We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pondoro Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pondoro Game Lodge to your Saves list
Pondoro Game Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Balule Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low season 10% off
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at the Pondoro Game Lodge 4 nights with my whole family (so we had 2 luxury suites and 1 luxury chalet). Staff was very nice. The rooms were great and we had an amazing time during the Safaris (we easily saw the big fives and more).
The spa is average but not especially expensive. The food is very good and the last night dinner by the river was memorable.
My only suggestion is to make soft drinks free (especially water).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear nicolas m,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are happy as always to see that you enjoyed your stay at Pondoro. Thank you for your suggestion as well.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    16
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
75
259
21
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have just returned from 3 nights at Pondoro which were beyond our expectations from the moment we arrived, it was as if we had stepped into another world. We were made to feel so welcome our every need catered for. You would never starve at Pondoro! the food is cooked to gourmet standards and the bakery items "out of this world" all served by happy, friendly and very competent staff, and what a treat to eat outside beside a fire at night !. Our chalet was perfect, spacious, peaceful and comfortable, not that were we in too much as we chose to go on every game drive, a bush walk and had lunch in a hide [words cannot describe the peace and tranquility of 2 hours in the bush up a tree!] The game drives were fantastic, Mark and Eric were professional and QUIET between themselves guiding us to the the sightings, explaining habits of the animals and bride life, both very knowledgable. We shared our vehicle and numbers went from 4 to 6 which caused no viewing or comfort problems, there was no rush to move from sightings and Mark had a photographers eye so our positions where amazing. if I write more it will spoil the experience for future visitors. So thank you Pondoro for making our 30th wedding anniversary such a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Book a Chalet with the outside bath for the ultimate experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Lemonchelo2012,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy to see that we lived up to your expectations regarding your 30th wedding anniversary. I will pass your kind words through to Eric and Mark as they will be elated.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I have been working 40 years in travel & tourism and on and off on the safari track in Africa since the late seventies. Having stayed in more than a thousend lodges and camps all over SA and central and eastern Africa. The accommodation and the food at Pondoro is definately above average. Well done. But game drives! First of all you need to be honest in your PR and selling material and state loud and clear that you use the middle seat and squize 9 guests together in your safari cars when needed! Leaving the middle passenger in a hopeless and worthless position. Second you need to educate your so-called young rangers to be just as quiet as your guests during an animal sigthing. Instead of constantly shouting driving instructions into their headset to fellow rangers in other cars. Correct these details and you will have a lovely place.
Best regards
Bjarne Jensen

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Bjarne

Tripadvisor is a forum where honest and fair reviews about your hotel of choice can be done. I do not believe that Tripadvisor should be used as a tool to punish and harm a hotel when we do not agree to certain outrageous demands. It should also not be used to trick uneducated readers into thinking that your way of thinking is the norm.

Here are the facts:
1. Pondoro has a policy of putting only 8 guests per vehicle. We cater for only 16 guests which means that we use 2 safari cruisers at the lodge. No lodge runs at 100% occupancy meaning the vehicles would be driving with less than 8 guests for the majority of the time.
2. Nowhere in our literature do we state that that we only seat 6 guests ( no guests in middle seat ) per safari cruiser.
3. Allowing 8 guests per safari vehicle is the industry standard but a lot of lodges prefer to make use of all 10 seats. We try our best to provide a high quality safari experience which made us adopt the 8 guests per vehicle policy.
4. Only ultra luxurious lodges would restrict guests to 6 per vehicle with a rate of at least R10 000.00 per person per night. It does not make financial sense to limit guests to 6 at the rates that we charge.
5. We provide a private vehicle to guests that wish for a more personal safari experience for an extra R4000.00 per day ( for the vehicle ).
6. Mark, your guide, is blessed with a strong voice that should be a benefit for guests as he would be easily heard and understood when on safari. Your remarks about him is in bad taste and not true.
7. All of the above were explained in great detail to you while still at the lodge.

You are very liberal with your facts:
1. There were only 6 guests on your vehicle during your first 2 safaris. There would have been only 8 guests on your vehicle for your last 2 safaris and not 9 as you try to claim. Mark even tried to explain to you that you and your wife would still have an entire row to yourselves ( open middle seat ) but you refused to listen to reason and did not participate in any further safaris which was a shame as you missed some fantastic sightings.
2. You state that you are a safari expert who have visited more than a 1000 lodges, no doubt trying to give authority to your review while trying to advise readers about your experience at the lodge. A quick calculation, with an average stay of 2 nights at a lodge, would mean that you visited a lodge on average every 7,3 days over 40 years. No mean feat while trying to make a living as well! It is difficult to understand how you as a safari expert would not know what the industry standard would be regarding the number of guests per safari vehicle. Tour operators and agents also contact us regularly regarding the private vehicle rates when needing a more exclusive experience for their clients as this is standard practice at most upmarket lodges.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay! A perfect place to go on honeymoon!! The service, the safari and the food were excellent! We love to come back to celebrate our fifth wedding anniversary! Thank you for everything! It was a wonderfull experience!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear HansSophie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. It is very good to see that you found Pondoro the perfect place to spent a honeymoon. You will be welcomed with open arms to celebrate your 5th wedding anniversary with us.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My wife and I spent a few nights at Pondoro at the end of February 2013. We had flown from Johannesburg to Hoedspruit where the transfers were also arranged by Pondoro. Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff and ice cold lemonade, we immediately felt right at home.

The lodge and our suite (Buffalo) were absolutely beautiful and impeccably clean, the design features are very natural and very unique. This lodge was true luxury in the bush and we would not change anything about our experience here. You have awesome views from the deck and the suites.

Lize is an amazing chef and the food was phenomenal, you are unique and world class. Eating dinner, listening to the sounds of the bush is truly Africa. The special dinner the last night was also an exceptional experience.

The drives were incredible. Regardless of animal sightings, it is important to remember where you are and take a moment to appreciate the scenery. This is one of the most beautiful places in the entire world. The ranger and tracker worked extremely hard to give us the best experience possible, they are so knowledgeable. We were lucky enough to spot the big five during our visit and drives, what an experience to view them so close-up.

Pondoro’s staff is the most friendly and professional people in the world. We just cannot say enough good things about our safari experience here at Pondoro. If you want a quiet, intimate experience, this is definitely the place to go, thanks for the wonderful memories.

I highly recommend Pondoro for a luxury Safari experience. Thank you Robbie & Team

Gavin & Anne-Marie Viljoen

Room Tip: The Luxury Suites is exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Gavin V,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. It is heartwarming to see how much you enjoyed your stay and your kind words and compliments are much appreciated. I will also pass your compliments on to Lize who as you know works extremely hard and deserves all the accolades.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful place to stay for our last 4 nights in South Africa! The staff are amazing, forming a well oiled team that provides to everyone's needs. From their warm welcome on your arrival to your reluctant departure, they go out of their way to make your stay special. The accommodations are luxurious, the food delicious, attractively served and very plentiful. Our guide Mark, and tracker, Eric, were great! From finding 6 week old lion cubs, a leopard, and even rogue elephants made our time at Pondoro a truly wonderful experience we will not forget. Thank you, Pondoro, we cannot recommend you highly enough!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear lihad,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am elated to see that Pondoro was the highlight of your South African trip. Thank you for the compliments as it provides us with more enthusiasm to improve on our service.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at Pondoro at the end of February 2013. We had flown into Johannesburg and rented a car and planned to drive to Pondoro. With the exception of getting lost in Johannesburg for a couple hours, when we finally got on the right path it was a very beautiful, scenic drive to Pondoro (about a 5 hour drive from Johannesburg). When we arrived at Pondoro we were greeted by Madeline who had two lemonades ready for us and brought us into the lobby area which is beautifully decorated and open. Since we were late in arriving, we missed the afternoon game drive, but it was just as well, as it gave us some time to shower and get ready before dinner. Madeline gave us a tour of the grounds and walked us to our room, we stayed in the Rock Room. The rooms are just as beautiful as the pictures, although the rock room was a little dark, the design features are very natural and very unique!! We were then brought to dinner which I have to say was OUTSTANDING!!! Lize is an amazing chef and the staff and the food was phenomenal! There were only 2 other couples at Pondoro when we arrived so it was a very intimate, tranquil environment. We had dinner on the deck overlooking the river, and there happened to be two male hippos fighting in the river, which was amazing to hear, we were eating dinner, listening to the sounds of the bush. I have to say, I think this was my favourite part of our whole trip!! After dinner we went into the bar area for a couple of cocktails, and the staff joined us which I thought was wonderful!

The next morning we woke up early for our first game drive, Mark was our driver and Eric was our tracker. On our game drive, we saw 3 rhinos, a pride of lions, including baby cubs, a couple warthogs, a giraffe, and a herd of buffalo, AMAZING! We also saw a leopard for a couple of seconds before it ran away in the tall grass. The game drives are about 3-4 hours, Mark and Eric really did their best to find the Big 5. After the game drive we had breakfast and went on a Bush Walk with Eric, there is a lot more to see on foot, that you cannot see on the drive so I really recommend joining in on the Bush Walk. There is sometime in the afternoon for you to rest if you like before going out on the afternoon game drive.

I have to say, our experience at Pondoro was amazing, and the staff is exceptional. The only criticism I can offer is that the outdoor pool a little uninviting, as it is surrounded by bushes/trees, it looks like it is well kept, but since you are in the bush there could be critters nearby so my husband and I didn’t use the pool. Other than that, If you want a quiet, intimate authentic experience – this is definitely the place to go!!

Thanks for the memories!!!

Alicia and Justin
Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Room Tip: Ask for the water room!! That one looks the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Alicia and Justin,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, you really seemed to have done a thorough tour of Johannesburg before eventually finding a rental car with a GPS that works! Glad you could make it as it was fun having you here.

Greetings from the bush,

Robbie and Pondoro family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pondoro Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondoro Game Lodge

Address: Balule Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Balule Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pondoro Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the cool riverine banks of the Olifants River (largest in Kruger) in the 40 000 ha Big 5 Balule Private Game Reserve inside the greater Kruger National Park, Pondoro offers its visitors comfort, sophistication, elegance and a canvas on which to create a truly unforgettable African safari.In this small, very exclusive 16-bed lodge ( owner managed ) you will discover the only way to experience the African bush. In addition to luxurious accommodation and the caring attention from trained professionals, our visitors are lavished upon with international fare and humble African hospitality.Meals are an extraordinary culinary experience where Traditional African Cuisine fuse effortlessly with modern European trends.To compliment the food, select any of our fine wines from our extensive wine cellar. Vegetarians are specially catered for. All meals are served on a wooden deck high up in the tree canopy overlooking the Olifants River (weather permitting).Between game drives in open safari cruisers, nature walks and peaceful afternoon naps, enjoy a dip in the sparkling rock pool, a spot of sun bathing or browse through the library. The Pondoro bar is the ideal spot to quench your thirst and grab a snack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pondoro Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondoro Game Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Pondoro Game Lodge South Africa/Balule Private Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pondoro Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.