We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tremisana Game Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balule Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tremisana Game Lodge
Save
You added Tremisana Game Lodge to your Saves list
Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed at Tremisana lodge first before going to Marc's Treehouse Lodge. Both places are run by a company called viva safaris.the lodge is very beautiful . The gardens there are nicely kept and the pool side is very relaxing. The lodge has monkeys on the premises called vervet monkeys. they are a bit of a nuisance during meals but they add to the feel of being in the wild. the down side is that the lodge is a bit too close to the road. You do hear the occassional truck here and there. The first night we did what they call the sunset drive it was a good drive and i loved seeing the sunset . I just wish we had enough time to relax between the game drive and the time we arrived. The drive from Johannesburg to the lodge is long i must say. The next day we did the morning bushwalk. it starts very early but it is worth it. i saw some hippos and we came across rhinos as well. the guides are good. we even had a dung spitting competition. i loved it. it was good fun. i only spent a night at tremisana and then moved to the treehouse lodge.if i had known i would have just paid extra when i made my initial booking and stayed at Tremisana. The food is much better at Tremisana than Marc's Treehouse. At Tremisana the breakfast is much longer and more filling. overally i enjoyed my stay at Tremisana and thank you so much to the ladies and guides at Tremisana.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaSafaris, General Manager at Tremisana Game Lodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi Fanay

Thanks for a great review. We appreciate your positive comments about the staff and food.

We are aware of the proximity of the road - we actually bought this property with this facet in mind as we leave the Olifants West Reserve every day to do other game activities - mainly visits to Kruger Park, Tshukudu Game Reserve, Moholoholo Rehab Centre and others. In the rainy season it becomes especially difficult to travel the sand roads and arrive on time at these other exciting wildlife centres. If our lodge were very far from the main gate we would not be able to guarantee punctual arrival times because of poor road conditions. We have attempted to cushion the traffic noise by building attractive water features as well as constructing sand mounds.

I am pleased that you found Tremisana Lodge to be a "good place"

Thanks for your lovely review.
Kind regards

Piero
General Manager, Viva Safaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    81
    14
    7
    0
See reviews for
42
67
69
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I had a very excellent stay in this lodge. The room was big enough for me, the food was awesome and most especially the staff were incredible. Thank you for taking care of me while I was there. Keep up the good work guys!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Everything about this was brilliant and I want to go back now. Lodge is incredibly luxurious, and I made good use of the pool! All the staff are so kind, especially Wesley. Animal sightings were also incredible. Basically it was awesome.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaSafaris, General Manager at Tremisana Game Lodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi Charlie

Thank you for a great review !
Good to hear everything was "brilliant ". I am happy that the pool came in handy - it gets very hot in Summer.
I am really pleased to hear that you want to come back "now". I hope that your "now" will happen in the very near future - you are always welcome !

Wes says "Hi"

Kind regards

Piero

General Manager, Viva Safaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We enjoyed all the excursions, bush walk and especially the champagne breakfast.
All the staff were so friendly and helpful.
The whole week/program and all activities were very well planned.
We would definitely recommend Tremisana as the rooms were also very clean and tidy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaSafaris, General Manager at Tremisana Game Lodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi Anet

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great report !

I am especially pleased that you found our safaris well planned and that everything went well.

I agree that the Champagne Breakfast is a big highlight - out in the bush, watching the animals and enjoying wild Africa with a glass of bubbly - what can be better ?

Kind regards

Piero

General manager, Viva Safaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Our safari experience is awesome. Alice, Rai, Thabo, Isaac, Bongani (and company), the kitchen staff & trackers are the best in caring for our safety & comfort. The guides are knowledgeable and relentless in pursuing wild animal sightings for the thrills of their guests. They show care for the wild animals and the guests specially. We only have happy memories of our stay at Kruger Park.

Also, the food and ambiance are great---very South African. I highly recommend Tremisana Game Lodge to anyone who values friendly staff, nice accommodation and great safari experience.
ND, Connecticut, USA

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and clean---but you can hear your adjoining-room-neighbors' conversations if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaSafaris, General Manager at Tremisana Game Lodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi there

Thanks for a fantastic review ! Wow !

I am glad that your group of 8 were fully satisfied - it is not an easy task to keep such a large number of guests happy all the time .

The Tremisana Lodge staff say thank you and really like the fact that no-one has ever said that Marc's Treehouse Lodge 'rocks' !

I am especially pleased that you found our guides so good. It is really super to hear that they are "relentless" in pursuing animals so that you can have great sightings and great photos.

Once again, our sincere appreciation for a truly wonderful review.

Piero

General Manager, Viva Safaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The safari rides my family went on were so much fun! From the sunset drive, to the bush walk -- it was all a great experience. The leaders of the safari rides were also very knowledgeable and made the safari rides more fun! The lodge itself was very cozy and comfortable. The staff were friendly and the food was wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very kind and caring staff who made me feel very accommodated as a solo traveler. Fantastic and authentic meals and service. The game drives and excursions were truly amazing. I did a three-day and would absolutely have loved to stay for the longer itineraries. Would recommend to ANYONE who is traveling to Kruger Park area.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tremisana Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tremisana Game Lodge

Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Private Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Balule Private Game Reserve
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tremisana Game Lodge was a founder member of the Balule Game Reserve. Tremisana is the largest and leading lodge in this section, having a total of 12 chalets plus a two-bedroomed guesthouse. We can sleep a maximum of 35 guests. Every unit is en suite ( shower, toilet, basin ) and all units are air-conditioned.The lodge is serviced by two excellent boreholes. Its proximity to the tar road means Tremisana is easily accessible all year round, including the rainy season. The presence of lions, elephant and buffalo necessitates the maintaining of an electric fence around the camp. Perhaps the most striking feature of Tremisana Game Lodge is the beautiful gardens. The presence of numerous bougainvilleas and various palms and cycads gives the camp a subtropical feel. Water features add a soothing effect and the overall feel of Tremisana is very relaxing. At night, the subdued light from the illuminated paved walkways lend a romantic and magical flavour to this outstanding camp. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tremisana Game Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Tremisana Game Lodge South Africa/Balule Private Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tremisana Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.