We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience and very pleasant place to be!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   PO Box 862, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Brazilian in UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great experience and very pleasant place to be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

The Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge is an intimate lodge…. simple but very comfortable with a fantastic team. The owner Tony is a very nice person and the team is always smiling and caring for us. They love that place and the wildlife. Rangers and trackers are knowledgeable and friendly. We also had nice meals and very pleasant evenings. We had a wonderful time, enjoyed the game views and learned a lot! We certainly recommend it !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    18
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
47
89
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wimbledon england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

We based our trip around the availability here. Food the best we have eaten in Africa. rooms are simple but comfortable and very clean. Ian the ranger is the best we have ever had. All the staff are brilliant here. This is a great placve as the staff REALLY care and enjoy what they do. You will learn so much about the bush. Don't hesitate

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

Our recent stay was nothing short of remarkable. From the moment we arrived until our sad departure after only 3 days, I have nothing but fond memories. The rondavels were immaculately kept and furnished beautifully. Our game rides (although bitterly cold until the sun warmed things) were spectacular. Our guide Lucky and trackers Hamilton and Lucky did their utmost to find game for us and on several occasions we were out much longer than the expected 3 hours, hunting for more for us to see. Their knowledge of the bush and animal behaviours was truly amazing. Our hosts were absolutely charming, and the meals were superb.

We had the excellent fortune of watching amazing elephant behavious, some that even Lucky hadn't seen - his shrieks of laughter as the young bucks challenged a hippo made me realize we were seeing something unique. And his deft driving when we got charged by an angry matriarch helped us realize that one truly must respect nature at all times.

I hope to return when I am next in South Africa.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

Made to feel very welcome and part of the extended family from everyone involved. Game drives were very exciting, to be up so close and personal with these wild animals was nothing short of amazing. Rangers and trackers made if very interesting and entertaining for us, they were so very knowledgeable. The food was really really excellent, lots of it and served with smiles and good humuor. Sitting on the lawn having lunch and seeing Giraffes pass by was a sight to behold, not to mention warthogs playing on the path outside our bedroom. Liked it so much we stayed an extra night.. Would recommend this to all for a really unique experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

This was our first trip to the Kruger - and we can't wait to go back again. It was stunning! Mohlabetsi was amazing - and I am convinced that this is the only way to do this kind of holiday. The ranger and tracker who took us out every day were knowledgable, friendly and enthusiastic. They made sure we saw all the animals up close and personal without interferring with them. We were even lucky enough to see a leopard. In fact, we saw all of the big 5, along with loads of other creatures both big and small.
The relaxed and personal attention made for total unwind and maximum enjoyment.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights on our first ever safari and we were extremely happy with our choice. Magic to be in the wild like this and see animals up close, we saw "everything" except Leopard. Great service and food. At the evening meals we ate outside at a fireplace inside a pallisad which was very nice. Giraffes and wilderbeest walking by just outside the lodges and lions roaring throughout the night. The rangers were very good and the tracking of a rhino with a calf was very exciting! We cant wait for our next safari.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

This is small, intimate lodge. Its comfortable. The food was good. We saw a lot of lions - plus elephants, water buffalo & rhino. Sadly no leopard, but never mind! The safari drives are in open land rovers. The rangers are very good a finding lions, which we found 3 days in a row.

  • Liked — Wildlife. Evening meals. Intimacy
  • Disliked — No leopards whenwe were there
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge

Address: PO Box 862, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Balule Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the vast Balule Reserve, part of the Greater Kruger Park. Get close up to the Big 5 & other animals on vehicle safaris & walks. Luxurious accommodation in a small, privately owned camp, excellent meals & South African hospitality at an extremely affordable price. Easy access via self-drive or daily flights & shuttles from Johannesburg. Relax around a swimming pool & enjoy aroma-therapy massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohlabetsi Safari Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge South Africa/Balule Private Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.