We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sausage Tree Camp was Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sausage Tree Safari Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sausage Tree Safari Camp to your Saves list
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Cambridge 25, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Discount / Free Day Tour!
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sausage Tree Camp was Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Here we are home, safe and sound among the two legged creatures, ha ,I think sometimes we would have been safer in the wild. It has been only a day away from you and I miss you already, so you never know ,we might see you again or better still ,you might come our way.

I am no good with face book ,so I wanted to tell you what an AWESOME experience and time I had with you. Everything was perfect and your hospitality was the best of the best that I came across. I being a good cook . so they say, can voucher myself that we were looked after with great care and satisfaction. It all was amazing and so special, not only the taste of the lovely food , but it was done with so much passion and love.

Your Sausage Tree Camp was Amazing ,I felt Safe and content with everything you had to offer. I can say with all my heart that you both are amazing in organizing our trip to perfection and taking care off us all in our group and looking after our personal needs.

The safari was the best ever and you and your guides and trackers took us where we could have never gone and seen ,not only the big five of Africa, but the beautiful tiny unseen creatures that are there for our enjoyment. I have learned so much in such a short time. HMMMMM DO YOU THINK I WOULD MAKE A GOOD GUIDE ,or will the animals scatter and hide when they see me coming???? You never know, if I let down my long hair ,they might think I am a two legged Lioness the odd one out among their pack and I am sure they would chase me away or maybe eat me for dessert.

Thank you so much ,

Love Agnes Agili Artist. xx

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
115
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The hospitality provided by Sonia and James during our week could not have been better. Sonia and James made us feel so at home in such a far away place. The camp is extremely well run, the staff is excellent, and the facility is perfect. The food is unbelievably good. Orlando is an outstanding chef. The game drives were extremely well done. James as driver and Liam as spotter did a truly wonderful job. Our game drives could not have been better. We will always have fond memories of our great week.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My hubby and I spent several days at Sausage tree in mid October and the experience was truly world class! The tented accommodation lends an African Safari air to the stay but the accommodation is far from basic. Tents are on raised floors and contain a large, luxurious bathroom, great beds, lovely outside (but totally safe) shower and full electricity. James, as our driver for the game trips was faultless and funny, and had answers to every question that we asked him about not only the wildlife, but the flora and fauna. Food was decadent; cleanliness of the tents, flawless; the main lodge's décor was awesome! Thanks for an amazing experience, Sonja and James!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halls Gap, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Put simply Sausage Tree Lodge is one of the best I have ever stayed at on my many trips to Africa. Hosts, guides, meals, accomodation....everything was first class and totally professional so you can completely relax and enjoy the experience. Balule Conservancy borders onto Kruger Park so is wonderfully populated with beautiful animals and the Sausage Tree trackers and drivers know tham all! I cannot recommend Sausage Tree too highly.Imagine Africa Tours runs Sausage Tree and can organise your entire stay for you. Richard, Amanda, Sonia, James, Liam and Themba....thanyou so much for a brilliant experience. I will be back.

Room Tip: All accomodations are equally good and nicely spaced for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Staying at Sausage Tree is like staying with friends, as the owners and staff are gracious hosts. The accommodations and food are excellent, and the game drives are unforgettable. A member of our family has food allergies, and the staff were very accommodating. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Safely back in Australia after 2 weeks in South Africa with "Imagine Africa Tours". Wonderful hosts and exciting safari drives, culminating in a week at the fabulous "Sausage Tree Safari Camp". What an experience......Sonia and James hosting us, along with all the staff, made us feel extremely welcome ....it was like being part of a big family. Nothing was too much effort for any of them and their hospitality was extended to us in a friendly and a very professional manner. The meals that Orlando our chef prepared were exceptional....breakfast, lunch, dinner and even nibbles for "sundowners" out in the bush was great. Liam and Themba were amazing on the game drives and were always keen for us to see as much as we could....and succeeded with all of the BIG 5 and plenty more! Our rooms were fabulous and each time we came back to our room after a drive, it was all prepared/cleaned exceptionally well and looked inviting, and at night the bedside lighting on gave that extra special ambience. The pool was a welcome place in the heat and the different eating areas were lovely, and what a bonus, being able to watch the animals come to the waterhole. We loved sharing time in this fabulous place. Janet

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bannockburn, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Have arrived home in Australia after spending the last six nights, of our fifteen day safari at Sausage Tree Safari Camp. Many thanks to James for great game drives and assistance around the camp: also thanks to Sonya who made our stay an exceptional experience. Orlando also be complimented for providing excellent cuisine for each and every meal.

Finally, a very special thanks to Liam and Themba who managed to show us the "Big 5" in a three hour game drive and topping it off with a sighting of a lioness and her six week old cubs on our final drive. A truly magical sighting. I am sure they can talk to the animals.

A small and intimate camp, Sausage Tree is the ideal camp for those wishing to become better acquainted with one's hosts. An all round Five Star experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sausage Tree Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sausage Tree Safari Camp

Address: Cambridge 25, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Balule Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Balule Nature Reserve, Sausage Tree Safari Camp promises rich game viewing and spectacular views, as our boundary with Kruger National Park is open and the Northern Drakensberg Mountains form a majestic back drop. This family operated safari camp pride itself on the warm atmosphere and African safari tented accommodation it offers. Enjoy lantern lit dinners in our boma or open deck under the star studded African sky. Sunrise and sunset safaris in open 4x4 vehicles are the highlights of the day.The Safari Camp:Our African safari-styled tents are nestled in between Marula, Knobthorn Acacia and Sausage Trees and overlook a dry river bed, the bush and the Northern Drakensberg Mountains. Each tent is spacious and built in an elevated position with it's own special view. The tents are fully furnished and have their own private deck and ensuite bathroom with a bath and outdoor shower. Inverter or Eco based Air-conditioners are fitted in each tent ensuring that you stay cool during those warm summer nights... and can even be set to warm during those colder nights in winter. Insect gauze on all the windows and doors keep the insects outside where they belong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Sausage Tree Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sausage Tree Safari Camp South Africa/Balule Private Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sausage Tree Safari Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.