We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toddler on Safari? You bet. Wow what a journey. We'll be back.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp to your Saves list
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
R40 | Balule Nature reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Santa Rosa, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Toddler on Safari? You bet. Wow what a journey. We'll be back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I had been to Africa 15 years before on a safari that included the luxurious Londolozi. I had beautiful memories of South Africa and Kruger National Park (especially the elephants who are my favorite). This time I needed to do things differently. We had my step daughter, her husband and 17 month old daughter along. We wanted great food, great service and oh-by-the-way-here's-our-toddler. Many places do not even allow young children in bush camps. I did my homework and found our wonderful friends at Naledi. They didn't skip a beat when they saw our little granddaughter. The welcome couldn't have been warmer. Kjell told us, "They usually just fall asleep on the game drives." Brave man. But he was absolutely right. She did. One night we had an incredible drive where we were surrounded by 9 lions on the move. For that, the baby woke up and said "Gato, Gato, Gato..." This will be the memory of a lifetime. Her mother & I felt safe enough to bring the baby with the incredible experience of Kjell and Craig at the wheel or on foot. Game drives were well done. Kjell is a compendium of information on all things animal, ornithological and mineral. A fantastic outdoorsman. His big bear brother-in-law Craig is a wonderful outdoorsman as well. Excellent barman (they serve some tasty SA wines here too!). And he too was amazing with the baby. She took quite a shine to him. Grandpa was jealous. One can not say enough superlatives about the food. I have dined all over the world and the cuisine at Naledi stands up to any for tasty, healthy and fresh. Sam their chef fixed the baby her own small plate every night; A talented man with a beautiful smile--he came out to announce the menu each night. The rooms were tastefully appointed and made up while you are on your morning game drive. It's so nice to return to a made up room! Last but certainly not least, we admired some lamps and Kjell helped us obtain them from the vendor when we went through Jo'berg on our way home. You have a lot of choices of bush camps. This place truly was tops in all categories. We'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naledibushcamp, Owner at Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Dear Guest Thank you so much for reviewing Naledi, we are so pleased that your grandchild could enjoy these memories with you, it was a pleasure to have your granchild on safari with us.
We look forward to having you back on Safari with us in the not too distant future

Kind regards Kjell and Team Naledi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
176
370
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Naledi lived up to and surpassed our expectations. Because Kjell and his staff have only 8 guests at a time and we had all our (fabulous, sophisticated) meals together, we quickly became a temporary family. Kjell, Craig, Sam the chef and our tracker Sidwell are four of the most energetic people I have met. Their enthusiasm never flagged. Kjell, in particular, is a dynamo who keeps everything running and still has warmth and kindness for the kaleidoscope of guests he meets. Kjell and Sidwell took us out on morning and afternoon drives, 3-4 hours each, with stops for morning coffee and evening sundowners, and every time our treks were an adventure. We chased leopard through the bush, found ourselves surrounded by herds of elephant and Cape buffalo, and saw so many other creatures that my notebook goes on for pages. The cottages were spacious, beautifully furnished and extremely comfortable. Of course everything at Naledi is optional--the drives, the communal meals, etc.--but I recommend going for the full experience in all its charm. We came as guests and left as friends. I hope that this isn't in fact the trip of a lifetime, because I'd love to go back with our family some day!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naledibushcamp, Owner at Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Dear Guest Thank you so much for reviewing Naledi, I am so pleased that we surpassed your expectations and had the privilege of making this a trip of a life time for you and your Husband, we would love to host you at Naledi in the future

Kind regards Kjell and Team Naledi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We spent three days at Naledi as part of a business trip to Africa. We selected Naledi based on Trip Advisor reviews and the desire to stay in a smaller more personal bushcamp. The experience was awesome....every bit as good as the reviews we read. The staff were great, the food was fantastic, the accommodations luxurious without being over the top and the wildlife viewing was amazing. We were so close to a pride of 14 lions that we could have reached out and touched them (not recommended though!)

We appreciated the personal touch of having the owner guide each of our viewing trips and the extra touches like hot water bottles for the morning drive! (it was unseasonably cold when we were there!).

We heartily recommend Naledi and hope to visit again

Room Tip: I would choose the Paperbark suite if a couple and also loved the Leadwood suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naledibushcamp, Owner at Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Dear Guest Thank you so much for reviewing Naledi, I am glad you appreciated the personal touches, this is what we aim to achieve with each and every guest, and the water bottles are a touch we add in the winter months for your comfort Whilst viewing the game with us.

Kind regards Kjell and Team Naledi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naarden, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Naledi is fantastic, Kjell and his team make you feel so welcome. The rooms are beautiful, the meals are great, the gamedrives super! We stayed only one night due to a mistake of our travelagent, but we will be back and then we will stay much longer!!!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naledibushcamp, Owner at Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review, which is greatly appreciated, we are sorry that you could only stay one night,(normally our minimum stay is 2 nights) but we are pleased you enjoyed the short time with us, and glad to hear that you will be back for a longer stay.

We look forward to hosting you again

Kind regards
Kjell and Team Naledi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Naledi means "star". and our stay in Naledi Bush Camp , July 2011 , proved to be a 5 star experience. Naledi Bush Camp was the highlight of our trip in South Africa. Kjell, Kim and Keetah welcomed us into their "home" and treated us like "VIPS". The accommodations were outstanding. Naledi has the perfect accommodations for a family. The food was better than any 5 star restaurant we have been to. The presentation and food selections were well thought out. Each meal was special . Kim made sure we got a true taste of the foods of South Africa. Kjell, the owner was the game drive driver . Kjell has so much enthusiasm and love for what he does. It is quite evident in the way he runs Naldei and it is obvious in the way he conducts the drives. He was determined for us to see the "big five" in our two night stay.
Keetah supplied us with hot water bottles and helped Kjell when we stopped for our morning drive "coffee" break and our afternoon sundowners. Keetah was also proud to show us videos of her father's past spottings . Sydwaal, our spotter, was also amazing. He spent "hours" on foot in the bush determined to track some lions. Naledi is definitely the place to go if you want to have what feels like a personalized safari with all the bells and whistles- great accommodations and service ,excellent food and fantastic game drives. You are in the Balule Nature Reserve which is next to Krueger Park.
Naledi is defintely a "Shining Star" !!

Room Tip: Family room was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naledibushcamp, Owner at Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review, which is greatly appreciated, i am pleased that you and your family enjoyed the sightings with us, and Sydwel is always ready to go the extra mile on foot to ensure that we deliver, Sam and Kim appreciate your comments on the food and the presentation, thank you so much


Kind regards
Kjell and Team Naledi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Had the first leg of our honeymoon here. From our arrival at the camp to our departure 4 days later we were treated with 5* service, amazing food and most importantly fabulous game drives! The team works tirelessly to ensure every guest has the best time possible. We saw the big 5 and many more animals. We learnt so much; Kjell was able and happy to answer and discuss every question we could think of. We were both very sad when it was time to leave. You will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naledibushcamp, Owner at Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review, which is greatly appreciated, We are priviliged to have you celebrate your honeymoon with us.

We look forward to hosting you in the future again @ Naledi

Kind regards
Kjell and Team Naledi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

I really can't write anything different than anything else people have said. If you want a private place where your needs are catered to then this is the right place. we saw 4 of the big 5. lots of animals, the cottage we had was really nice. perfect start to the trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naledibushcamp, Owner at Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review, which is greatly appreciated, we are pleased that you enjoyed your safari experience with us and that we lived upto your expectations

Kind regards
Kjell and Team Naledi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp

Address: R40 | Balule Nature reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Balule Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just four magnificently appointed chalets sleeping only eight people, right in the heart of Big Five country within the borders of the greater Kruger National Park!!!! Without a doubt, Naledi offers you the most personal, intimate experience anywhere In the region – and at a price often less than half of what you would expect to pay elsewhere! At Naledi we only ever have a maximum of eight guests on our game viewer, only eight relaxing on our beautiful swimming pool deck overlooking the river bed and our private waterhole where one can enjoy the daily parade of animals and birds coming to drink and feed in total peace and tranquility. Our lodge is our passion, showing people our private piece of wild Africa our greatest pleasure, and that means introducing you to the bush and all its creatures, from lions and elephants, to antelope and birds is something we always look forward to ! At Naledi you’ll find aircon throughout, delicious meals, elegant surroundings, a fabulously stocked bar, fun, relaxation and excitement in equal portions, but best of all, you’ll arrive as strangers, and leave as friends!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naledi Bushcamp And Enkoveni Camp Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Naledi Bushcamp And Enkoveni Camp South Africa/Balule Private Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.