We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Lodge, Exceptional Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kapama River Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kapama River Lodge to your Saves list
Kapama River Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | R40, Kapama Private Game Reserve, Kruger Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lodge, Exceptional Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

A huge thank you to all the staff at Kapama River Lodge who made our stay absolutely tremendous! The unexpected anniversary message at the buffet on Sunday evening was a real surprise & a very special touch. Everyone went out of their way to make us welcome, from our waiter Vusi who was so attentive, friendly & chatty, Janco & Emmanuel who made our game drives very interesting & exhilerating, to Katharina who serviced our room (Spa Suite) & was also such a special, kind & friendly lady. A fantastic stay & although this is our third time at Kapama since 2009 (Buffalo Camp x 1 & River Lodge x 2), we enjoyed our stay so much this time round that we have decided to make it an annual visit from now on! A very special place that is extremely well run!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Spa Suites which are set a little further away from the main lodge & therefore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rozzie1Joburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed at the River Lodge for one night after two nights at the nearby Southern Camp. The decor of the lodge and rooms were great and the views are beautiful. It's a bit noisy though. I stayed in the standard rooms and I can hear everything that goes on in the corridor and room above me.

The safari experience was great. Got to see the Big Five, cheetahs, zebras, impalas, you name it! Equally fascinating were the eagles, vultures, kingfishers and the best one of them all is the 'Go Away' bird!

The staff were very friendly and helpful and their buffet was great.

My only regret is that I didn't try out the spa. It looks absolutely gorgeous and it'll be a sin not to experience it.

Room Tip: Aim for the suites if you want total peace and quiet. The rooms tend to be noisy and you can hear wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nada80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My future husband and I just got back from a trip here, we stayed 4 nights at the River lodge and had a great time. The room was lovely, with a great stylish bathroom, balcony and amazing views of the reserve from our bath.
The resort was lovely and included a gorgeous spa and great outdoor eating areas. We would highly recommend the food, service and spa. We had a great driver called Clive and a great spotter called Freddy who took us for great game drives. We were sad to leave.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CazCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

What I loved with this lodge is its spa; it was brilliant, relaxing and peaceful. The food was plentiful and delicious. We found the staff to be very friendly and very attentive. Our ranger and tracker were great company. Very skilled and knowledgable. we were so lucky to see so many animals. The Outreach program for Cheetahs was an eye opener. I recommend future visitors be prepared for an adventure of a lifetime. Thanks a lot to everyone at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DVDwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Though it is not a small private game lodge but a mid sized hotel for 100 people, we had a luxury stay and great guided safaris for the money. We saw the big five and a cheetah within our two day stay thanks to John, our super local guide. Food was buffet but good. Rooms were as elegant as one might expect for the price.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kira_Oliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed two nights at this fabulous lodge in August 2012. Staff was great, guides, trackers got us our big five! Very close looks at lions cheetah and leopard. The elephants are so much fun! Very clean and organized rooms with a back porch that looks out on the reserve. Wish we could have stayed longer. Buffet was good, my 17 yr old niece had no complaints. No bugs this time of year. Vehicles were good on the dirt roads and off road looking for the leopard. We saw lions eating a kill. A couple of our group did the elephant ride which was fun because the babies come along, one was chasing a warthog! Extra$$$ but niece wanted to do it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank naturenutNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great Lodge + great staff and guides!!!!
We had only good moments at Kapama, the safari is full of surprises... The rangers really know what they are doing, they presented the Big Five... very close to the animals...
I strongly recommend Kapama RIver Lodge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cris_yoshioka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.4 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 333 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
4.0 mi away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.0 mi away
Imbali Safari Lodge
Imbali Safari Lodge
#80 of 155 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#29 of 155 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapama River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapama River Lodge

Address: | R40, Kapama Private Game Reserve, Kruger Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Kapama Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Kapama River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kapama River Lodge is situated within Kapama Game Reserve, and presents the perfect blend between luxurious safari accommodation and a generous bed capacity of 64 bedrooms. Although large, it is so stylish, roomy and beautifully positioned along a dry riverbed, that guests fall in love with it. Each spacious room at Kapama River Lodge features a full en-suite bathroom and terrace with uninterrupted views into the leafy-green Big 5 game reserve. The central guest entertainment areas include a large rim-flow swimming pool with sun umbrellas and recliners for lazy afternoons. The long L-shaped relaxation lounge and bar under a double-volume thatch, curves around the pool and on either side is a huge double-sided fireplace creating a wondrous open-plan yet cosy atmosphere. The Rhino Boma dining area with tables arranged under a low thatch in a horseshoe curve, has a central open space where a roaring outdoor fire gives a glow to evening meals. Buffet-style meals introduce African flavours with Pan African dishes using fresh local ingredients and specialist dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kapama River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapama River Hotel Kapama Private Game Reserve
Kapama River Lodge Kapama Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing