We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kapama River Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kapama River Lodge to your Saves list
Kapama River Lodge
R40, Kapama Private Game Reserve, | Kruger Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa   |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at the lodge with 4 of my friends, and i have been to different lodges in South Africa. This location is absolutely amazing! rooms are big and very clean. the spa is breathtaking and a relaxing paradise. The game drives were fantastic, rangers were very professional and fun at the same time. We saw all big 5 and many other animals. Food was amazing and the atmosphere was fantastic...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    127
    20
    2
    3
See reviews for
189
471
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
137 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I brought my tour group here for a couple of nights so that we got to enjoy 3 game drives. I cannot begin to tell you how impressed we all were with not only the rooms, which were all Spa Rooms, but the reserve itself and how the passion of the guides comes through as they took us on our drives. All three of our guides were great and work with trackers in locating game as a team...it was wonderful. As one of our jeeps spotted something they would alert the others and we sometimes met all together for tea or drinks depending on the time of day. Everyone came out of this experience with such wonderful things to say about the place.

The game drives themselves were just out of this world. To be that close to wild animals was thrilling, a bit scary and very humbling but our guides know them very well and respect them and do their best to make sure we know the rules of riding in the jeep.

Our rooms were awesome, so quiet and restful. At night you could not hear a sound and could see every star in the sky. Sitting on my balcony with just the land and sky to look at was surreal. Such peace. Huge big bathrooms with separate showers and big deep tubs that you could soak in and look outside and see nothing but birds. A huge bed to sleep in that when you woke up you were rested and ready to discover all over again. The ladies who cared for our rooms did so with huge smiles and knew our names!

Some of my group went to the spa and loved it. The food was excellent. No one wanted to leave the resort. I'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

A huge thank you to all the staff at Kapama River Lodge who made our stay absolutely tremendous! The unexpected anniversary message at the buffet on Sunday evening was a real surprise & a very special touch. Everyone went out of their way to make us welcome, from our waiter Vusi who was so attentive, friendly & chatty, Janco & Emmanuel who made our game drives very interesting & exhilerating, to Katharina who serviced our room (Spa Suite) & was also such a special, kind & friendly lady. A fantastic stay & although this is our third time at Kapama since 2009 (Buffalo Camp x 1 & River Lodge x 2), we enjoyed our stay so much this time round that we have decided to make it an annual visit from now on! A very special place that is extremely well run!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Spa Suites which are set a little further away from the main lodge & therefore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed at the River Lodge for one night after two nights at the nearby Southern Camp. The decor of the lodge and rooms were great and the views are beautiful. It's a bit noisy though. I stayed in the standard rooms and I can hear everything that goes on in the corridor and room above me.

The safari experience was great. Got to see the Big Five, cheetahs, zebras, impalas, you name it! Equally fascinating were the eagles, vultures, kingfishers and the best one of them all is the 'Go Away' bird!

The staff were very friendly and helpful and their buffet was great.

My only regret is that I didn't try out the spa. It looks absolutely gorgeous and it'll be a sin not to experience it.

Room Tip: Aim for the suites if you want total peace and quiet. The rooms tend to be noisy and you can hear wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My future husband and I just got back from a trip here, we stayed 4 nights at the River lodge and had a great time. The room was lovely, with a great stylish bathroom, balcony and amazing views of the reserve from our bath.
The resort was lovely and included a gorgeous spa and great outdoor eating areas. We would highly recommend the food, service and spa. We had a great driver called Clive and a great spotter called Freddy who took us for great game drives. We were sad to leave.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

What I loved with this lodge is its spa; it was brilliant, relaxing and peaceful. The food was plentiful and delicious. We found the staff to be very friendly and very attentive. Our ranger and tracker were great company. Very skilled and knowledgable. we were so lucky to see so many animals. The Outreach program for Cheetahs was an eye opener. I recommend future visitors be prepared for an adventure of a lifetime. Thanks a lot to everyone at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Though it is not a small private game lodge but a mid sized hotel for 100 people, we had a luxury stay and great guided safaris for the money. We saw the big five and a cheetah within our two day stay thanks to John, our super local guide. Food was buffet but good. Rooms were as elegant as one might expect for the price.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapama Private Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
Imbali Safari Lodge
Imbali Safari Lodge
#7 of 13 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
11.5 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 2 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Pondoro Game Lodge
Pondoro Game Lodge
#3 of 14 in Balule Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 508 reviews
17.7 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#1 of 14 in Balule Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 785 reviews
8.9 mi away
Thornybush Game Lodge
Thornybush Game Lodge
#6 of 11 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapama River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapama River Lodge

Address: R40, Kapama Private Game Reserve, | Kruger Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Kapama Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kapama River Lodge is situated within Kapama Game Reserve, and presents the perfect blend between luxurious safari accommodation and a generous bed capacity of 64 bedrooms. Although large, it is so stylish, roomy and beautifully positioned along a dry riverbed, that guests fall in love with it. Each spacious room at Kapama River Lodge features a full en-suite bathroom and terrace with uninterrupted views into the leafy-green Big 5 game reserve. The central guest entertainment areas include a large rim-flow swimming pool with sun umbrellas and recliners for lazy afternoons. The long L-shaped relaxation lounge and bar under a double-volume thatch, curves around the pool and on either side is a huge double-sided fireplace creating a wondrous open-plan yet cosy atmosphere. The Rhino Boma dining area with tables arranged under a low thatch in a horseshoe curve, has a central open space where a roaring outdoor fire gives a glow to evening meals. Buffet-style meals introduce African flavours with Pan African dishes using fresh local ingredients and specialist dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Kapama River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapama River Hotel Kapama Private Game Reserve
Kapama River Lodge Kapama Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kapama River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.