We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kapama River Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kapama River Lodge
Save Saved
You added Kapama River Lodge to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R40, Kapama Private Game Reserve, | Kruger Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa   |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Caracas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed back in 2010.

The hotel staff, location, structure, amenities were fabulous.

The morning and night trips to watch the wildlife are very well organized, competent and serious people, definitely a must do if you want to observe wildlife and be very well treated.

We will comeback for sure.

5/5

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    104
    16
    1
    2
See reviews for
140
362
17
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

A perfect getaway/escape from the hard world life to the real life......lots to learn (from the animals and the game rangers), lots to relax & reflect (under the beautiful open skies) and lots to eat (great food on offer by the hospitable staff)........you would like to increase the length of your stay.

Saw the lions eating their kill, the rhino baby suckling, playful elephants, and many other animals in their elements. (Thanks to the efforts by Ranger Clement n Lot).

A must experiennce activity !

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My husband and I celebrated our fifth anniversary in July 2014 at the Lodge. This is a Private Game Reserve just outside the Kruger area. Very close to the Hoedspruit Airport (literally the entrance gate to Kapama Reserve is right outside the Airport). Thomas Ndobe, the Assistant Manager met with us personally upon our arrival to introduce himself and made us feel warm. We stayed at the spa suite room for 5 days which was some distance away from the reception and overlooked the open reserve where we saw giraffes, impalas and nyala. We had booked private game drives at an additional cost. Our ranger, Andries, was knowledgeable and flexible with timings. The weather played havoc in our drives, being very chilly during the morning and late evening drives. thankfully, the curio store had some warm clothing. Our drives were enjoyable though we missed out on a leopard sighting, hopefully next time. Nuisance, on a few occasions caused by the other rangers ruined some of our sightings - rules like only 2 cars per sighting, lining up for sighting is quite annoying. The extra activities like visiting the endangered species project and elephant experience was good and enjoyable. Overall a great time spent.

Room Tip: Spa Suite rooms are worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed at Kapama River Lodge from the 13 to 16 July 2014 as a family of four and it is our first experience, as South Africans, of a 5 star luxury game lodge. Yes it is pricey, but the review is about whether it was value for money, and it this case it was. The service was impeccable, you always felt welcome, nothing you required was too much to ask and in most cases someone came to offer rather that having to ask. The rooms were clean and very well presented. The food was tasty as expected from an establishment of this rating. Everything was well organised...

And perhaps this is its only downfall - they cater mostly for foreign visitors who have a few days to get in the main (big 5) game views. Kapama does not disappoint on achieving this but it is a well executed plan for it to happen. Unfortunately the game viewing does get a bit "canned" in getting the big 5 ticked off the list with little attention to the other, perhaps smaller, wonders that South African nature and wildlife has to offer. I got the feeling that the game guides would not hit all the big 5 in one day so that you have something to look forward to on the next day but ensured you got them all in your stay and that it was a rush from one key viewing to the next.

I would recommend Kapama as a wonderful experience and if you have a short time to knock off the big 5 - this is it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Waited years to come to Africa and Kapama River Lodge made it worth the wait. You might think it is a bit pricey until you see this place, plus all meals (which are pretty darn good) and 2 safaris a day are included then it becomes a great deal. Angie and Alfie (our ranger and tracker) just but it over the top with their warmth and hospitality but the whole staff is great but their love of their jobs shows!!!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama, United States
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The rooms were excellent. The dining area and food were top notch. They had evening entertainment every night (which was basically just the kitchen and cleaning staff singing... but still nice)
The 'camp' is surrounded by electrical fencing (nothing that you can see from rooms) so you are very safe. There are several non-aggressive species living within the fencing though which is a very enjoyable experience. We had a porcupine join us for dinner one night...
You're guides are basically assigned to these camps so you'll have the same one's your entire stay. All of the people we encountered were incredibly courteous, knowledgeable and professional in everything they did. Just a perfect experience.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms at this location within the park are the same. I would, however, suggest you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We only had one night at Kapama River Lodge but what an experience. After 4 days in Kruger (staying in great but basic accommodation - including a tent) this was a real treat. On our arrival the staff made us feel so very welcome. Pieter our game driver guide was brilliant and really knew a lot about the bush and animals. He made the night drive experience a great one.

Our room was brilliant. We stayed in a spa suite and it really was very luxurious. Laying in the bath looking out into the bush was brilliant, even when the kudu wandered by and decided to stop for a good look!!! The meals were excellent too. You certainly do not go hungry.

We opted to do the elephant safari instead of the morning game drive. it was absolutely the best thing. If you get the opportunity, I highly suggest you do it.

I would recommend a stay at Kapama Lodge to anyone. Thank you everyone for making our stay a great one.

Room Tip: Spa suites were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kapama River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapama River Lodge

Address: R40, Kapama Private Game Reserve, | Kruger Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Kapama Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kapama River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kapama River Lodge is situated within Kapama Game Reserve, and presents the perfect blend between luxurious safari accommodation and a generous bed capacity of 64 bedrooms. Although large, it is so stylish and roomy and beautifully positioned along a dry riverbed, that guests fall in love with it.Each spacious room at Kapama River Lodge features a full en-suite bathroom and terrace with uninterrupted views into the leafy-green Big 5 game reserve. The central guest entertainment areas include a large rim-flow swimming pool with sun umbrellas and recliners for lazy afternoons. The long L-shaped relaxation lounge and bar under a double-volume thatch, curves around the pool and on either side is a huge double-sided fireplace creating a wondrous open-plan yet cosy atmosphere. The Rhino Boma dining area with tables arranged under a low thatch in a horseshoe curve, has a central open space where a roaring outdoor fire gives a glow to evening meals. Buffet-style meals introduce African flavours with Pan African dishes using fresh local ingredients and specialist dishes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kapama River Hotel Kapama Private Game Reserve
Kapama River Lodge Kapama Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kapama River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.