We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Find in the Balule Game Reserve” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Singwe River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balule Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Singwe River Lodge
Save
You added Singwe River Lodge to your Saves list
nr Hoedspruit | Greater Kruger Park, Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington, DC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Amazing Find in the Balule Game Reserve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

Not sure where to even start when it comes to Singwe. This place redefines amazing. My husband and I drove from the Johannesburg airport to the lodge, which took about 6 hours (with a stop or two) and got there after dark for a 3 night stay this November. As soon as we got there, Peter, the game driver/ranger, met us on the road in his vehicle to make sure we arrived safely at the lodge, since the road is a bit rugged and in the dark it was pitch black other than our headlights while driving to the lodge. Once we arrived, we were warmly welcomed by the lodge manager, Shirlene, and the rest of the staff. Shirlene had cold drinks ready for us at the checkin desk and promptly showed us to our room and had the staff bring our bags and park our car for us. (we were on a 2 week trip, so we had a good amount of luggage, souvenirs, etc with us).
The room was beautiful with cold A/C, a super comfortable bed with crisp linens, a large bathroom with tub and separate shower (which we loved, as the entire bathroom is made out of natural stone and very cool), and was spotlessly clean. Perfect for a romantic getaway or just pure relaxation. There was also a turndown service each night, which included fresh bottled waters and chocolates for each of us.
Now to the game drives- Peter is an amazing ranger. He's grown up nearby and literally knows everything about the park and it's animals. He's never intrusive to the animals and gets very close when safe, without harassing or disturbing anything for the most part. He and his tracker, Cassi, found 4 of the big 5 for us. In addition to that he can tell you about hundreds of birds as you drive along, and even pointed out different insects as well in the park. The game drives were never cut short, and we thoroughly enjoyed Peter and Cassi's hilarious stories and professional behavior. They were quite a joy to spend each morning/evening with on the drives. Also, the animals in the park are thriving and you can go off the trails here, unlike Kruger where you have to stay on them- so you have a better chance of seeing/following the animals in Balule.
As for the food at the lodge, it's amazing as well. It's freshly made each day and was never anything but exceptional. My husband and I couldn't believe the quality of the food or the large portions they brought out for each meal. Breakfast usually consisted of cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt, and also a plate of cooked meats and eggs. The lunches were either a hearty salad with grilled meat, or a piping hot dish of something like beef over rice with sauteed veggies. Dinner was always 3 courses that included items like lamb stew with fresh veggies, potatoes, and fried mushrooms that were to die for. They even did a traditional bbq one night for us outside with grilled steaks and filet mignons. Dessert was also exceptional and included items like homeade chocolate mousse or a traditional south african tart. Since you're in the middle of nowhere for the most part, and will never want to leave the hotel grounds once you arrive, the food is very important in our opinion. We never once disliked any of the meals, and when we arrived Shirlene was sure to ask us if there was anything we didn't like to eat or that we preferred to have at a meal. Peter and Shirlene also come by after dessert each evening to chat and have coffee while making you feel very at home.
The grounds in the lodge are fenced in, so it's safe to walk around in the evenings for the most part. The shade trees over the patio outside made dining al fresco a real treat for us. The river is a beautiful backdrop, and we watched countless monkeys, baboons, and impalas drink from it daily while we lounged by the pool and edge of the river.
Overall this is an amazing place to stay. The staff is so warm and friendly that you feel like you're visiting good friends and family rather than a hotel. We hated that fact we had to leave after only 3 nights and will surely return again.
Also, this lodge is one of the best values in the area based on the amazing rooms, food, grounds, and service. Other lodges are much more costly and commercialized. This one would be great for small weddings (we had a destination wedding ourselves in another country) or family reunions as well.
The only thing you might want to consider is that there is really no internet at the lodge- we didn't mind because you're not really there to do business or email, text, etc. but this may bother some- though not us! Just enjoy the property and the countless animals on the drives!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singwe, Owner at Singwe River Lodge, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
Hi!

Thank you for your review -- we are so pleased that you were so happy with your stay with us!
I just wanted to mention that we are in the process of setting up wi-fi internet at our lodge as we realise that some of our guests need to keep in touch with their work/business' while on vacation. Currently we do have some internet signal available for our guests who have their own 3G portable modems -- but unfortunately due to us being so close to the river etc -- we often only receive 2G signal -- which is frustratingly slow for most people.
We have arranged for a company to install a much better signal for us in 2011 and we will have wi-fi hotspots of our guests available at the lodge.
We hope to see you back at our lodge in the future!

Kind regards

Tatiana Solomon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hattem, NL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

After traveling through the Kruger Park, we stayed 3 nights in Singwe Lodge. Finding the lodge was not difficult but driving the last 2 km with our (rented) Toyota Corolla was an adventure in itself. But they will pick you up if driving downhill to the river is too difficult for you or your car. The lodge is beautifully situated overlooking the Olifants River. The accommodation was great, with a (small) swimming pool, beds in the garden, a separate restaurant for the tasteful meals and excellent/friendly service. Balule is a relatively new game reserve. Most animals that are in Kruger are also in this park, but they are a bit more difficult to find. It looks like the animals are less used to people and cars here. The ranger Peter, is a very skillful driver. Together with his assistant he is able to find a lot of animals. It’s exiting and interesting to see how they are using all their senses to trace the animals. My suggestion (in general) is: don't focus too much on finding the big 5. Although we saw 3 of them (buffalos, rhino’s and lions), Peter also showed us other things like birds and smaller animals that are as interesting such as (the nest of) a big baboon spider or giant bright red velvet mites. Altogether I can recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singwe, Owner at Singwe River Lodge, responded to this review, November 25, 2010
Thank you for your review ------ we are happy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay. Please come visit us again sometime in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

I discovered that place by browsing on internet...By utter chance!!! This resort is situated on the Oliphant river bank, in an incredible setting. This is the kind of place where you feel immediately welcome and almost part of the family. We stayed in a cottage 20 feet from the river bank, and slept accompanied by the callings of baboons and lions. The game drives were awesome, directed by a very knowledgeable and friendly guide, and accompanied by a fantastic tracker. We followed a pride of 16 lions over 3 game drives, and were able to learn more about their habits. And, let's not forget the many elephants, giraffes, hippos, crocs, impalas, waterbucks, kudus, baboons, warthogs, white rhino, various birds...and the beautiful scenery. All the personal is friendly, and well trained, and the food was superb! Definitely a place to see!!!
Mireille Barras, Quebec

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singwe, Owner at Singwe River Lodge, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
Thank you for your lovely review of our lodge ---- we hope to see you back again in the near future!

Kind regards

Tatiana Solomon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Singwe is located very beautifully on the banks of the Olifants river, rich with a beautiful selection of game, including the Big 5. It is very secluded, peaceful and very beautiful. The scenery is amazing and being so close to the wild is a great experience. All of this is complimented by friendly and knowlegable staff, always willing to assist, answer questions and go the extra mile to make your African experience at Singwe, memorable and special.

My wife and I wanted to get as far away as possible, but within driving distance from Joburg, for a weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary and Singwe was the perfect choice. I can definitely recommend it.

Thank you Shirlene and Pieter. Great service.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singwe, Owner at Singwe River Lodge, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review of our lodge. We have had many changes since your stay with regards to decor and have upgrades. We hope to see you back soon in the near furture!

Kind regards

Tatiana Solomon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Singwe River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singwe River Lodge

Address: nr Hoedspruit | Greater Kruger Park, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Balule Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent property situated in Balule Reserve, a 40,000 ha reserve in the Greater Kruger National Park, is built on the banks of the mighty Olifants River, which provides many opportunities for game viewing even while in camp ... watch families of elephants who have come down to bathe, lazy hippos surfacing for a yawn, a skittish herd of impala drinking nervously ... and listen for the cry of a fish eagle. At Singwe River Lodge we provide a memorable and affordable luxurious Big Five game experience in a low-risk malaria area, with excellent accommodation in a luxury lodge, delicious food and warm African hospitality. We pride ourselves on the personal attention that each guest receives. Shaded by giant fig trees, the beautiful, tranquil game lodge has accommodation for up to 12 adults in a Manor House and three thatched riverside chalets, a large swimming pool and rolling lawns which extend down to the banks of the Olifants River. Our dinners are served in our African Boma under the night sky around a roaring fire. Alternatively, we serve our meals in our thatched dining area or on the wooden decks overlooking the river.Children of all ages are welcome and a child-minding service is available if parents wish to dine alone or go on a game drive. Singwe is easily accessed with daily flights from Johannesburg, Cape Town and Durban to three international airports close by. The nearest, Eastgate International Airport at Hoedspruit, is about 37 km from Singwe. We can arrange road transfers from the airport to the lodge, as well as from Nelspruit, Phalaborwa and OR Tambo International Airport in Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Singwe River Lodge South Africa/Balule Private Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Singwe River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.