We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Singita Boulders Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Singita Boulders Lodge to your Saves list
Singita Boulders Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Singita Sabi Sand Reserve, Kruger National Park 0, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Ultimate experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and myself spent two night's in Boulders last year in February as part of our honeymoon, and we had the best time of our life!
From the meet and greet at the airport in Johannes burg to our guide Lisa and our tracker Syd, we had a lovely time.
We saw all the big 5 and enjoyed beautiful weather on all 3 days. The lodging is the best, our house had outdoor shower, large patio with a pool and a beautiful bathroom as well.

The common areas was oustanding, the same with the food and wine. All is included in the price.

As specail thank you to Miss Vivian, we will never forget you!

All the best from Jeanette and Arne

PS! Sorry for the late review!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    6
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
35
91
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Widdington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This simply was the trip of a lifetime. From the moment you are met to the time you leave you are treated like royalty. The service is first class and all the people are so friendly. A truly fantastic experience. We were located in Room 7 which is magnificent, large and well kitted out with all facilities. The back is all glass with a view to die for across the river where we witnessed many elephants and buffalo and enjoyed our own balcony and pool. The food and wine were awesome and many thanks to Jennifer for her excellent advise on wine pairings. Our guides Chris and Lawrence with his magic stick were truly fantastic and a joy to be with, and in my opinion they could not be bettered with their knowledge and interest and help they gave to us novices on the drives a fascinating insight on the tracks of the various animals. Needless to say the animal sightings exceeded all our expectation!! The last night with a 5 course dinner in the bush and wine pairings to celebrate my wife's birthday was just magical. This is a very special place - if you can please go you will not be disappointed with anything.

Room Tip: We were in room 7 - could not be bettered!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenson, Maryland, USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had requested a suite 1-7 as per many reviews on Trip Advisor. We were taken to #11 although we did mention our request. None of those was available, but Andrew told us perhaps one would be on the next day. Our suite had an odor which we thought was due to spraying. It was, however,due to mildew which they tried to fix the next day by spraying and the day after that by ionizing. It wasn't pleasant to be in the room at all.
That said, the food was delicious, the wines were special, and the safari trips outstanding. We were sorry that in the end, we wouldn't be able to recommend this place.

Room Tip: Suites 1-7 are on the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanalynF, Manager at Singita Boulders Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Although suites 1 to 7 are on the river’s edge, suites 11 and 12 offer breathtaking views over a waterhole and guests here are privy to tranquility and up-close experiences with birdlife and animals that frequent this spot. The rooms are actually a bit more spacious and on a number of occasions when we offer guests the choice, they will choose these rooms.
However as with all of our thatched lodges after a season of rain the thatch in the suites develops a faint straw smell and this is what might be experienced from time to time. On a regular basis we ozonate suites and freshen them as much as possible without over-odorizing and detracting from the scents of the natural bush.
Andrew Temblett - Singita Boulders Assistant Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We are fortunate to have travelled all around the world and stayed in the best hotels and can say without hesitation that this lodge offered the best experience of them all. The accommodation is well designed and stylish and every need is catered for. Each and every staff member is focussed on guest satisfaction and this is monitored carefully by local on-site management (husband and wife team) and at a Director level at 'head office' where each and every guest comment is read by a Director.
The lodge has a fantastic location right on the bank of Sand River and the natural advantages that this offers combined with the passion for customer service is unbeatable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Singita Boulder is absolutely wonderful. It scores a 100 out of 100 in my book. Be sure if you are on your honeymoon you ask for the private dinning experience. It is one of a kind. When we arrived we though we were meeting a dozen other guests. It took a few minutes to realize that the entire bush set up was just for us. I am talking: Chef, Butlers, Guards, Servers, Sommelier, etc. Candles lined a 30 meter perimeter. They had a bar set-up. Not just a few bottles of wine and whiskey-- I am talking NYC style bar, anything you wanted was available. They must have carted sooo much out just for us I almost felt guilty. Almost :-). The dinner was the finest moment of a 14 day trip (that included Royale Malewane and Ellerman House).
I can spend all day going on and on how special this place is but so many already have. So I will give it it's earned 5 stars and leave it at that.

Room Tip: Ask for the private dinning if you are on your honeymoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This place is amazing! Hideously expensive but after our stay I would have to say worth every cent! Rooms are great with your own private pool. Watching the wildlife from poolside is surreal. Food is excellent. Service is top notch, unobtrusive and efficient. Now I know how royalty feel like. Save up and go. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Singita Boulders is amazing. We loved it and we partnered it with Singita Lebombo. While we loved the Lebombo camp better, we loved the greenery of Boulders landscape. The people at both are amazing. Boulders is older, so a bit more dated. Do I think it should be priced the same as Lebombo, no...but then maybe I'm being too picky.
Honestly, this trip was the best of a lifetime. You will not regret.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Singita Boulders Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singita Boulders Lodge

Address: Singita Sabi Sand Reserve, Kruger National Park 0, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Singita Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Singita Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Singita Boulders Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Singita Boulders, situated in the exclusive Sabi Sand Reserve on 45,000 acres of private reserve, is built around the theme of nature. This private reserve is an area known for prolific wildlife and exlusive game viewing. Beautifully appointed alongside the Sand River, Boulders Lodge exhibits an air of tranquility with 12 luxury suites all air-conditioned and each with private plunge pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Singita Boulders Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singita Boulders Hotel Singita Private Game Reserve
Singita Boulders Lodge South Africa/Singita Private Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Singita Boulders Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.