We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sausage Tree Safari Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sausage Tree Safari Camp to your Saves list
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Cambridge 25, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pay Half Price 3rd Night!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Dream Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Wow, this place was fantastic. We have wanted to go on a safari for some time now and Sausage Tree exceeded our expectations. After searching around on tripadvisor, I stumbled upon Sausage Tree and it seemed to fit the bill on the type of accommodations we wanted- not a full blown lodge, but more of a Luxury Camp (my wife says people call it "Glamping"). To make this review helpful I will try to break this review into sections.

Property/Accommodations: This place is pretty "boutique" with only four tents. Each tent faces the preserve so you have a chance to see animals roaming around from your small porch. The rooms have very comfortable beds, nice bathroom amenities, a huge tub and separate outdoor shower. Outside you will find a couple of chairs and a hammock to relax outside. No worries. An aircon/heater, a fan, and even a power strip are in the rooms as well if you need them. The main building is equally nice with lounge areas, a small pool, and an overlook of a watering hole. The maintenance of the property is top notch and all details are looked after by the staff.

Staff: I cannot say enough about Sonja, James, Liam, and the rest of the staff. You feel like a part of the family and they certainly put up with my dumb jokes and constant chatter. At all times very welcoming and charming and again attention to detail is phenomenal.

Food: I had friends that had gone on a safari with another company near by and when I was leaving they warned me to bring my own food to snack on. The food at Sausage Tree was fantastic. My wife is still bothering my to email them for a couple of the recipes. In addition, my wife is a very picky eater and won't eat a number of different types of proteins. One of them I failed to mention to Sonja and wouldn't you know it a couple of hours before dinner she mentioned that we would be having that for dinner. Once I broke the news to Sonja of my failure, she was sure the kitchen could come up with a solution by dinner time. The delivered a vegetarian Moroccan dish that my wife was simply blown away by.

Safari: This is the hardest to review because 90% of this is outside of the lodge's control. It is an animal reserve and unfortunately these animals don't care what your vacation plans are. I feel that we were blessed by the safari gods to see the big five, a great scene of lions chasing a leopard, and going asleep to the sound of lions from inside our tent. What is in the lodge's control is the staff on the drive and the maintenance of the truck that drives you around. As I mentioned before James and Liam were excellent. They are unbelievable sources of knowledge regarding the flora and fauna that surround you. They are respectful of the animals, the environment, and the other safari trucks/companies that you may pass on your journey. Their truck is very well maintained inside and out. I didn't think about this until I saw other safari trucks from other safari lodges that seemed to struggle with the terrain. In addition, because there is only 4 tents, you will be traveling in comfort and space, not squished in or sitting in the middle trying to capture that perfect shot.

Room Tip: We liked our #4 tent. It was the most isolated Don't worry about bottled water, all the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    19
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
134
24
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

What a stunning location... Beautiful scenery, magnificent sights... Accommodation luxurious and comfortable. Meals and wines superb. Guides informative, entertaining and personable. Game drives picturesque... amazing African sunsets...Private sanctuary, perfect setting for romance.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonsussens, Owner at Sausage Tree Safari Camp, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for writing such a lovely review - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Your enthusiasm and appreciation of the bush and it's wildlife is wonderful. We look forward to welcoming you both back next year! Kind regards and safari greetings from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris - France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

One feels at home at once in this friendly place where good taste is everywhere. We liked the helpfulness of the rangers and trackers during the game drives, the food, the magnificent view from the deck or the tents, and Sonya's hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonsussens, Owner at Sausage Tree Safari Camp, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. We really enjoyed having you and your lovely family with us and we are so pleased that you had a memorable experience at Sausage Tree. We hope to welcome you back some day and we all send you kind regards and greetings from the bush.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We thought this place was fantastic - loved the safari style "tents", the setting, the game drives, and atmospheric dinner around the fire in the boma. Sonya was the perfect host, Thembe, Liam and Jessie were excellent spotters/guides/drivers and Orlando's cooking was great. We saw an amazing amount on our game drives and particularly enjoyed seeing the lions. We stayed for 2 nights/4 game drives and would have liked a longer stay just to soak up the sights and sounds around us and enjoy relaxing in such an amazing place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonsussens, Owner at Sausage Tree Safari Camp, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Heather G thank you for your lovely feedback and also your kind words for Liam, Jesse, Themba and Orlando - I will be sure to pass it on to them. We are so pleased that you experienced such wonderful sightings and that you particularly enjoyed seeing those special lions. We hope to welcome you back for a longer stay with us soon. Kind regards and safari greetings from all of us at Sausage Tree.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Magic stay In the bush with the nice, friendly and very professionnal team of Sausage tree camp. We had such a good time with everything : drives, rooms In tent, food....
Thanks to sonya.
I Will be back for a week next Time !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonsussens, Owner at Sausage Tree Safari Camp, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words Christiane75005 we really enjoyed having you here and we loved your endless enthusiasm! We all look forward to welcoming you back for a week next time. Kind regards and safari greetings from the Sausage Tree Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Amazing place. We did 3 safari rides and the experience was absolutely brilliant! Mike is a 10/10 ranger. We were lucky enough to spot 4 out of big 5.
Very homely environment, board games, 2 cute dogs (Mildred and Josephine) and amazing food. I wish I could have stayed there for some more time. The camp-like stay makes the stay all the more memorable.
Sonia is a star!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonsussens, Owner at Sausage Tree Safari Camp, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Hi DevanshuM - thank you so much for your very complimentary review which we really appreciate. We are delighted that you had such a memorable stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again some day. Perhaps we will see you in Mumbai...! Kind regards and safari greetings from the Sausage Tree Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Sausage Tree Safari Camp is just fantastic. My husband and I stayed at the camp for 4 nights and we wished we could have stayed longer. James and Sonja made the whole stay very special and Orlando’s (the chef) food was so delicious. We really enjoyed the game drives and the trackers were great! We will definitely go back and we strongly recommend Sausage Tree to anyone who is looking for a welcoming staff, great safari and wonderful accomendation. Thank you Sonja and James for making our stay really special!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonsussens, Owner at Sausage Tree Safari Camp, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of your stay at Sausage Tree. It was just as special for us to have you here and I will be sure to tell Orlando how much you enjoyed his great cooking. We really hope to welcome you back some day soon and in the meantime do keep in touch and let us know how you are. The Team sends you kind regards and safari greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sausage Tree Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sausage Tree Safari Camp

Address: Cambridge 25, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Balule Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Balule Nature Reserve, Sausage Tree Safari Camp promises rich game viewing and spectacular views, as our boundary with Kruger National Park is open and the Northern Drakensberg Mountains form a majestic back drop. This family operated safari camp pride itself on the warm atmosphere and African safari tented accommodation it offers. Enjoy lantern lit dinners in our boma or open deck under the star studded African sky. Sunrise and sunset safaris in open 4x4 vehicles are the highlights of the day.The Safari Camp:Our African safari-styled tents are nestled in between Marula, Knobthorn Acacia and Sausage Trees and overlook a dry river bed, the bush and the Northern Drakensberg Mountains. Each tent is spacious and built in an elevated position with it's own special view. The tents are fully furnished and have their own private deck and ensuite bathroom with a bath and outdoor shower. Inverter or Eco based Air-conditioners are fitted in each tent ensuring that you stay cool during those warm summer nights... and can even be set to warm during those colder nights in winter. Insect gauze on all the windows and doors keep the insects outside where they belong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Sausage Tree Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sausage Tree Safari Camp South Africa/Balule Private Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sausage Tree Safari Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.