did not buy safari gear and instead wore jeans, a cameo, lightweight cardigan and loafers that were headed for the trash (you only get out of the truck to have a drink or snack so hiking boots are not necessary) on the evening drive. In the a.m. I wore the same but with a sweatshirt instead. The dinners and lunches I was fine with a cotton sundress and flip flops.

This camp does not cram you onto the trucks with 15 of your closest friends but instead makes smaller groups for a better experience.

Saw more animals than I thought possible and the staff were more than accommodating, Loved it!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, WI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I was traveling with a group of 20 people from Wisconsin, USA, and we had no idea what to expect when arriving in South Africa. Kapama Buffalo Camp took our breath away. We were only there for a total of three nights, but I wish we had spent our entire trip there! The service and food were both excellent. The chef created made-to-order menu items for us three times a day (four courses each!) plus we enjoyed a light breakfast before the game drives and high tea with snacks in the afternoon at the camp. While on game drives in the morning they provided us with coffee, tea, hot chocolate and snacks and in the evening they offered us wine, beer or other beverages with more snacks! We never felt hungry while staying here, but couldn't' pass up any food since it was so delicious!

The room accommodations, "tents," were the most luxurious rooms I have ever seen - with a view of the Game Preserve right out the window (and from the shower!). The rooms were clean, but a bit of an ant problem (given that they're tents in the middle of a game preserve, I'm not sure how they could avoid it, so it didn't really bother us).

Our twice a day game drives allowed us to see ALL FIVE of the big five as well as hundreds of other animals throughout our stay - our Ranger (Joe) and Tracker (Foster) were immensely knowledgeable and made our trips fun and informational. They did everything they could to help us see as many animals as possible. We had incredible weather while we were there with rain only one evening, but the staff did everything they could to make sure we were comfortable. I was thrilled with our stay at Kapama and hope one day to return! I highly recommend to anyone visiting South Africa.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lion Tent which was centrally located within the camp with easy access to all ameni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We're a couple from Sydney Australia who honeymooned at Buffalo Camp for three nights in late January 2014.

This place is terrific and was much more than we had expected!

The 'tents' don't feel like tents at all - just beautiful inside. Only downside (unavoidable) is monkeys on the roof making noise at night.

The food is very impressive and there's plenty of choice too. The service was very good - we particularly liked Sandy and Jabu.

Our game drives were great. Colin is very knowledgeable and likeable. What a gentlemen is Herbert! We saw all the animals we wanted to except for a leopard.

The Camp is great value for money. We would recommend it to anyone.

Tim and Nikki James

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This luxury safari camp was the highlight of our trip to South Africa. Fantastic tent accommodation, great service, wonderful food, and twice daily game drives with terrific ranger and tracker (Big Al and Benson) who made sure we had the ultimate safari experience. We loved this place and everything about it. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We decided to travel to Kapama Buffalo Camp to celebrate a special occasion. We had the most amazing weekend there and cannot fault them on anything. The service was friendly, courteous and still very professional. The staff were simply brilliant. The game experience was among the best I have experienced and we have been visiting various game parks for over twenty years. The reserve is expertly managed as can be witnessed in the state of the roads, the condition of the animals, the professional conduct of the rangers and even the condition and quality of the game vehicles. The accommodation is top notch with careful thought going into furnishings, guest facilities and amenities. Tidiness and cleanliness of the camp is really noticeable. The food and beverage was excellent with delicious choice of menu and the presentation just as good. The front of house staff ( Abel and Jabu) and our ranger and tracker ( Collen and Herbert) deserve a special mention as no matter how nice the surroundings, it is the staff that make the experience. We can only highly recommend Buffalo Lodge as a very affordable and special destination, on a par with many "exclusive" lodges. We will definitely be back as we have found a truly great experience destination

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Words cannnot even begin to explain how wonderful the 4 nights at Kapama Buffalo Camp were. I was there in late November. Everything was fantastic - the 'tent', the staff, the food - everything. I learned so much from Joe and Foster on the game drives. They did everything possible to make sure each one was memorable and we were able to spot the Big 5 in the first 2 days. Because the camp is small, we received very personal attention and the vehicles never had more than 6 people. I just cannot say enough about the entire experience. It was the highlight of my 3 weeks in southern Africa. I smile everytime I share videos and photos with friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kapama Buffalo Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapama Buffalo Camp

Address: R40, Kapama Private Game Reserve, | Kruger Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Kapama Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a traditional African safari camp, Kapama Buffalo Camp offers a unique and intimate experience in the African bush. It is ideal for discovering big game Africa in true safari tented style without compromising on comfort.Ten luxury newly build canvas tents, each sleeping two, are set on wooden decks built on stilts over a steep-sided riverbank. Wooden walkways interconnect the rooms, which are all in the upper reaches of tall riverine trees. The river below rarely flows and antelopes are seen daily walking along the sandy riverbed. Each tented room has all the usual comforts of electricity, en-suite bathroom, safe, writing table, wardrobe, low impact climate control, mini-bar and tea/coffee facilities.The communal areas of Buffalo Camp are on the riverbank, where gardens of succulent aloes and euphorbia are tended around the thatched bar, dining room, pool terrace and campfire. But the thick African bush is just a glance away, inhabited by animals like lion, hyena and jackal whose calls can be heard in the dead of night. Lanterns, rather than electric lights, glow at night under the trees, creating a special intimate ambience particular to Buffalo Camp.With a maximum of 20 guests at Buffalo Camp, special attention is paid to personal service and the staff become like friends. Kapama Buffalo Camp is a truly authentic way to experience the African bush. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kapama Buffalo Camp Hotel Kapama Private Game Reserve
Kapama Buffalo Camp Kapama Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kapama Buffalo Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.