We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tented experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps to your Saves list
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Orpen Road | P.O. Box 786064, Kruger National Park 1360, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Mosman, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tented experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Honeyguide provided a fantastic experience with their tented camp. The game drives, food and service were all first class but it was the thrill of sleeping out in the open that topped off a great stay.

We saw 4 of the Big 5 and to experience them at such a close distance just added to the experience. I would thoroughly recommend this as a place to start a safari holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Stephen O, thank you for posting your comments on your March stay at Honeyguide. We are delighted that you enjoyed your safari at Honeyguide, that you liked the game viewing, the food and the service. We are especially appreciative that you highlighted the thrill of staying in a canvas tent in the wild. Sometimes hard for us to explain the wonder of lying in your tent at night and listening to the animal calls. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Warmest regards, Peter Aucamp and the Honeyguide team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    16
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
43
56
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the family camp.

From arrival to departure. The staff was extremely attentive, caring, helpful and fun. We laughed, ate and shared many stories together.

The tent rooms were clean, comfortable and relaxing. Never too hot. Beds were excellent and we always had a restful night sleep.

The food was incredible. Something different every day and all of it very good. One visitor had a dietary concern and the staff was very accomidating. In fact it was her second time to the camp.
Safari - the whole reason for going was to take the kids on their first safari. They started by complaining that 530 am was too early to get up. Who wouldn't agree? But after the excitement of spotting the wildlife - getting up got easier. Every safari drive was excellent. Great tracker and driver (Lyton). Morning coffee next to a pond with a family of hippos before tracking down the Rhino. Unbelievable. Then a sundowner and one of the most beautiful colored sky's I have seen. One night after finding a family of lions we had a moonriser (lol). But as late as it was - seeing he moms with their cubs made both my 9 and 11 years olds day - as well as their parents.

We had the best time ever and owe it to the wonderful people that cared for us and cared that we had a great time. Bret is the manager and was very attentive and helpful. Even making a special effort to help my wife download her photos.

Thank you Honeyguides.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Pianoman

Thank you for this review on tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and your children's first safari at Honeyguide Khoka Moya. Great that Lyton and Brett (and the chefs and rest of the team) were there to look after you and add to the fun and experience. It is a wonderful part of the world and the Honeyguides (your term!) were delighted to share it with you. We hope to see you all again. Please look at our facebook page from time to time for updates posted by the guides. Warmest regards Brett, Lyton and the Honeyguide team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Sitting in the dark listening to a male lion only meters away from the vehicle, watching 2 male cheetahs get ready to begin a morning hunt, becoming one with a herd of buffalo, morning coffee with a pod of hippos and a croc, sunrise over an endless savannah of golden orb spider webs glistening in the light, sitting in the middle of a herd of waterbucks that were on predator alert (perhaps a leopard?), coming upon a pair of sparring male elephants and sitting very still as one inspected our group and…the list of incredible moments is endless. Honeyguide was not just a safari experience to see the animals and check them off a list, but to experience their life on the savannah. Vestment and Douglas made sure our three boys were full members of our group and never rushed through any siting.
The tents were spotless, beds were fabulously comfortable, food was excellent and something for every taste. Not to mention a special birthday celebration for the 15 year-old. I wouldn’t change a thing. Thanks for the great memories!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Momof3, thank you - this wonderful review makes us realize the privilege and yet responsibility we have to share our beautiful part of the Manyeleti with our guests. It is so wonderful to see how much you enjoyed your stay at Khoka Moya, that the game viewing was interesting and not rushed and how the team including Douglas and Vestment and the chefs took care to see that you and the boys had a memorable time. Thanks for mentioning the staff members and also for appreciating the effort which they made for the 15th birthday. We hope to see you all again. Warmest regards Peter Aucamp and the Honeyguide Khoka Moya Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at Honeyguide Mantobeni tented camp in March 2012.
It was a disaster from start to finsh.
The camp could best be described as on its last legs and downmarket.
The tent was dark and we were constantly searching for dark items such as underwear and cables.
The service attitude was deplorable. It was as though the staff would be pleased if we had not come and the sooner we left the better.
The guides were apathetic.
The food was unremarkable as opposed to other camps we have visited.

We highly recommend you choose another camp.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Winno

Thank you for your review on your stay at our Mantobeni Camp during March last year. As a year has elapsed it is difficult for me to find out the details of your visit, ie what you were served for meals what your saw and which staff you were not happy with. I would be grateful if you would send me more information in this regard to peter@mix.co.za. I can however confirm that we have, in the last year, made a lot of refurbishments to the tents and bathrooms at Mantobeni - including the lighting inside the cupboards, which you correctly mentioned need to be attended to. We have also replaced carpets, couches and mattresses and are in the process of upgrading the tents themselves. Floods earlier this year have meant more refurbishments but we understand this is an ongoing process. We have an enthusiastic new team at Mantobeni and the recent comments on this site have been complimentary on the food and the game viewing. I am grateful for your visit to Honeyguide but would like to receive further information or suggestions from your by email as it is essential that we take on all feedback especially any constructive criticism. Warmest regards, Peter Aucamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

During our safari we were lucky to see the big five.
Khoka Moya in Honey Guide is the awesome sixth.
Our group,two families,really enjoyed our stay at the camp.
The tents are really good,functional,brilliant.The service of Honey guide
is excellent,safari guides fantastic --and the kitchen!! ,staff included,one of
the best ever met on my trips ,all over the world.
Relaxed,friendly atmosphere in the middle of African nature.
Piece of our hearts left there.
We will go back.

Room Tip: Khoka Moya is all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Jari 1, wow, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at our Honeyguide Khoka Moya camp. It is wonderful to see that your safaris were so eventful and we are very grateful to you for letting us know how much you enjoyed the camp, the guides and especially the food and serving staff. Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again to Honeyguide. Warmest regards from all of us, Peter Aucamp and the team at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Greenwich CT
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed three nights, including through a rain storm the likes of which I have never experienced. In a "tent." It worked! The Honeyguide Camp has a friendly, competent staff. The chef made a special appearance at each meal announcing our choices, all of which were delicious. The trips into the bush were fascinating, even if they did begin at 5:30am!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Nidawel

Thank you for sharing your experience at Honeyguide, even through a horrendous storm! We are grateful to you for complementing the staff and and especially for letting us know that you enjoyed the food. Cooking in the kitchens at the camps has its challenges and it is wonderful to see that the quality of the food mentioned. Our thanks to Nicholas and Mama Gladys who run the Honeyguide kitchens. We hope we have an opportunity of hosting you again some time in the future. Warmest regards Peter Aucamp and the Honeyguide Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have been to Honeyguide several times and i could go back every season. It is made up of 2 camps: Khoka Moya is more child friendly(lawns to play on and more child friendly activities ) and Mantobeni... you sleep in tents based on a cement slab and complete with huge bathroom and electricity. The monkeys leap, the branches rustle and you are aware of the priviledge of being right in the bush. Great staff, both in the camp and as game rangers who go out of their way to ensure you have a wonderful stay.From planning impromptu and surprse drinks in the bush to lunch in a forest glade you are treated as an honoured guest. A well- stocked wine cellar which you are free to explore and gracious meals(no line up at the buffet here!)make this a great choice for most: we have been with our family and friends. A 6 hour drive from Jo'burg or a 1 hour flight to Hoedspruit(a picturesque small airport) with a 1 our transfer.The winters are cold and the pool looks tempting so I am going to brave the heat next time : the big 5 will be there summer and winter,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Pippa - thank you so much for this post and for your support of Honeyguide. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stays with us and we look forward to seeing you again, in summer this time! Warmest regards, Peter Aucamp and the Honeyguide Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps

Address: Orpen Road | P.O. Box 786064, Kruger National Park 1360, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Manyeleti Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Manyeleti Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Tented Safari Camp in the Manyeleti Reserve in the Greater Kruger National Park. Stay either at Mantobeni the more classic camp with its Nehru tents on wooden decks set in a forested water course or the contemporary designed Khoka Moya camp with its larger tents and which welcomes children of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps Hotel Manyeleti Game Reserve
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps South Africa/Manyeleti Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.