We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect game lodge experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toro Yaka Bush Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Balule Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge
Save
You added Toro Yaka Bush Lodge to your Saves list
Sable Road, Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Perfect game lodge experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have been to many game parks but this was my first time at a game lodge. It was a wonderfull experience. Nicole and Steve run a very relaxed but organised operation. Cottages are fantastic.
Do have an outdoor shower. Beds and pillows perfect. Good attention to detail. All meals were
delicious and varied. A beautifull setting. Stacey and Steves knowledge is incredible and we learnt
so much. The game rides were informative and enlightening . We saw the big 5 and so much more.Nicole is a massage therapist and does a brilliant massage.We stayed for 3 nights and were very sad to leave. It is also very reasonably priced. This is the place to go if you want an intimate experience. You will love it. We did.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
120
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hemel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband is an old hand at safaris but this was my first experience and it was wonderful. Stacey and the other rangers were incredibly patient, knowledgeable and had infectious enthusiasm. Think we saw all the animals the park had to offer (except leopard which we did not expect to see) with our highlights being close encounters with black rhino and a strolling hippo. The lodge is small and beautifully presented. We stayed in the Elephant room which was brilliant with wonderful views across the bush. Can't speak highly enough about the food - every meal was superb and so fresh. The only slight word of warning would be that nearly all the meals were eaten at a large table with all the other guests - however in our case this was an absolute delight because everyone was such pleasurable company.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Township, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This place is absolutely incredible. My review is a bit tardy as our stay was in November 2012 but better late than never.

From the moment you arrive, your worries are forgotten. The lodge ambiance and staff are warm and welcoming. Stacey, also the Game driver/guide, lead us to our room (named Elephant), which was immaculate. The room included both an indoor and outdoor shower and our private patio faced straight towards the wild bush!

The owners, Nicole & Steve, are true professionals. In addition to being an expert massage therapist, Nicole, prepares the most scrumptious and healthy food I've ever tasted. Meanwhile, Steve was busy spotting small Chameleons in pitch-black darkness. Our game walk with Steve the next morning was equally rewarding as he was eager to feed my inquisitive mind with intimate Bush wisdom.

Even the company of the family dog, Nawadee, was enjoyable and this is coming from a Cat-lover! Nawadee loved when guests swam in the pool as she pranced around the edge and begged to be splashed.

Stacey tried so hard to spot lions or leopards on our last morning drive but unfortunately, it wasn't meant to be. Nevertheless, her dedication to making our experience authentic was never in question. The rest of the staff (Ridwall and others) were equally pleasant company.

We stayed from 3 nights but were able to complete 5 games drives and 1 bush walk. Other guests booked day-trips to Kruger but we enjoyed never leaving the lodge.

To conclude, Toro Yaka offers an unmistakably intimate bush lodge experience that other larger resorts cannot and at a price-point that won't break your budget. We are not usually one's to repeat vacation destinations but an exception will have to made for Toro Yaka!

Room Tip: Request the Elephant room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

A girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in January 2013, and left completely relaxed and excited about not only our sightings and experiences on the bush drives and the walk we took, but also with Steve and Nicole's hospitality and gorgeous resort overall. Nicole is an excellent cook and Steve has a brilliant knowledge of the bush that you will no doubt find infectious. Stacey was our bush guide during our stay and we loved her safe but aggressive driving that led us to see the allusive black rhino, among others!

We loved the pool and the rooms, and especially enjoyed the dinner seating configurations. We ate by the pool one night, and in a 'tribal council' type configuration in their boma the next. It was unlike anywhere we'd ever been.

Couldn't recommend more, ESPECIALLY for newlyweds. Our only complaint is that we didn't bring the boyfriends!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We would definitely go back here. The rooms are very good, they deserve full marks. The management, staff and guides were all fantastic, they deserve full marks too. Food excellent. In fact it was all excellent, even the other guests were great. The only reason the overall score isn't 5/5 is the location, as the park felt a wee bit small and close to civilisation. Which REALLY isn't fair of me, as quite obviously the price would have to go up if the location was prime wilderness real estate, and then I couldn't afford to stay there. Honestly, there really is no pleasing some people :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

When we saw all these glowing reviews before visiting, we thought it couldn't possibly be as good as people made it seem. But we were wrong. We wouldn't have changed anything about our visit -- the lodge itself was peaceful and relaxing, the food was delicious (comparable to the food we ate at some of the nicest restaurants in the country), the staff was highly professional, and Steve was a superb guide. We saw all sorts of animals up close, and even when we weren't seeing animals, Steve's knowledge of the bush made the game drives interesting and informative. We hope to come back someday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at Toro Yaka from Dec. 26 to Dec. 30, 2012 and the service was impeccable. Nicole cooked gluten-free food for one guest and veggie for us. The food was delicious and very generous! The rooms were elegant and tasteful and staff were all friendly and helpful. And on the game drives, Steve doesn't just take you to the animals, he also educates you about the ecosystem and rhythms of life for everything that creeps, crawls, stalks, gallops, and prowls through the Balule. We did eight game drives and we could have done more. We saw lions (4 times!), rhinos, cape buffalo, elephants, giraffe, zebras, hippos and much, much more! There is a watering hole about 100 meters in front of the infinity pool, so you can also see game while relaxing in the pool! We saw warthogs a few times and other guests saw rhinos.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Toro Yaka Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toro Yaka Bush Lodge

Address: Sable Road, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Balule Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner/Manager team Steve & Nicole Baillie would like to invite you to visit Toro Yaka Bush Lodge. This special lodge is nestled in the heart of the Balule Nature Reserve, a 38 000 hectare conservancy, which forms part of the Greater Kruger National Park area. ToroYaka means “My Dream” in Northern Sotho, one of South Africa’s local languages, and the creation of Toro Yaka Bush Lodge has fulfilled the dreams of Steve and Nicole, by establishing a haven of peace and tranquility from which to share their passion for nature. The lodge has been designed in a modern elegant style, with a relaxed atmosphere, allowing guests to sit back, relax and feel at home. The six en-suite double rooms ensure tranquility and comfort at all times. Steve has spent more than a decade sharing his knowledge and love for the bush with clients from all over the world at luxury game lodges throughout South Africa. Nicole is a qualified holistic massage therapist and takes care of all the tiny details. Together with the Toro Yaka Staff, they will ensure your stay to be a memorable one. Balule is home to a large variety of plants and animals. From the smallest spider to the largest elephant, from the tiniest flower to a 1000 year old Leadwood tree, owls at night and eagles by day, every aspect of the ecosystem is explored. The Olifants River, which flows year round through the Balule, is home to hippos and crocodiles, and the whole area is one of scenic splendor, with the northern tip of the Drakensberg mountain range being visible from many points. Together with all of this, Toro Yaka Bush Lodge offers you good home cooked food, friendly service, warm South African Hospitality and loads of enthusiasm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge South Africa/Balule Private Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toro Yaka Bush Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.