We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Singita Boulders Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Singita Boulders Lodge to your Saves list
Singita Boulders Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Singita Sabi Sand Reserve, Kruger National Park 0, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Boulders & Lebombo Combo
Gilbert, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Singita really knows what they're doing, from the design of the rooms and property, to the outstanding staff, incredible food, and talented guides. All the 'little' things, like greeting us on return from a game drive with warm moistened towels, calling us by name, starting a fire in our room at night, and even drawing a bubble bath on our last night - these all have made this a special place that will surely be visited by us again. It felt like we were family. We had the great opportunity to have Dylan and Ruel as our guides and trackers - their love for the bush is infectious, and they us so much about tracking and wildlife. Highly recommend!

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    6
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
35
90
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

From the moment you arrive the service/friendliness shown by the staff is some of the best I have known. The rooms are truly stunning with virtually one side glass. Although the stand alone bath and the indoor shower were fantastic, we tended to use the outdoor shower the most. The swimming pool is the least used thing on the property as everyone uses their own plunge pool and sun loungers. The cellar is a real surprise with its natural boulders and huge variety of wines, the only downside I can think is that you do share your evening meal with moths & bugs, but I suppose that's to be expected in the wild. The guides were brilliant they make sure you see everything you possibly can, I mentioned I had not seen a cheater or wild dogs, that morning they managed to find both.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Go, spend, do it. Boulders is incredible. From the service to the game viewing, our stay was spectactular. The rooms are stunning with expansive views and incredible bathrooms (indoor and outdoor showers). While not on game drives, we safaried from our private plunge pool. The wildlife was plentiful even though we were at Boulders during an unexpected cold front and rainstorm. Each day included lion, leopard and cheetah sightings with copious amounts of other opportunities for viewing.

The staff is great and the food is terrific. My wife legitimately cried as we took off from the private airstrip at Boulders (even though we were heading to another Singita property). We have already booked for next year (and have been buying powerball tickets since we returned to finance it). However, you finance a trip to South Africa, make sure it includes a trip to Boulders, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at Boulders after our visit to Sweni. Boulders has twelve residences and a larger property than Sweni with six residences. The unbelievable guest model at Sweni is replicated at Boulders. As leopards are scarce at Sweni, Boulders offers good opportunities for viewing. When we were there, however, leopards sightings were few..the luck of the day. Boulders does have abundant bird viewing opportunities and the guide was very knowledgeable.
A 2000 bottle wine cellar offers daily tastings with a knowledgeable sommelier and the in room massage was as good as it gets anywhere.

Room Tip: Residence #12 also has an exterior pool where elephants come to drink. Memorable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Singita is spectacular in every way. The lodge itself is situated in a stunning setting on the bank of the Sand River, in a prime game viewing area. It is beautifully appointed and facilitates a perfect blend of nature and comfort. The staff is enthusiastic, well-trained, and eager to make your experience everything it can be-- Francois and Sendilay (sp?), our guide/tracker team, were exceptionally knowledgable, kind, funny, and talented. They worked incredibly hard to track down everything we wanted to see. In four nights we had great viewing of the Magnificent 7 (Big 5 + cheetah and wild dog) many times over. The culinary experience was excellent and the wine cellar, while limited almost entirely to South African wines, was great, particularly when considering that it is complimentary. Boma night was fun as well. To seasoned safari travelers, especially ones that frequent Botswana, Namibia, and Zambia, it may seem a bit "too close to civilization" and not quite wild enough, but nevertheless Boulders is an outstanding location!

Room Tip: Rooms 1-8 are best-- 8 is beautiful and has incredible views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Singita Boulders is an absolutely gorgeous lodge with outstanding food, an extensive wine cellar, an exceptional staff and excellent animal viewing. Unlike many lodges where the driver also serves as the tracker, Singita has a two person team. Since the property is private, the animal viewing is uncrowded and very close.

A "feature" during our visit was a semi-resident leopard family. We spotted the cub in an outdoor shower, the mother on the roof of one of the buildings and the father at the front entrance to the property. The leopard family did not appear to be bothered by people and did not seem to be threatening, although we gave them a respectful distance. Since leopards can be difficult to spot in the bush, we considered the family's presence at the lodge to be a bonus.

My only very mild "complaint" about Singita Boulders is that each guest room is completely enclosed. At many other lodges, the guest room is an elaborate tent which is more open to the sounds/smells of the surrounding game park.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I’m writing this in a state of mild depression…devastated to have left one of the most magnificent pieces of property on this continent and, more importantly, saddened to have left a crew of incredibly dedicated individuals who together made our three day stay a quite unforgettable experience.

Singita puts all the pieces together so seamlessly and with such class that results in a product that genuinely soars above its top-class competitors. It is fascinating at how cleverly Singita subtly incorporates a compilation of clever added extras that enhance one’s stay: the basket for holding everything on the land rover, the much needed poncho/fleece, sun tan lotions and bug sprays, hot water bottles on the vehicle (a serious win!), unobtrusive headsets for quiet communication between the rangers, spacious seating and central storage and drink holders on the vehicle, food packs for our airport transfer, food bags on the vehicles for the kids, game and bird books plus spare binoculars on the vehicle, waters at the start of our drives etc etc.

Then there are the larger more obvious superior quality items like the pre-drive teas, cakes and snacks, the top quality and multiple option meal choices, the dream wine list, the sommelier, the vast expansive lodge rooms and deck, the ranger and tracker protocols, the activity options, and the overall lodge experience. In my opinion, however, these are all surpassed by the quite phenomenal team that have been put together on the ground. And that includes both the ‘front office’ compliment and the glorious happy and friendly cleaning, and kitchen staff that we only get to experience when the lodge choir comes out to play.

As if these Singita specific attributes were not enough, the Singita Boulders team’s dedication and innovation in creating the most magical 3 days for my daighter’s 10th birthday just blew us away. Her “goody bag” in our room (child friendly toiletries, paints and drawing books, activity guides, and pool noodle), personal cards and letters, travel mugged hot chocolate for the cold morning drives, personalized menus, and, of course, hot vanilla milk and chocolate chip cookies waiting in our room after a long evening drive. But wait, there’s more: the personal welcome by the Boulder’s choir singing happy birthday and other traditional songs and presentation of a beautiful chocolate cake after our last drive was truly sensational. And the very personal cookie decorating experience with our ranger and butler – just so dedicated and meaningful.

My daughter kept telling me that her jaw was so sore from her continuously beaming smile, but it was the tears in her eyes as she hugged our brilliant butler Shepard on our leaving that really resonated with me. He was a master at making me feel so comfortable and content, and my daughter so special and cared for. His friendly smile and unobtrusive attention epitomise all that is Singita.

Our ranger, Ross, is without a doubt the most genuine, passionate and knowledgeable ranger I have ever had the pleasure of being guided by. But it is his unwavering dedication to his guests that truly distinguishes him. No matter how early we wanted to go out, or how late we wanted to come back, or any activity in between, Ross’s enthusiasm was faultless. He completely dedicated his attention to my daughter and ensured she left Singita with a significantly enhanced knowledge of the bush, some serious tracking skills, a beginner’s course in Shangaan, and an overzealous approach to cookie decorating!

What a place. What a memory. Whether you are looking for your first game lodge experience, or if you are a seasoned safari traveler, Singita provides you with the best collection of lodges in Africa, and accompanies it with world class 6 star service and an experience you will never forget.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Singita Boulders Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singita Boulders Lodge

Address: Singita Sabi Sand Reserve, Kruger National Park 0, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Singita Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Singita Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Singita Boulders Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Singita Boulders, situated in the exclusive Sabi Sand Reserve on 45,000 acres of private reserve, is built around the theme of nature. This private reserve is an area known for prolific wildlife and exlusive game viewing. Beautifully appointed alongside the Sand River, Boulders Lodge exhibits an air of tranquility with 12 luxury suites all air-conditioned and each with private plunge pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Singita Boulders Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singita Boulders Hotel Singita Private Game Reserve
Singita Boulders Lodge South Africa/Singita Private Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Singita Boulders Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.