We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible safari and beautiful resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kapama River Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kapama River Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R40, Kapama Private Game Reserve, | Kruger Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa   |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Incredible safari and beautiful resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

My husband and I spent 1 week at the River Lodge celebrating my 40th birthday. We stayed in one of the spa suites and it was just perfect. Our room had 2 balconies with an extra sitting area. Every day we could watch giraffes walk past our room. Our guide was Rob and he and his tracker Magnum did an amazing job finding the Big 5 and more. I'd say that in most 24 hour periods we found the Big 5 every time. We were a little concerned after reading reviews about having dinner with our group every night (as we typically like to keep to ourselves), but we found it to be an unforgettable experience meeting with and talking to people from around the world.

The staff was as friendly and helpful as we have ever seen. Our waiter Andrew couldn't have been more attentive or pleasant. We went on a couple of bush walks with Ryan and that was great as well - very interesting to learn about all the plants and smaller animals as well as their habitats. Kapama and their team did a great job of not only finding the animals, but teaching you about them as well.

Thank you Kapama, Rob, Magnum, Ryan and Andrew for making our first African safari so perfect!

Room Tip: We were in room 120. It was the furthest room away from the main lodge, upstairs. Very quiet and pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    479
    88
    15
    1
    2
See reviews for
120
305
15
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

This property is beautiful and rustic with a lodge feel. The game drives were outstanding as MAGGIE was our guide. She was informative and very fun to be with duirng both the morning and afternoon game drives. I have given this resort a 4 out of 5. There are a few things I think they could do to improve the place. Without sounding like a travel snob, here are my thoughts.

1. Enlarge the on premise curio shop. ( I heard they are going to do this) It needs to be bigger, offer more items like safari shirts, pants, hats, etc.
2. Offer larger sandal and robe sizes in the spa area. The spa area is beautiful, they just need a better selection of robes and sandals for "larger" American guests. A robe doesn't work well if you can't close it.
3. Offer a bar service, drinks, juices, lemonade, etc in the spa area. They have a great pool with giraffes within sight but they need to have a limited bar service available.

The staff was extremely helpful and these are things that would make the lodge more money and provide services guests want with a minimal amount of effort.

Thanks again MAGGIE for a great trip

Doug Eberhart
Bigdaddystraveladventures.blogspot.com

Room Tip: get one on the first floor as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Kapama River Lodge is situated on the Kapama Private Game Reserve just outside Hoedspruit Airport. The reserve includes 13.000 hectares with a great variety of birds and animals and
four different lodging facilities. We stayed for four days in a Spa Suite in the River Lodge in January 2011. Although the lodge hosted may guests (20 spa suites, etc.) we enjoyed our
stay very much. The interior designer did a great job. The lodge is efficiently organized.
Many open air Toyata's with excellent rangers and trackers will show all those people around.
But when finally the leopards were found, there was only one car at the scene. We rarely encountered another vehicle. We saw so many different birds, small animals, the big five too, girafs, impala's, jackals, warthogs, zebra's, etc. at close range. Our tracker, Petrus, has great skills to find all those animals. We had a great time. We certainly had value for money.

Room Tip: I think the suites on the higher floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, BA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Excellent room (standart).
Good food, specially dinner (lunch is average). Non-alcoholic drinks are not included, what I think is not polite, considering the rates.
Friendly staff.
Safaris are nice, but took a lot of time to find some animals and we havent seen leopards. Snacks and drinks during safari take too long and seems that they dont want you to see all animals in the same day to keep surprise factor for following safaris.

Room Tip: Try to get on the second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We had a wonderful visit to the lodge. All the meals were great and the lodge staff was top notch. They all went out of their way to make our visit enjoyable. The trackers and guides all were very knowledgeable. My only regret is that we did not get a chance to visit the spa because we traveled with a large group and the all the spots were taken. As some others have noted all drinks (even diet coke) were extra and I would have preferred to have these included in the cost. All in all it was a great experience!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

When we arrived and saw the entrance gates,we thought we was going into a prison,but when we arrived at the lodge everything changed.The lodge was beautiful,very elegant with wood sculptures,a fireplace,sofa's,everything african style.A gentleman recieved us with a welcome drink and explained about the game drives and what we could do during our permanace.In the morning the reception waked us at 5.00 o'clock in the morning for the morining game drive.Before going out we had a small breakfast with a big choice of cakes,biscuits,coffee,tea.it was wonderful,we saw all the animals in their habitat,it was very exciting. During the game drive we had a little snack in the middle of the savana.When we returned to the lodge we had breakfast,a big greakfast!!!! bacon,eggs,fruit,cereals,ham eccc...
In the afternoon we went to the SPA,the staff are very professional and they could recomend a massage for everybody.At three o'clock everything is prepared for the afternoon tea,and after a break at four o'clock we went out again for the evening game drive,we saw some lions having a drink at the lake.We was very happy because we saw all the big five and a lot of other animals.The dinner was at eight o' clock we had dinner under the stars in the boma with lanterns and a fire.The buffet was fantastic with excellent food.I can say at the Kapama was excellent,and everything was perfect.The staff is very helpful,professional and polite,they made our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Kapama River Lodge is wonderful lodge in South Africa. The safaris are great. The staff are "AAA". Food is good and became special after one bottle fo the excellent south african wine. I went there with my wife and my 7-years daughter. She loved the place. We saw the big five at the first day. I recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kapama River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapama River Lodge

Address: R40, Kapama Private Game Reserve, | Kruger Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Kapama Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kapama River Lodge 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kapama River Lodge is situated within Kapama Game Reserve, and presents the perfect blend between luxurious safari accommodation and a generous bed capacity of 64 bedrooms. Although large, it is so stylish and roomy and beautifully positioned along a dry riverbed, that guests fall in love with it.Each spacious room at Kapama River Lodge features a full en-suite bathroom and terrace with uninterrupted views into the leafy-green Big 5 game reserve. The central guest entertainment areas include a large rim-flow swimming pool with sun umbrellas and recliners for lazy afternoons. The long L-shaped relaxation lounge and bar under a double-volume thatch, curves around the pool and on either side is a huge double-sided fireplace creating a wondrous open-plan yet cosy atmosphere. The Rhino Boma dining area with tables arranged under a low thatch in a horseshoe curve, has a central open space where a roaring outdoor fire gives a glow to evening meals. Buffet-style meals introduce African flavours with Pan African dishes using fresh local ingredients and specialist dishes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kapama River Hotel Kapama Private Game Reserve
Kapama River Lodge Kapama Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kapama River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kapama River Lodge to your Saves list