We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Africa experience for all ages!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp to your Saves list
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
R40 | Balule Nature reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Beautiful Africa experience for all ages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great experience at Naledi, for all : my 2 kids (9 and 12 years old), nephew (20 years old) and me... Loved the game drives with our excellent guide Kjell, learned a lot from these wonderfull animals and their habitat...Food was wonderfull and nicely presented.. Our suite was just perfect...
I highly recomend!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    25
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
180
394
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Our bush experience started in Naledi under the expert guide of Kjell the . The bushcamp was small and intimate which suited our family . The staff were attentive and friendly . Our rooms were magnificent and comfortable . WIFI throughout the whole camp was a definite plus . Kjell the owner has insured that the stay at Naledi is going to be of the highest standard . The attention to the smallest details made the stay most enjoyable . The game driving vehicles were in perfect condition and were new . The hot water bottles , blankets and complimentary beenies ensured that we were always warm and comfortable on the game viewing vehicles. Our first game drive did not disappoint . We were so lucky to see a leopard with a baby giraffe kill , throw a hungry hyena into the mix and it makes for an exciting experience. We also saw a pride of lions , rhino , elephants , hippos , warthog etc in subsequent drives . The food was so tasty and healthy .It was prepared with great care and the chef took great pride before each meal to annouce what he had created for us. Every staff member at the camp is attuned to the guests personal needs . Nothing is too much for them . For someone who is looking for a more intimate experience in the bush I would highly recommend Naledi bush camp .

Room Tip: Naledi bushcamp offer 4 rooms , each of which is private and away from the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydenburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great place to stay if you want to experience the African Bush. Great accommodation and hospitality. Kjell and his other rangers are some of the best rangers I came across in the Hoedspruit area. A place you must visit if you visit South Africa and the Hoedspruit area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at Naledi for 3 nights in June and had a wonderful stay and an awesome first-time safari expereince. The location is simply gorgeous. We stayed in the Enkoveni Lodge which was magnificent. It is newer, beautifully decorated and very relaxing. Sometimes it was hard to leave the lodge. Our suite, The Impala Lily was probably the nicest room we have ever stayed in. Very romantic with a big canopy bed, soaker tub, open style indoor and outdoor showers and a huge private deck overlooking a tranquil river. The service and food was simply fabulous. We are mostly vegetarian and the chefs went above and beyond creating delicious meals for us. Meals were served in different settings and the staff even did a romantic dinner in our room for us on our last night. The safaris were so much fun and our expectations were exceeded.
We were very lucky as we were able to see all of the big 5, including the elusive leopard on our first night. We also had the rare opportunity to see 5 female lions and 2 cubs with a fresh kill, only a few meters from the jeep. Thank you to the driver and guide, Sidwell and Opa for tracking and finding all of the animals! The hospitality was wonderful and the staff were so friendly. We truly felt cared about in this intimate family like environment. From the moment of check-in to departure day, Alicia kept on top of every detail and was always there to welcome us home from the game drives with a special liquor and a big smile. We would highly reccomend Naledi and the Enkoveni Camp and would very much love to go back again someday. Thanks again.....Sig and Nicola, Calgary Canada.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Last week i experienced what everybody keeps writing about Naledi. It's a wonderful place to stay.This was our first lodge stay in the Kruger area. And choosing Naledi - Enkoveni turned out to be just right. Our beautiful room with own riverview (in one of the two riverrooms) was a fantastic place just to sit and watch life aorund the river. The whole Enkoveni camp is absolutely wonderful and well kept. Food was really good. And most of all - the whole staff makes the absolute difference. They were all so friendly, welcoming and willing to help. Big smiles met us from all at our arrival and we thought - will this last? And it did. A special thanks to Rozanne, Shaun and Vujani for making our stay personal and special. So do visit Naledi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonestown, PA
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Naledi is found in the Balule Game Reserve, and is very conveniently located just northwest of Hoedspruit. There are two camps - the Bush Camp and Enkoveni Camp. The Bush Camp is small, with just 3-4 units. It's situated next to what appears to be a dry riverbed or waterhole.
The staff and amenities are amazing! The food is excellent, as is the surrounding bush country. There is a beautiful deck that overlooks the waterhole.
We stayed in the Paperbark unit. This seemed to be fairly new and very elegantly appointed and with total consistency with the "bushveld/safari" theme. Our friends stayed in Marula, which seems to be somewhat older, and does not have quite the charm of Paperbark or the other unit. For one thing, the roof is not thatched, as the other units are. To me, thatched roofs absolutley typify the bush and wildlife country.
Game drives with Kjell were amazing! For one thing, when an animal was sighted that required a closer look, we would literally go off the road and go "bundu bashing" to get much closer. As long as we sat still and didn't make any noise, it's amazing how close you can get to certain animals. We got very close to many animals, and 4 of the big 5, including a black rhino.
Enkoveni Camp, just a few kilometers away from Bush Camp, is nothing short of breathtaking. It's brand new, has all the charm of a great bush lodge, and is situated right on the banks of the famous Olifants River. Every unit faces the river. Large, beatiful decks afford great views! A totally relaxing environment!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I wondered if the lodge would live up to its reviews. I was more than impressed. We stayed for 6 nights and all our expectations were exceeded. Transport from Johannesburg was easily arranged. We were met before and after every excursion by welcoming staff. Their ability to individualize an experience like this was indeed impressive. Kjell was an extraordinary guide and host and his staff went out of their way to provide animal encounters, exciting rides through the bush, gourmet meals and lovely accommodations. We saw the Big 5 (almost Big 10) and each experience was above and beyond what was expected.

The daily activities have been described elsewhere so I won't repeat. I will say that we never felt rushed or pushed to do something we didn't want to do. The guides/trackers were focused on giving us our dream experience and they
succeeded. My new dream is to come back!

Room Tip: All the rooms looked wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp

Address: R40 | Balule Nature reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Balule Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just four magnificently appointed chalets sleeping only eight people, right in the heart of Big Five country within the borders of the greater Kruger National Park!!!! Without a doubt, Naledi offers you the most personal, intimate experience anywhere In the region – and at a price often less than half of what you would expect to pay elsewhere! At Naledi we only ever have a maximum of eight guests on our game viewer, only eight relaxing on our beautiful swimming pool deck overlooking the river bed and our private waterhole where one can enjoy the daily parade of animals and birds coming to drink and feed in total peace and tranquility. Our lodge is our passion, showing people our private piece of wild Africa our greatest pleasure, and that means introducing you to the bush and all its creatures, from lions and elephants, to antelope and birds is something we always look forward to ! At Naledi you’ll find aircon throughout, delicious meals, elegant surroundings, a fabulously stocked bar, fun, relaxation and excitement in equal portions, but best of all, you’ll arrive as strangers, and leave as friends!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naledi Bushcamp And Enkoveni Camp Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Naledi Bushcamp And Enkoveni Camp South Africa/Balule Private Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.