We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unreal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tintswalo Safari Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tintswalo Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Manyeleti reserve | Greater Kruger National Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“unreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

my son and daughter and i traveled to tintswalo in april of this year...it was our first game camp. we stayed in the presidential suite and were treated royally! we had simon, our chef, who did a fantastic job...the food he served was amazing! we had asher as our butler, he was great and very friendly...and we had eric, our guide and foster, our tracker...they were so much fun...i felt like we were really hunting game...they were great at their jobs...it's a wonderful place to see alot of fantastic animals!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
68
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tara
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

As a many times traveller to "the greatest game reserve on earth" this was our first stay at Tintswalo, Kruger Park. We occupied the Stanley suite; all the suites are named and themed after famous explorers eg Livingstone, Speke, Burton etc. Furnishings were opulent, dining excellent, management & staff attentive yet discreet, guides & trackers knowledgeable & obliging, game-viewing superb (Big-5 within 2 drives!) and off-roading fascinating. A great stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel agent, San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

this place has it all.. large accommodations, wonderful food, beautiful setting and staff that never stops.
The staff makes this place. Everyone is as friendly and helpful as can be.
Erick and Foster are really great as guide and tracker. They are very knowledgeable.
The spa was very nice and relaxing. I can’t tell you how many animals were walking/eating near
the lodge. I saw something different every time I went out the door.
The lodge is very well kept and rooms are beautiful and large.
The resident managers, Euan and Belinda are the best. I would come back here in a heartbeat.
We saw lots of animals every time we went out on drives.
The lodge is only about 45min by car from Hoedspruit airport. very easy transfer.
Don’t hesitate on this place, it is the best!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

Everything about this lodge was amazing except for the food. We thought it was because we missed our american cuisine but realized a french couple, and a woman from Dubai felt the same way! Maybe the lodge will take our survey and comments into account and correct it by the time you go. Make sure you get Eric and Foster as your guides you'll see everything even a pangolin (maybe!)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yenzi
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

It was our first safari in South Africafor me and my wife and Tintswalo Lodge was well beyond our expectations.

The rooms are located parallel to the river bed. They are very nice and with full privacy. Cape buffalos and elephants were a daily presence at the waterhole located in front of the restaurant deck. Baboons and impalas also drank water in the swimming pool of our suite.

All staff do their best to please you. Service was flawless.

The ranger and the spotter were truly proffessionals who answered all questions and managed to find all animals even deep into the bush (off road driving). We were able to see the Big 5 in the first two days. We have observed a pride of 9 lions trying to a kill a big buffalo bull, which managed to escape. We also saw white rhinos sleeping almost in the middle of the road, hippos mating, a leopard with a cute cub, a journey of 9 giraffes, four cheetahs hunting together, etc. Impresive

The food was very good. Not the mention the bush bar at the sunset or the fancy breakfast on a dry river bed.

It was a memorable vacation.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

Both my husband and I have traveled extensively and are particular about food, service and hospitality. Tintswalo far exceeded our expectations and we can't wait to visit again. On a scale of 5, Tintswalo deserves 6 stars! We went to South Africa on our honeymoon and Tintswalo was the perfect place to end off our 8-day experience in Kruger. Everything was impeccable including the service, food, villa, bed, amenities, property and safari experience. We loved our private plunge pool on the deck from which we could see the watering hole where herds of elephant, buffalo, kudu and all sorts of animals (monkeys, vultures) would come for a drink. The staff became like family and were so genuinely caring and attentive. Every need was met enthusiastically, and with a huge smile. Our guide Foster and tracker Omega were incredible and made every effort to find every animal that we wanted to see. We also made a special request for a private daytrip to a local village where we were greeted with percussion and dancing performances, and the forture tellers predicted the exact circumstance that we were to see lions the next day - spectacular, as it came true!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

You will experience "the intangible feeling of love, gratitude and peace bestowed upon someone offering you a meaningful and worthy gift." this is what Tintswalo means in the native Shangaan language. I really mean that!!! We have been to great places and great, luxurious hotels before, but we never felt so welcomed, we never promised to be back. This time we did. There are so many reasons to go there. And I don't know where to start. 1. The lodge is amazing. The setting on a dry river bed. The deck under a huge, amazingly old tree. The suites are (situated very privately) equipped with everything you need (air-condition and a fire place - I still regret that is was really not cold enough to get this one going) but they are so affectionately decorated that it does not seem to be a hotel, but the guesthouse of some good friends. 2. The stuff - no, must be actually number one.... We really have thank everybody again, and I would like to mention everybody, but this is not possible. But really everybody tried, every second, to make our stay there special. (I have to mention our ranger and tracker Brett and eagle-eye Alfred. I will never forget these game drives. The experience of the african bush - the big (500 buffaloes 'walking 'by) and the 'small' that snake camouflaged with green algae. 3. Manyeleti - a wonderful game reserve. 4. The Spa - the first time that the real Spa was bigger and the setting more wonderful than the pictures of the Spa in the web. Taking a bath and looking at giraffes walking by....Unforgettable5. The food - I am still fighting those extra pounds.....

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tintswalo Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintswalo Safari Lodge

Address: Manyeleti reserve | Greater Kruger National Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Manyeleti Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Manyeleti Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tintswalo Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private safari lodge within the pristine Manyeleti reserve adjoining the Fenceless boundary of the Kruger National Park. Private plunge pools, big 5 game, amazing cuisine. Manor house can take children with a fantastic children's program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tintswalo Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tintswalo Hotel Manyeleti Game Reserve
Tintswalo Kruger National Park
Tintswalo Safari Lodge South Africa/Manyeleti Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tintswalo Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.