We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kapama River Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kapama River Lodge
Save
You added Kapama River Lodge to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R40, Kapama Private Game Reserve, | Kruger Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa   |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Close to perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I´ve recommended Kapama River Lodge to several friends who´ve asked me for tips on South Africa. I´ve been there in 2008 and still can´t forget my stay! The environment of the hotel is perfect for those who look for a safari experience, dinner outside was delicious and safari guides were knowlegeable and fun. The only drawback, that maybe extends to all private reserves, is occasionally being able to see the reserve´s fences, but that definitely has no significant impact on this wonderful experience!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    109
    19
    1
    2
See reviews for
145
389
18
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This was a magical place for us: a fabulous lodge with super rooms,great food and service and fantastic,knowledgeable rangers.The safaris were excellent and the animals tremendous.We were lucky enough to witness the "big five" sightings and what could better having a bath while watching the wild life pass by? Truly this is a "once in a lifetime" must!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigonish, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were a small group of six visiting in early November 2012. From the moment we were picked up by Jakes in his Safari Landrover at the airport, we experienced first rate service. The food and accomodations were fantastic. The condition of the bush and health of the animals and the quantity of wildlife we saw was out of this world. One day we saw 13 lions,another day we counted 16 elephants. The trees, birds and insects were just as amazing. Our guide was very knowledgable and shared stories at every turn in the road. It is very nice to see people working at jobs they are passionate about. I took over 1000 pictures during our 4 days and have stories for a lifetime...like don't stand up in a jeep when taking a picture of the lion king.This is a MUST do trip of a lifetime.

Room Tip: rooms on the second storey offer the best view of animals playing and eating early each morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This lodge is amazing! An extremely outdoor feel. Rooms are super great! clean and modern with bush views from the bathtub and balcony! loved every second. the food is fantastic! The service is wonderful they are extremely accommodating to all special diets including kosher needs. game drives are lots of fun with the passionate rangers at the lodge. the spa is INCREDIBLE! most beautiful atmosphere. very outdoors and safari like while staying modern and clean and super relaxing! loved it!!!!

Room Tip: ask for the luxury rooms....incredible! facing the bush!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed 2 nights and did 4 game drives. It was perfect! The hotel is very nice, clean (they clean the room twice a day), the food is great and everybody is so nice and polite all the time. Is really an experience to remember! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at the lodge with 4 of my friends, and i have been to different lodges in South Africa. This location is absolutely amazing! rooms are big and very clean. the spa is breathtaking and a relaxing paradise. The game drives were fantastic, rangers were very professional and fun at the same time. We saw all big 5 and many other animals. Food was amazing and the atmosphere was fantastic...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I brought my tour group here for a couple of nights so that we got to enjoy 3 game drives. I cannot begin to tell you how impressed we all were with not only the rooms, which were all Spa Rooms, but the reserve itself and how the passion of the guides comes through as they took us on our drives. All three of our guides were great and work with trackers in locating game as a team...it was wonderful. As one of our jeeps spotted something they would alert the others and we sometimes met all together for tea or drinks depending on the time of day. Everyone came out of this experience with such wonderful things to say about the place.

The game drives themselves were just out of this world. To be that close to wild animals was thrilling, a bit scary and very humbling but our guides know them very well and respect them and do their best to make sure we know the rules of riding in the jeep.

Our rooms were awesome, so quiet and restful. At night you could not hear a sound and could see every star in the sky. Sitting on my balcony with just the land and sky to look at was surreal. Such peace. Huge big bathrooms with separate showers and big deep tubs that you could soak in and look outside and see nothing but birds. A huge bed to sleep in that when you woke up you were rested and ready to discover all over again. The ladies who cared for our rooms did so with huge smiles and knew our names!

Some of my group went to the spa and loved it. The food was excellent. No one wanted to leave the resort. I'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kapama River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapama River Lodge

Address: R40, Kapama Private Game Reserve, | Kruger Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Kapama Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kapama River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kapama River Lodge is situated within Kapama Game Reserve, and presents the perfect blend between luxurious safari accommodation and a generous bed capacity of 64 bedrooms. Although large, it is so stylish and roomy and beautifully positioned along a dry riverbed, that guests fall in love with it.Each spacious room at Kapama River Lodge features a full en-suite bathroom and terrace with uninterrupted views into the leafy-green Big 5 game reserve. The central guest entertainment areas include a large rim-flow swimming pool with sun umbrellas and recliners for lazy afternoons. The long L-shaped relaxation lounge and bar under a double-volume thatch, curves around the pool and on either side is a huge double-sided fireplace creating a wondrous open-plan yet cosy atmosphere. The Rhino Boma dining area with tables arranged under a low thatch in a horseshoe curve, has a central open space where a roaring outdoor fire gives a glow to evening meals. Buffet-style meals introduce African flavours with Pan African dishes using fresh local ingredients and specialist dishes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kapama River Hotel Kapama Private Game Reserve
Kapama River Lodge Kapama Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kapama River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.