We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can spend more, but why???” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toro Yaka Bush Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Balule Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge
Save
You added Toro Yaka Bush Lodge to your Saves list
Sable Road, Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
phoenix
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“You can spend more, but why???”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Very rarely do people find their true calling in life; Nicole and Steve have found their calling running Toro Yaka, and you will benefit by staying with them. All the superlatives you’ve read in the other reviews are spot-on, but I’ll highlight some.

Food - every single meal we ate was fantastic. My wife is a vegetarian, and Nicole kindly catered to her needs. We have been fortunate to eat at great restaurants around the world, and the food at Toro Yaka could hold its own anywhere.

Game drives - a true bush experience. You can tour Kruger National Park in a vehicle and generally see the animals at a distance, or go with Steve or his ranger and get a personal experience. We were fortunate enough to see lions mating less than 15 feet from our Land Rover, and also had an intimate experience with a herd of elephants who surrounded our jeep and dined for about 45 minutes. (We also saw loads of other animals, but these were the highlights.) I would suggest going to Kruger for one day just to experience it, but we came out valuing our bush drives at Toro Yaka much higher. Nicole is happy to help arrange a day trip to Kruger or any other nearby experience you may want to take part in while staying at Toro Yaka.

Massage - you will come out feeling refreshed and pampered. Nicole will knead your muscles as deeply as you request, or provide a nice, relaxing experience. And the prices are extremely reasonable.

Overall value - very high. We were greeted by name, and everything about our stay was first-rate. We enjoyed the intimate size of the lodge, as it really made us feel at home. You could easily spend three times as much at another lodge and miss out on such personalized attention and added benefits. Don’t hesitate; book your stay at Toro Yaka without a second thought.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
120
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We found Toro Yaka by trip advisor and it was a great found. Very nice hotel if just six amazing rooms and an excellent staff. The rooms are spacious, with a nice bathroom, inside and outside shower and an excellent bed. The food was delicious. Spectacular breakfast with hot and cold option (best musli I’ve ever had), light and fresh lunch and a tasty dinner. Nicole (the lodge’s owner) makes an excellent job making everyone have a great stay. The staff was very friendly and the game drives were awesome and well executed. We saw lots of animals (good views of lions, buffalos, elephants, giraffes, zebras, impalas and lots more) and had an amazing time. The lodge offers wi-fi internet, but it is charged by person and not by room. Definitely an excellent value for money. It’s an excellent lodge that offers a personal stay, with great game drives and an affordable price. Would come back and indicate to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Nicole and Steve made our first safari experience unforgettable. The lodge itself is warm and welcoming, reflecting the personalities of its owners. We availed ourselves of everything the place had to offer, from massage to a bush walk and daily game drives. Steve was an amazing guide, sharing his breathtaking depth of knowledge on flora and fauna as well as his passion for conservation and love of the land. Nicole is a fantastic chef and serves a variety of homemade goodies at every meal. She is also a talented massage therapist and offers massage in a room that looks out onto the bush, making the experience organic as well as spiritual. The staff was superb and we felt well cared for. Steve helped us arrange drives outside Balule and his recommendations were perfectly on the mark. When we left, we felt like we were saying goodbye to old friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

As a fairly seasoned safari goer, I have avoided Balule Reserve having had a bad experience at a poorly run lodge, as well as very few game sightings in 2004, but I decided to give it another try during my recent return home to South Africa. Toro Yaka’s reputation looked like it may change my mind.

The reserve is beautiful and Toro Yaka certainly has some stunning land to traverse and explore. As there aren't many lodges in this area and therefore few vehicles out on drive, you will experience Steve’s skills and the adrenaline rush of tracking, as well as the disappointment of not finding your quarry (i.e. not 'tracking by radio' which is often the case in reserves with numerous lodges traversing the same area). Thus, if you are looking to tick off your list of Big 5 during a short stay, you may be disappointed. That said, during my 3 day stay I was more than delighted with two separate sightings of a big herd of buffalo, 7 lion with very full bellies, a rhino up close and very personal, as well as warthogs, zebra, impala, wildebeest, waterbuck, giraffe, numerous birds and glorious sunsets over the Drakensburg mountains. In particular, I treasure the times spent by the Olifants river just listening to the world around us, the impromptu walks during drive and the very real joy of being a part of the bush, tracking, smelling, listening, observing, just being.

Steve’s enthusiasm, passion and strong opinions are interesting, if somewhat blunt and provoking at times - he says it as he sees it. Nicole is a warm and lovely lady who has created a comfortable environment in which to relax and feel at home.

I left with mixed feelings, but overall I believe that Nicole and Steve and their team work incredibly hard and Toro Yaka is a peaceful and beautiful haven for the weary soul looking for stylish and comfortable rooms, lovely guest areas, tranquility, delicious and copious amounts of food and an interesting and enjoyable bush break at a reasonable rate.

My impression of Balule Reserve dramatically improved thanks to them.

Room Tip: Corner suites have their own private deck area (4 in all out of 6 rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I was really happy with my experience at Toro Yaka. This was my first real safari and Steve and Nicole did not disappoint. Steve is an excellent guide, who deeply cares about the wildlife and conversation efforts in Kruger Park. Our AM and PM safari drives were not only an opportunity to look for wildlife, but also talk more about the history of the park and what is being done to protect animals in the future. As we met other groups in the bush, I could tell he is well respected by his fellow "rangers". Nicole is a very warm host who ensures all of her guests are being fully attended to. We had a different menu each day and all the food was wonderful. The grounds are small and quiet, which is great for relaxation and the rooms are very clean. I felt this lodge was great value for money and would certainly return next time I'm at Kruger.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Toro Yaka is an incredible lodge! My boyfriend and I spent 3 nights there and everything was perfect. Nicole and Steve are two such hospitable and multitalented people and what makes the lodge and experience so unique is that they put energies into the finest of details; the rooms are magnificent and have an African touch to them... Nicole is a superwoman - her food is 5 star with so much variety - every meal was delicious and we were continuously amazed with the things she came up with. Her massages are a must - Don't miss out :) and Nicole and Steve run the lodge so smoothly together. Steve doesn't only take his guests out for game drives and game hikes but he has so much to offer and is so well educated - we learnt a lot from him! And Vusi his co-assistance was fantastic - he added to the warm and welcoming environment.
Our experience was simply complete and I took a lot of time looking into different game lodges prior to arriving in South Africa and I couldn't believe how lucky we were to find Toro Yaka - it was amazing and we would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I cannot believe how lucky we were to pick Toro Yaka as our first game lodge ever, it was outstanding. From the welcome on arrival to the departure in our freshly washed car (yes they even washed our car) we were constantly surprised and amazed at the level of service, creativity and attention to detail. Lodge, bedroom, food, game drives, staff, pool, dog ;-) everything at Toro Yaka was genuinely first class. Nicole and Steve make such a good team both displaying amazing expertise and dedication.

We moved on from Toro Yaka to Kapama which is a 5 star private reserve and I have to say that whilst it was bigger it certainly wasn't better.

Toro Yaka has set the standard against which all other game lodges will be judged! Living in the middle of the bush is an experience not to be missed.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms so you don't need to worry about how to choose a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Toro Yaka Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toro Yaka Bush Lodge

Address: Sable Road, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Balule Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner/Manager team Steve & Nicole Baillie would like to invite you to visit Toro Yaka Bush Lodge. This special lodge is nestled in the heart of the Balule Nature Reserve, a 38 000 hectare conservancy, which forms part of the Greater Kruger National Park area. ToroYaka means “My Dream” in Northern Sotho, one of South Africa’s local languages, and the creation of Toro Yaka Bush Lodge has fulfilled the dreams of Steve and Nicole, by establishing a haven of peace and tranquility from which to share their passion for nature. The lodge has been designed in a modern elegant style, with a relaxed atmosphere, allowing guests to sit back, relax and feel at home. The six en-suite double rooms ensure tranquility and comfort at all times. Steve has spent more than a decade sharing his knowledge and love for the bush with clients from all over the world at luxury game lodges throughout South Africa. Nicole is a qualified holistic massage therapist and takes care of all the tiny details. Together with the Toro Yaka Staff, they will ensure your stay to be a memorable one. Balule is home to a large variety of plants and animals. From the smallest spider to the largest elephant, from the tiniest flower to a 1000 year old Leadwood tree, owls at night and eagles by day, every aspect of the ecosystem is explored. The Olifants River, which flows year round through the Balule, is home to hippos and crocodiles, and the whole area is one of scenic splendor, with the northern tip of the Drakensberg mountain range being visible from many points. Together with all of this, Toro Yaka Bush Lodge offers you good home cooked food, friendly service, warm South African Hospitality and loads of enthusiasm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge South Africa/Balule Private Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toro Yaka Bush Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.