We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing time spent at Tsakane” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tsakane Safari Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balule Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tsakane Safari Camp
Save
You added Tsakane Safari Camp to your Saves list
Greater Kruger Park Conservancy, Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Thane, India
1 review
“Amazing time spent at Tsakane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were at Tsakane in May 13, and were there for four days but we felt it was very short. The bush walks were very informative and felt completley safe in hands of our rangers Emille and Joshua. Mark made really tasty food and made sure we ate till our stomachs were full .Mark ,Emille and Josh had very good knowlegde of the bush and shared a lot of information we us ,they made us feel at home. Emille made sure we get to see the big 5 at Kruger. 200 characters is not enough to narrate the experience.I will surely recommend Tsakane to my friends and will definelty go back

Room Tip: The room next to the water hole is good cause to get to see a lot of animals there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    0
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
8
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We just finished our stay at The Tsakane Safari Camp that we booked through Viator. The description of the stay was nothing like the experience. Most important in staying in a Safari Camp is the need for safety. While the Guide, Amile, was excellent and knowledgeable, his hands were tied in a couple of respects. The owner needed the rifle for one of his other ventures, so we went on a safari ride without the protection of a rifle. Further, the vehicle that we used was beyond it's last leg and we felt totally unsafe. All the other vehicles we saw were much more up-to-date . No tread on the tires, and really an unsecure feeling. The owner never reconfirmed our transportion back to Johannesburg as we requested several times, so we are stuck at an outpost for half of the day. The food is super budget and prepared but a very nice cook who is just learning how to cook. The "lamb stew" had only one piece of fat, the rest was vegetables. The meals were not good and it was very evident that it was budget-budget. The description on our arrival stated "delicious lunch". That would have been a piece of fruit as nothing was planned and we had to be taken back to the Outpost to eat. They say it is a swimming pool... is 8' x 6' (really) considered a swimming pool? It looked more like a jacuzzi.
On the positive side... the Guide was excellent. The rooms we had were cleaned well daily and the staff was friendly. We never met the owner as he is too involved with his other activities.
I would rate the camp as one-star and avoid it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I find it diffiult to put into words the experience I had a Tsakane. The people involved in maintaining the camp are not only extreemly professional but they are also able to engage on persona llevel with the traveller at the camp. Each of us were made to feel extreemlwelcome, other accommodation was awesome, I was fortunate to have a tent style ... which I loved.Lying in bed and listening to the animals is an amazing experience. Being only small groups at the camp enabled the walks interactive and person, have to mention it..our guide Fritz was awesome, knowledgeable and engaging. Many sightings and many laughs. Do not miss the opportunity to experience Tsakane. When Y decided to extend my holiday assistance was given in regards to sightseeing and alternate safaris. thank you. Leigh

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerhugowaard, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Definitely the best part of our holiday in South Africa! Very knowledgeable guides, excellent service and lots of animals.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

This experience will alter your life forever. Tsakane Safari's staff have a intimate love and passion for offering the guest not only the big 5, but the complete bush experience. The bush walks give you an opportunity to get up close and personal with the pulse of Africa. ( There are plenty of lodges to choose from, but choosing Tsakane will leave you grinning for the next couple of weeks )

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed 5 nights at Tsakane Safari camp and had the time of our lives! We were so lucky to be the only ones there at that time and were spoilt rotten by Emile, Barry and the team. The grounds were kept immaculately clean and the staff were always looking to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

We loved every minute!

Thanks guys, we'll recommend you to all our friends and we'll be back soon!

:) Eileen, Thandi and Mike- from AUSTRALIA

Room Tip: Then safari tents give you the real feel of being out in the middle of Kruger park, but in luxury- y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goes, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

food was just above average.
bush walks are interesting.
a real bush atmosphere but the game drives are a bit dull. No big 5 in this area.
One of the ranger told me: I have not seen an elephant in 6 months.
ii is a pity.
At night we heard a lion. At day time the ranger could not find him
regards
schliek

Room Tip: all the huts are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tsakane Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsakane Safari Camp

Address: Greater Kruger Park Conservancy, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Private Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Balule Private Game Reserve
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer Two night (Friday to Sunday), Three night (Friday to Monday), Four night (Monday to Friday) and Seven night (Monday to Monday) walking safari packages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tsakane Safari Camp South Africa/Balule Private Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tsakane Safari Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.