We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kapama Buffalo Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Save Saved
You added Kapama Buffalo Camp to your Saves list
R40, Kapama Private Game Reserve, | Kruger Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We came here for our honeymoon and were not disappointed! The staff was very accommodating and even left a bottle of bubbly for us to enjoy in our 'tent'. The safari rides were absolutely incredible and our ranger & tracker very knowledgeable of the land and the animals. This is definitely a trip of a lifetime & I would recommend Kapama Buffalo Camp to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    22
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
107
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Spent 2 nights in Buffalo Camp and 1 night in Southern Camp in Dec 2012

Overall, the key difference between the two was that the former is more for couples (also more pricey, because of more fancy accommodation and more fancy food) while the latter caters more to families.

What I really liked about Buffalo Camp was our accommodation. We stayed in a "tent" but it was really a fully equipped hotel room, except that the walls and the roof are made of canvas instead of concrete. You feel like you're outdoors when the wind hits the canvas, but at the same time these are extremely luxurious and comfortable settings.

Food was also amazing, both in terms of quantity and quality -- we were fed multiple times a day, and our waistlines suffered.

But what you travel to Kruger for is the safari experience. In that respect, we were not disappointed. Top marks to Collen our ranger and Foster our tracker for their dedication to helping us have as many experiences with the animals as possible, often heading out for more than our designated 3-hour game drive. We appreciated Collen's company and sharing at dinner as well.

All in all, an unforgettable experience with Kapama =)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had a great time at Kapama. The accomodation was great, the food was wonderful. The staff was wonderful, we had an excellent guide, who went out of his way to look for a leopard. All in all a great experience, would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

A great resort! Top shelf staff, food, safari rides and location. We had a great vacation with no hesitation to refer anyone to spend time here. We spent 5 nights and had a great time. Geoffrey was our guide and went out of his way to allow us to see a leopard with a fresh kill in a tree as well as a cheetah will a impala kill

Room Tip: Any of the 10 tents would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We spent 3 days here in November and had a fabulous time. 2 game drives a day -early morning and late afternoon and we saw many, many animals- many close sightings of 4 of the Big 5 and countless other animals. We had the great luck to have Big Al as our ranger and Benson as our tracker. They were wonderful. Al obviously had a real interest in the land and the animals and this made for great explanations and interesting detail on all the animals and birds that we saw! Benson seemed supernatural at finding animals. They fed us 5 times a day and the food was generally excellent, and the accomodation was lovely cottages/tents on stilts jutting out over the game preserve. We sat on our decks and watched animals wander below us. We went on to Mala Mala game preserve for 2 days after this and did not see a tenth of the animals, though we did see the elusive leopard there. Can't say enough about how pleased we were with Kapama Buffalo Camp. Claire was great as well for helping out with any needs whatsoever. Would highly recommend it.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Kapama. From the pick up to drop off at Hoedspruit (across the street, literally) we were thrilled. These folks had thought of all the extras.

We went at a very cold snap, with temps at -1 in the morning. Layer up in July. The staff had hot water bottles waiting for us for each morning drive, and fleeces to keep the wind off. Our driver was knowledgeable and legitimately cared about us having a great experience. The viewing was very private and considerate of the animals, allowing only 1-2 vehicles when a good spot was made. No random tourists. We were right in the middle of a herd of elephants, we watched lions eating (no kill this time), and managed to find a leopard. We got the african buffalo and rhinos as well. We took a walking tour to learn more (beware- if your guide looks at lots of stool, then handles edible leaves and you eat it, you may have the runs the next day). Managed to come face to face with a rhino, but felt very safe with our capable guide. The meals were all well portioned and tasty. Had a nice supper on the last night out in the big fire pit area, with a huge spread. I thought I did a job of raiding the bar also, but my tab was surprisingly small!

The tents were warm and spacious. Again we found hot water bottles at night to warm our feet. Shower was hot. Views of the wildlife were great. I think there was a jacuzzi tub too! Couldn't believe the luxury in the heart of wilderness.

This was a fantastic 2 days. Should have spent one more to take some time to ride the elephants, but if you're strapped for time 2 was enough. Hope to go again some day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roeselare, Belgium
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

- we were welcomed in very nice and personal way by Melanie and Lizel
- magnificent environment to have a drink and lunch
- the rooms are tents, but: huge, safe, clean, comfortable: watch my pics! I never stay / sleep in a tent but in one like these I'll sleep every day!
- lunch was nice, but not the rest of the hotel's standards
- afternoon safari: great guides ( Collen and Foster ) and the big 5!
- dinner: nice food ( but less than we expected from a place like this ) I'm convinced they can serve more than stew and chicken.
- good beds
- bathroom with shower and bath with view on the trees
- morning safariwas great with a stop for a cup of coffee and a biscuit ( African style: hard to chew )
- breakfast: perfect

My best 24 hours in SA! I'll be back and will recommend this to everybody who plans to visit SA!
Not cheap, but worth every cent!

Room Tip: we had 4 different tents, each one was beautiful, clean, luxurious as the other!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kapama Buffalo Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapama Buffalo Camp

Address: R40, Kapama Private Game Reserve, | Kruger Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Kapama Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a traditional African safari camp, Kapama Buffalo Camp offers a unique and intimate experience in the African bush. It is ideal for discovering big game Africa in true safari tented style without compromising on comfort.Ten luxury newly build canvas tents, each sleeping two, are set on wooden decks built on stilts over a steep-sided riverbank. Wooden walkways interconnect the rooms, which are all in the upper reaches of tall riverine trees. The river below rarely flows and antelopes are seen daily walking along the sandy riverbed. Each tented room has all the usual comforts of electricity, en-suite bathroom, safe, writing table, wardrobe, low impact climate control, mini-bar and tea/coffee facilities.The communal areas of Buffalo Camp are on the riverbank, where gardens of succulent aloes and euphorbia are tended around the thatched bar, dining room, pool terrace and campfire. But the thick African bush is just a glance away, inhabited by animals like lion, hyena and jackal whose calls can be heard in the dead of night. Lanterns, rather than electric lights, glow at night under the trees, creating a special intimate ambience particular to Buffalo Camp.With a maximum of 20 guests at Buffalo Camp, special attention is paid to personal service and the staff become like friends. Kapama Buffalo Camp is a truly authentic way to experience the African bush. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kapama Buffalo Camp Hotel Kapama Private Game Reserve
Kapama Buffalo Camp Kapama Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kapama Buffalo Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.