We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like watching the Lion King play live!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kapama River Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kapama River Lodge
Save
You added Kapama River Lodge to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R40, Kapama Private Game Reserve, | Kruger Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa   |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Felt like watching the Lion King play live!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

What a wonderful place ! Beautiful South Africa !
We were traveling in South Africa with my husband for our honeymoon in May.
The Kapama River Lodge was nearly the end of the trip, and it was amazing !
When we arrived, 4 people came to us to give us a warm welcom with fresh and warm towels to wash our hand and a delicious fruit juice. They took care of our luggage and then as we arrived just on time for the afternoon/night safari, we directly were introduiced to our ranger Freedom and the tracker Ringo and to the 2 other couples which were going to be our team for our stay at Kapama River Lodge.

At Kapama River Lodge :
You get the chance to go on safaris twice a day : morning (from 6AM to 9AM and afternoon/evening from 5PM to 7PM).
We said to Freedom we wished we could see the Big Five and of course as much wildlife as we could and he did his best with Ringo to show us the best of the reserve.
We got introduice to several prides of lions, elephants, buffalos, rhinos, giraffes, beautiful birds, warthogs, zebras, a leopard, a hippo, wildbeest and so on. The best (even if really sad was the lion eating a baby giraffe)
Sometimes we stoped in the middle of the savannah to get a tea of a drink and some snacks.

You always have your meals with your team including your ranger and tracker which is really interesting as we can ask many questions about the african wildlife.
The food is delicious, you eat a lot of specialities such as warthog, ostriches ..
There is also a nice bar to drink good cocktails.
The rooms are really clean,spacious and nicely decorated.
In the morning we got the chance to brush our teeth while looking at a pride of giraffes eating just in front of our windows.
Be careful of the vervet monkeys, they are really cute but try to steal your food ;-)
We also went to one of the free activies : the walk safari which is really interesting. You learn how to recognise foot prints, animals behaviors and it's a bit frightening to walk alone in their place and you have to respect it.
We also got one massage of 1H, it was so relaxing.

I could write much more about our stay at Kapama but I should stop .
All the staff were really nice. Thanks again for this life experience !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    109
    20
    1
    2
See reviews for
146
393
18
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Osprey, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Johann, the manager; Ralph, the restaurant attendant; Freedom, the ranger; Ringo, the tracker;
Marsha, the massage therapist; and our wonderful, happy housekeeper all knew our names and each understood how to make a Kapama guest feel important and special. Upon five minutes of our arrival, Johann spent 30 minutes with the two of us explaining the daily routine which begins with a 5:00 a.m. wake-up call. He arranged a change in our flight arrangements. He checked on us regularly throughout our four day stay. Ralph oversaw the three meals a day, plus 5:30 coffee and 4:00 p.m. tea, delicious bountiful selections from chicken and trout to warthog and crocodile- something for every palate. I wish Freedom had been my zoology teacher, I learned so much about the wildlife of Africa. He and Ringo introduced us to several prides of lion, a herd of 20 elephants, a leopard, cheetah, jackal, buffalo, rhino, hippo, mongoose, owl and on and on. Marsha's massage, given in a room with the back wall entirely open to the giraffe and kudu and monkeys, was perfect. To my surprise, I was happy and excited to rise with the birds of the bush. This gorgeous and splendidly run lodge was part of a package from "Go Touch Down" tours. Bravo for their selection of Kapama.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the stairs will be better for a nap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Kapama River Lodge offers very good value for money. The staff are all very friendly and helpful and the game drives were really worthwhile and offered excellent game sightings. I can definately recommend this lodge to any travellers looking for a good value for money lodge to stay at, close to Hoedspruit- its proximity to the Eastgate Airport also makes this an easy break-away. Thank you to Mandy Clouston and the team for another great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The lodge is beautiful! The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable. Our balcony faced out the back of the lodge, we could see giraffes, warthogs and tons of baboons! Nyalas and kudu strolled around the grounds freely. Our guide and tracker were fantastic, they were able to find just about all the animals we wanted to see. we only missed the jaguar and hyenas.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southaven, Mississippi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at the south lodge of the Kapama River Lodge and was simply amazing! The service was top shelf as if you were at the Ritz-Carlton. The rangers were experts on all the animals in the park and knew exactly where to find them and set us up for the most amazing photo opportunities!! The food was incredible and plentiful! A once in a lifetime experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niteroi, RJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Wonderful place, amazing staff, really great food, and please do at least two safaris! Its a peaceful place, great to relax by the pool after the safari. You must visit the Spa just for the view. Kruger Park is the best place in South Africa for those who enjoy the safari adventure!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were staying for 2 nights in the lodge and enjoyed every moment! The safari was very good and there was a great diversity of animals. also, the activities between the safaris were great - the gym and pools were good, and the massage was great. the place itself was very beautiful and felt luxurious (although kept the safari natural feeling). our guide was great and presented great knowledge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kapama River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapama River Lodge

Address: R40, Kapama Private Game Reserve, | Kruger Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Kapama Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kapama River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kapama River Lodge is situated within Kapama Game Reserve, and presents the perfect blend between luxurious safari accommodation and a generous bed capacity of 64 bedrooms. Although large, it is so stylish and roomy and beautifully positioned along a dry riverbed, that guests fall in love with it.Each spacious room at Kapama River Lodge features a full en-suite bathroom and terrace with uninterrupted views into the leafy-green Big 5 game reserve. The central guest entertainment areas include a large rim-flow swimming pool with sun umbrellas and recliners for lazy afternoons. The long L-shaped relaxation lounge and bar under a double-volume thatch, curves around the pool and on either side is a huge double-sided fireplace creating a wondrous open-plan yet cosy atmosphere. The Rhino Boma dining area with tables arranged under a low thatch in a horseshoe curve, has a central open space where a roaring outdoor fire gives a glow to evening meals. Buffet-style meals introduce African flavours with Pan African dishes using fresh local ingredients and specialist dishes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kapama River Hotel Kapama Private Game Reserve
Kapama River Lodge Kapama Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kapama River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.