We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend for a memorable safari experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp to your Saves list
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
R40 | Balule Nature reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommend for a memorable safari experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

I stayed at Naledi with a colleague when we had a free weekend between two weeks of meetings in the Johannesburg area. We chose this bushcamp because it had great reviews on TripAdvisor. I am writing my first TripAdvisor review today because I had a wonderful time during my two-night stay tat Naledi that exceeded my expectations:

The number one aspect of Naledi: the great staff. Kjell and Kim make you feel right at home - and the smaller size of the camp (I think it accomodates 8 at a time?) is conducive to intimate conversations around the dinner table at night. Kjell's passion for safari and wildlife is infectious. His guiding is very informative, and he is a great driver (the vehicle is also quite comfortable). His tracker, Sidwell, is also very skilled - he knows the reserve terrain like the back of his hand and a few times traced tracks to actual game sightings. They emphasized that safari sightings are largely dependant on luck, but I think our success in viewing so much game also had to do with what a great team they make!

Other highlights:
The charming "coffee break" and "time for sundowners" portions of the safari drives - very fun!
Consistently delicious food.
Quiet evenings where you could hear all the stirrings of wildlife (including lions roaring!).
Luxurious showers (make sure to bring your own shampoo and conditioner).
Great internet access.
Nice pool area - perfect for relaxing in the late morning/early afternoon between rides.

If I ever get an opportunity to do safari again, I will certainly be coming back to Naledi!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
176
369
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

We stayed at Naledi for 3 nights over Easter, one of many destinations on ourtwo and a half week trip around South Africa, and we wish we could have stayed at Naledi for the full 17 nights!!

Our stay was faultless, from the initial warm welcome to our final sad farewell. The lodge is beautiful - we stayed in the Paperbark Suite with an amazing outdoor shower! In addition to the lovely bedroom, the lodge has multiple dining areas, a large viewing deck, a bar and sun terrace with swimming pool opening out onto an amazing view of the bush.

Kim was the most attentive host ever... waiting out in the rain for us to return from an eveninggame drive with an armful of umbrellas, or when it wasn't raining, lighting the outdoor candles and offering up a welcome-back drink of Amarula! Every single meal served up was delightful - Kim's menus are innovative, delicious and beautifully presented.

Our safari experience was amazing too - we were spoilt for viewings. Craig and Billy were excellent rangers / spotters / drivers and we seemed to always be ahead of the other lodges in terms of sightings. On our six drives we saw so many animals, including monkeys, impala, water buffalo, warthog, hippos, giraffe, zebra, lions (chowing down on their kill!) and herds of elephant! We also took Billy up on his offer of a walking safari, which despite the insane heat, was a worthwhile experience learning about the vegetation, some of the smaller wildlife and interesting tracking techniques.

On top of everything already mentioned, everyone at the lodge went out of their way to assist my partner in surprising me with the most perfectly romantic proposal ever! Both in the run up to our trip, and whilst we were there, Kjell, Kim and Craig all helped ease my partners nerves incredibly by organising the most magical location and subsequent candlelit dinner back at the lodge - thank you all so much for creating such an amazing memory to be cherished forever :o)

I honestly cannot recommend Naledi enough. I conducted extensive research prior to our trip, and to save you the effort... book Naledi!! In addition to the amazing wildlife and beautiful lodge it really is the care and attention provided by the owners and staff that make this place truly special.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naledibushcamp, Owner at Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for reviewing Naledi, Thank you for allowing us to be part of such a wonderful moment "your engagement" this was the first at Naledi and we look forward to hosting you for your honeymoon !

We wish you both all the best and many years of happiness

Kind regards
Kjell and team Naledi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Better late than never - stayed at Naledi in FEB and it would be unfair not to have written this review.

The level of personalised attention you get at Naledi is to be experienced to be believed. This starts with Craig picking you up at the airport pickup and is followed by being warmly greeted by Kjell's family at the camp.... there are numerous instances to quote. For the sake of clarity, your privacy is never intruded upon.

The safaris are not to be missed, especially the sundowners in the middle of the forest and, Kjell's enthusiasm for nature and wildlife is infectious. Saw lions on our first outing and spent a good 10 minutes is very close (but safe) proximity.

The rooms are airy / spacious and are spotless. The main bar/lounge area has several african artifacts and is a cosy place to relax in the evening. The upper deck provides a great view of the forest and a perfect place to spend a lazy afternoon.

The food is OUTSTANDING - be it the presentation or the taste - thanks Kim.

We spent 3 nights at Naledi and could have easily spent a week more... Thanks Kjell and team...Gitu, Neha, Chandan and Jaideep

Room Tip: Don't waste time researching - book Naledi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naledibushcamp, Owner at Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for reviewing Naledi, and am pleased that you enjoyed the sundowners in the bush with us after your close encounter with our wonderful lions.

Your Tip to future prospective guests is greatly appreciated.

Kind regards
Kjell and team Naledi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

We stayed at Naledi for 3 nights at the back end of March 2011 .... WOW!

The quality and attention to detail is scary; the game drives are intelligent and 'up close and personal', the food (cooked by Kim) is some of the best we have ever tasted, the rooms are exquisite each time you return, the next beer is almost poured before you ask as you laze by the pool ... this is what puts Naledi above the rest. Kjell, Craig, Kim and Billy are hosts of the highest caliber, amongst the most beautiful scenery and within the most luxurious accommodation.

We went to Naledi on the back of the rave reviews, and I implore you do the same. Hands down the best 3 days of mine and Erins life. Thank you Kjell + co.

(We'll be back soon!)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naledibushcamp, Owner at Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for reviewing Naledi, I am glad we could make your 3 day stay the best time of your lives, it was a pleasure hosting you in our little piece of paradise and getting you to expierience our wildlife up close and personal.

Look forward to hosting you again


Kind regards
Kjell and team Naledi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Great hospitality, exquisite attention to detail, superb location, delicious gourmet food, fabulous game drives with coffee breaks and blankets in between getting close to a herd of buffalos. Can't ask for more.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naledibushcamp, Owner at Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for reviewing Naledi, I am pleased that you enjoyed your up and personal experiences with all our wonderful wildlife here in balule Nature reserve.

Kind regards
Kjell and team Naledi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Having heard many good things – great game drives, good food, and luxurious surroundings -- we planned our safari trek to S. Africa and Botswana around the Naledi. Coming from far away Hong Kong, we had high expectations for a fantastic safari experience. To say we were not disappointed would be an understatement.

We stayed at the Naledi in late April for 3 nights in the Leadwood Suite and Marula Suite. Our group consisted of two families with 3 children: ages 7, 7 and 2. Both rooms have rich African decorations, plenty of space, open showers and comfy beds and sheets with a fantastic view to the bush. Meals are served at three wonderful locations: breakfast in front of the bar; lunch on the open second level with fresh breezes and spectacular views of the reserves and mountains to enjoy; and dinners are candlelit affairs on an open deck near the pool. All this is packaged on cozy grounds complete with torches at night to light your way and neatly trimmed gardens within the grounds.

That is all nice, but it is Kjell and team Naledi’s passion and attention to detail that raises the experience from good to great. That plus the intimate environment they are able to create. Game drives were well coordinated, with Kjell leading the way and Billy acting as tracker. They are not just chauffeuring you though the bush with hordes of other cars around you, but looking for clues, tracking down game, adjusting game plan according to what comes in front of you: transporting you to another world. We chose Naledi in part because they allow kids on the game drives, but looking back, we would recommend Naledi because of the wonder the experience brought to our kids.

The schedule is well thought through, and well executed, from morning to night. It starts with morning call to get you going on your drive. Torches, blankets, hats, rain ponchos, water? Yes, all there in front of you. Craig of Naledi coordinating game drives from home base. Kjell sharing his extensive knowledge of the bush and it’s wildlife with you and taking you within inches of a lions eating their kill. Meals served soon after you arrive from game drives, prepared by Sam who explains his dishes for you and Kim and her excellent baking skills. Lazing around after drives on the Naledi grounds personally decorated by Kjell’s wife Kim and, drinks before dinner…perfect! And the next day, you are looking forward to more!

We left Naledi armed with gigabytes of great photos and smiles on our faces. Come on you ask, weren’t there downsides? Ok, yes, there were not separate shampoo bottles provided. Suggestions on tipping the staff could perhaps be made more clear. But perhaps the biggest downside? Going to your next safari destination, because the Naledi has now left a pretty high bar for that to be measured against.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naledibushcamp, Owner at Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for reviewing Naledi, I am pleased that we could make your first african safari a good one and that you left with many digital images to relive the trip over and over again.

Unfortunately we dont supply shampoo as we have found that the majority of guests have there personal preference, however there is shampoo available in case you have forgotten you own and we will glaly supply on request.

Tipping is an extremely difficult issue as so many people have different views on this and we believe that this should be at your personal discretion, our staff are extremely greatful for any tips they recieve.

Kind regards
Kjell and team Naledi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANGALORE
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Trip to Naledi is not just another safari, it's a joyful experience of fun, food, warmth and animal sighting. With only 3 / 4 families accommodated at a time, team Naledi (Kjell, Kim and Craig) ensures everyone feels at home and part of their extended family for the day. Our experience in Naledi was great. We stayed for 2 nights. Our stay was very very comfortable and the only regret – wish we could have stayed longer. The food was awesome every time, well presented and delicious, thanks to Kim. The game drives were thrilling and thoroughly enjoyable. Even my 5 year old kid enjoyed every moment of the trip. We saw lot’s of Lions, Water buffalos, herd of elephants apart from regular sighting of other animals. Overall it was a charming experience to remember forever. Two thumbs up.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naledibushcamp, Owner at Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for reviewing Naledi, We are pleased that we could make the experience a memorable one for your 5 year old, and that his love for nature further grows after this expierience.

Kind regards
Kjell and team Naledi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp

Address: R40 | Balule Nature reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Balule Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just four magnificently appointed chalets sleeping only eight people, right in the heart of Big Five country within the borders of the greater Kruger National Park!!!! Without a doubt, Naledi offers you the most personal, intimate experience anywhere In the region – and at a price often less than half of what you would expect to pay elsewhere! At Naledi we only ever have a maximum of eight guests on our game viewer, only eight relaxing on our beautiful swimming pool deck overlooking the river bed and our private waterhole where one can enjoy the daily parade of animals and birds coming to drink and feed in total peace and tranquility. Our lodge is our passion, showing people our private piece of wild Africa our greatest pleasure, and that means introducing you to the bush and all its creatures, from lions and elephants, to antelope and birds is something we always look forward to ! At Naledi you’ll find aircon throughout, delicious meals, elegant surroundings, a fabulously stocked bar, fun, relaxation and excitement in equal portions, but best of all, you’ll arrive as strangers, and leave as friends!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naledi Bushcamp And Enkoveni Camp Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Naledi Bushcamp And Enkoveni Camp South Africa/Balule Private Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.