We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another visit at ToroYaka” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toro Yaka Bush Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Balule Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge
Save
You added Toro Yaka Bush Lodge to your Saves list
Sable Road, Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Senlis, France
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Yet another visit at ToroYaka”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

This is probably our 6th visit to ToroYaka.... and if we keep on going there it is because of the amazing experience and good value for money...
- Game Viewing is great and Steve is our best SA ranger ever! Going on foot, 10 meter from game is just the adrenaline kick we enjoy!
- The lodge is so nice and cosy... I love the bush shower...
- Nicole's food is amazing... nothing can beat her Amarula sauce...
- The Toroyaka family is friendly and caring... ideal to spend a great and relaxing time!
We will come again!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
132
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We have stayed at Toro Yaka Bush Lodge three times so far, and we will defenitely go there again! The lodge is surrounded by african wildlife, the Balule Reserve is Big5 country and if you take your time you will probably see them all. Lok at the video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sc6esYYv2Hc . Nicole, Steve and all their staff members are perfectly friendly and make the lodge a second home.

Room Tip: The front rooms have a seperate terrace overlooking the waterhole!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is a smaller establishment run by a couple who are passionate in everything they do. If, like me you don't just want to go on a camera safari and want to learn about the habitat of the animals and the flora, and stay in a small and intimate venue, then this is the place for you.

Great standards, terrific food, and the warmest hospitality. A definite place to go back to again and again.

Room Tip: A small selection of rooms, nicely presented and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the lodge for 5 magical nights in this amazing lodge on our honeymoon. We could not have asked for better hospitality. It was just pure luxury with a genuine homely feel. The attention to detail was magnificent as were the hosts, Steve and Nicole and their amazing staff lead by Vusi. We were treated to amazing game drives, superb dining and just good old fashion South African charm. We were very lucky to have been treated so well and we definitely plan to return as soon as we can. This time for alot longer. Thank you all for making our dream honeymoon come true.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We had such an amazing stay at Toro Yaka that I actually cried when we left! Staying at Toro Yaka was such an amazing experience for us - we could not have asked for any better anywhere else in the world! The staff are fantastic and it is run by two of the most passionate people one could hope to find. This holiday had everything - amazing animals, FANTASTIC food (still raving about it) and absolute peace and tranquility.
Steve is so passionate about the bush that it is almost impossible not to get excited about your surroundings and each game drive brought something new - which is not an easy thing to do over a 6 day stay!
Nicole is an amazing cook and each meal was fantastic - we haven't eaten this well anywhere in the world! I also had a massage which was brilliant.

We cannot rave about Toro Yaka, Nicole, Steve and the staff enough - we spent the remainder of our holiday planning the next visit!

This is one of the frontrunners in SA hospitality and an amazing example of what SA has to offer - all we can say is go and visit - you will be so glad you did!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

SA hospitality at its best. A quiet place to relax and get close up with the game. Well run with wonderful owners and hosts who make you feel right at home. Healthy home cooked meals in a relaxing environment. We joined a table d'hote and had a pleasant evening. Game drives are well guided with the option of a bush walk. Our guide Vusi was very knowledgable and animated our drives with interesting facts and anecdotes.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Had an amazing stay in Toro Yaka with my parents on their first trip to South Africa, and we could have stayed much longer than two nights! The warm welcome on arrival was exactly what we needed after a long drive through the Limpopo National Park and the Kruger. The game drives were excellent, with Steve providing a wealth of information on the whole eco-system, and not only focused on the animal sightings (although there were plenty of those too). His passion for nature and animals comes through, as does Nicole's passion for making her guests feel at home. The food is great, the rooms are spotless and stylish, while maintaining the close-to-nature feeling, an optional massage can ease any stress away (although after a couple of days here, stress becomes a distant memory). Leaving here feels like saying goodbye to old friends... and I will be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Toro Yaka Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toro Yaka Bush Lodge

Address: Sable Road, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Balule Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner/Manager team Steve & Nicole Baillie would like to invite you to visit Toro Yaka Bush Lodge. This special lodge is nestled in the heart of the Balule Nature Reserve, a 38 000 hectare conservancy, which forms part of the Greater Kruger National Park area. ToroYaka means “My Dream” in Northern Sotho, one of South Africa’s local languages, and the creation of Toro Yaka Bush Lodge has fulfilled the dreams of Steve and Nicole, by establishing a haven of peace and tranquility from which to share their passion for nature. The lodge has been designed in a modern elegant style, with a relaxed atmosphere, allowing guests to sit back, relax and feel at home. The six en-suite double rooms ensure tranquility and comfort at all times. Steve has spent more than a decade sharing his knowledge and love for the bush with clients from all over the world at luxury game lodges throughout South Africa. Nicole is a qualified holistic massage therapist and takes care of all the tiny details. Together with the Toro Yaka Staff, they will ensure your stay to be a memorable one. Balule is home to a large variety of plants and animals. From the smallest spider to the largest elephant, from the tiniest flower to a 1000 year old Leadwood tree, owls at night and eagles by day, every aspect of the ecosystem is explored. The Olifants River, which flows year round through the Balule, is home to hippos and crocodiles, and the whole area is one of scenic splendor, with the northern tip of the Drakensberg mountain range being visible from many points. Together with all of this, Toro Yaka Bush Lodge offers you good home cooked food, friendly service, warm South African Hospitality and loads of enthusiasm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge South Africa/Balule Private Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toro Yaka Bush Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.