We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tremisana Game Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balule Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tremisana Game Lodge
Save
You added Tremisana Game Lodge to your Saves list
Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

This is the second visit to Tremisana Game Lodge. As expected the staff made the whole week an experience not to be missed. They were all wonderful. The game views were fantastic, the food was great, rooms were very clean what more can one want! We had a bigger room last time we were there, so the smaller room this time was a bit disapointing, but still worth while being there. Being able to see animals whilst having breakfast was fantastic. We were poleased to see the smaller things, like the different bird life, as well as the big five.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    76
    12
    7
    0
See reviews for
40
59
65
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed for a week at Tremisana Lodge in February 2011. I cannot rate this place highly enough. The staff were fantastic - very friendly and informative. The variety of activities was well balanced and really interesting. The whole thing was very flexible and everyone went out of their way to ensure that we had a fantastic experience. Because of its access to the smaller game reserves, we found that Tremisana was also able to offer more personalised and 'up close' encounters with the natural environment. The accommodation was lovely as was the food! I have a lot of food allergies and the staff were really helpful in accommodating my requirements. We found the guides to be very approachable and knowledgeable- they weren't constantly pushing the Big 5 (although we did get to see them all!) and shared some fascinating insights into what is often forgotten by the tourist trade - the role of the insects, the importance of the food chain and the ecological balance - in short we learnt a huge amount and had a great time!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

This place is awesome. We are a family of 5 with young and teenage kids. They simply love this place. Staff is always very helpful and keen to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Although we stayed just for 1 night before we are transfer to our treehouse accommodation (our choice), we find the whole experience unforgettable especially with the braai dinner. The game drives were excellent as well.

Only complaint that I have is that the lodge did not provide for shampoo which was told that they ran out. No big deal and just minor regret or otherwise, a total great experience for me and my family

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mangilao guam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

This is a wonderful destination if you want to have a fun in the South African Bush. We went in december, which is the rainy season, so the trees are all full and the animals are out with their newly born. The lodges are very personal and the staff are incredibly accommodating and friendly. I would recommend the lodge to anyone who wants a unique, entertaining, and personal experience.

Room Tip: There are monkeys at this location so if you have a specific aversion to these animals, i suppose yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

A very relaxing place to be...lots of laughs and good food to be had here! The morning had us breakfasting with a local giraffe :0)

Would recommend to try a day here!

Happy travels.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Me & my friend was at Tremisana Lodge for a few days. We were taken such good care of!! We felt like home. The meals were great.
The employees seem to go out of their way to make the vacation good for visitors.
I recommend this for everyone!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Tremisana Game Lodge is such a wonderful place - monkeys play on the roof of your room in the morning - the staff is incredibly friendly and very accommodating. Florence, the manager was the best. I'll be back Tremisana! You were great!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tremisana Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tremisana Game Lodge

Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Balule Private Game Reserve
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tremisana Game Lodge was a founder member of the Balule Game Reserve. Tremisana is the largest and leading lodge in this section, having a total of 12 chalets plus a two-bedroomed guesthouse. We can sleep a maximum of 35 guests. Every unit is en suite ( shower, toilet, basin ) and all units are air-conditioned.The lodge is serviced by two excellent boreholes. Its proximity to the tar road means Tremisana is easily accessible all year round, including the rainy season. The presence of lions, elephant and buffalo necessitates the maintaining of an electric fence around the camp. Perhaps the most striking feature of Tremisana Game Lodge is the beautiful gardens. The presence of numerous bougainvilleas and various palms and cycads gives the camp a subtropical feel. Water features add a soothing effect and the overall feel of Tremisana is very relaxing. At night, the subdued light from the illuminated paved walkways lend a romantic and magical flavour to this outstanding camp. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tremisana Game Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Tremisana Game Lodge South Africa/Balule Private Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tremisana Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.