We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tintswalo Safari Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tintswalo Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Manyeleti reserve | Greater Kruger National Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed at Tintswalo Safari Lodge for 3 nights and it was exactly what we were looking for in a safari experience. It was very luxurious but still gave you a certain "South African" vibe, unlike some of the other luxury lodges we were looking at that were too modernized. Our private villa was beautiful, extremely private and enormous! It really gave you the feel that you were in the middle of the bush, but still keeping with the whole 5 star mentality. The staff were incredible friendly, attentive, accomodating and personable. Our tracker and driver were also top notch! We sadly did not see any cats (due to a recent burning of the bush which they occasionally do to ensure the plants grow back in better condition for the animals) which was extremely disappointing and wish we were advised that it was not the best time to visit, but our driver and trackers made it their mission to find them. We drove for hours on end in search for these cats but it was not their fault. We did however see countless numbers of other animals like elephant (with babies), giraffe (with a 1 week old baby), hippo, rhino (and babies), buffalo, etc and many other rare nocturnal animals. This was by far one of most incredible experience of my life and Tintswalo is to thank. Highly recommended safari lodge!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
68
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

the arrival was wonderful with sharmain, Ignatius, and Kate the chef all out front of the manor house to welcome us. we immediately were offered drinks and lunch. my kids have never been on a game drive, although I was a professional guide ever since I could remember, they were quickly put at ease on the drive with Obett the tracker and Shoes the guide. superb Game viewing with mating lions, excellent bull elephants around waterhole and herds and herds of Buffalo, with a few rhino for good measure. the mor is a delight for families with secure game proof fencing around the garden with pool and spacious rooms. I would strongly recommend anyone this place as its strategically placed to get the very best of the kruger without the craziness of the Kruger. I would come back in a heartbeat. 6 stars all the way.

Room Tip: The manor house is perfect for family and reunions, a must in this area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed with another family in Tintswalo Manor House. It sleeps a maximum of 10 and we had 9 in our group. Going on safari is in fact luxury camping. We were happy to sleep in the nets as you didn't have to worry about any insects on you. The home was comfortable, and the sleeping arrangements worked perfectly. The staff quickly let you know the schedule and you do adapt quickly rising at 5:00 a.m. for your morning drive (3.5 hours) and an afternoon drive (3.5 hours) at 4:00 p.m. Not much time to sleep at night, but that is not what you are there to do. Our group was lucky and saw the big five plus the wild dogs (twice) which is rare. Animals sightings were so plentiful--AMAZING! Butler Sharmaine was kind and efficient. The only small issue was that we did have to gently remind the staff that we had pre-requested kid-friendly fare for the five kids in our group. They rectified the situation immediately so KUDOS to them! Our guide Jaime and tracker Simon were EXCELLENT! They provided a trip of a lifetime. My teenage son was in awe of this trip continually thanking my husband for taking us. Of course the friends we went with made the trip perfect. All in all--a great time!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Just got back from a 4-night stay at the Tintswalo Manor House with my family of 5 (wife and kids ages 13, 11, 8). The entire experience was absolutely amazing! We are a well-travelled family, but this is the best vacation we have ever taken and likely will ever take.

The best reason to choose Tintswalo is its location. It's in the Manyeleti Reserve, directly adjacent to Kruger National Park to the east and Sabi Sands to the south. There are no fences between any of these so the animals roam freely. The big advantage of the Manyeleti Reserve is that there are hardly any lodges there, and therefore very few safari vehicles roaming the bush. So, we were able to do our game drives in near-complete isolation. This is in stark constrast to Sabi Sands, which is overrun with lodges and safari vehicles that queue up at animal sightings.

I suppose the Sabi Sands approach would appeal to some people...the numerous safari guides all communicate with each other, so you are essentially guaranteed to see the Big 5 and to have very little dead time between animal sightings (other than waiting in the vehicle queues around the animals). Some people might prefer this, but to me, it sounds like a glorified zoo.

In Manyeleti, there are no such guarantees. But, this is more than offset by the unique and personal experience of every game drive, the thrill of finding things spontaneously, and the freedom of spending as much or as little time as you want at each sighting. For instance, we spent two hours off-roading watching three male lions on a wildebeest hunt, and another hour off-roading observing two lionesses in a den with their cubs. In both cases, there was not another soul around the entire time. The Tintswalo trackers and guides are excellent (we had Jamie and Simon who were both amazing), and we did manage to see the entire Big 5.

The accommodations at the Manor House are 4-star and perfect for families. The food is plentiful and the service excellent. The watering hole directly in front of the house was a very popular spot for buffalo, elephant and waterbuck...and we also had visits from a lion and a leopard. For those looking for more luxury, the nearby Tintswalo Lodge has 5-star accommodations.

I can't say enough good things about this place. We had a magical experience that my family and I will never forget.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We recently booked all rooms at Tintswalo Safari Lodge for a group of 12 and had an amazing experience. The staff was exceedingly accommodating and warm. The rooms posh and perfect for a 5* safari experience. We found the food to be excellent. It was abundant, diverse and creative and beautifully presented. The wines were also top quality, and there was plenty of it. The rangers and trackers were very good. Game viewing was good. Not too many cats but plenty of everything else. We highly recommend Tinstwalo Safari Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

The Tintswalo Safari Lodge was truly an experience of a lifetime. We had the good fortune of staying at three beautiful lodges during our time in South Africa and our favorite memories we during our stay at Tintswalo.

The accommodations were beyond our expectations. A combination of beautiful natural architecture with breath taking style and grace. Every detail in each room was stunning. But our greatest experience was of the people. Our Guide Eric, Tracker Foster, Chef Simon, Butler Ashel and Housekeeper Miriam were most definitely the “A-TEAM”. With their genuine desire to take care of our every need, they made us feel beyond pampered, they made us feel part of their family. They made our trip far more than watching the magnificent wildlife. They made it an experience of a lifetime.

We would highly recommend Tintswalo to anyone who is looking for spectacular Safari experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

My (new) husband and I spent 3 AMAZING nights at this lodge and absolutely LOVED it!! The place was beautiful, from the lodge entrance to the nicely decorated rooms, to the lovely grounds. We felt like royalty by the way we were treated by all of the staff from the very moment we arrived. We were scheduled to stay 4 nights originally but due to a government strike which affected our ability to get to the lodge, we had to stay at another lodge for 1 night. We were thrilled to find out after 1 day at the other lodge, that Tinswalo was sending their own personal helicopter to pick my husband and me up to transport us to their lodge!! GREAT!!!

Additionally, because it was our honeymoon, they were continually doing special things to make our trip that much more memorable. For example, they surprised us with a private lunch in the spa, which they closed for an hour so we could have our privacy. They also filled the outdoor spa tub for us, topped off with flower petals. When they found out that it was my birthday, they set up a beautiful dinner for 2 in their wine cellar and baked me my own birthday cake!! The chef was absolutely amazing and we could not have asked for more delicious meals throughout our entire stay. The only negative thing we could say is that the game viewing at Tinswalo was not as great as at the first lodge we stayed at. However, we definitely do not believe that this had anything to do with the quality of our ranger or tracker (who were both fantastic) but rather a result of luck/chance. We highly recommend this lodge and hope to one day return (maybe for our 50 year wedding anniversary)!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tintswalo Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintswalo Safari Lodge

Address: Manyeleti reserve | Greater Kruger National Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Manyeleti Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Manyeleti Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tintswalo Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private safari lodge within the pristine Manyeleti reserve adjoining the Fenceless boundary of the Kruger National Park. Private plunge pools, big 5 game, amazing cuisine. Manor house can take children with a fantastic children's program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tintswalo Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tintswalo Hotel Manyeleti Game Reserve
Tintswalo Kruger National Park
Tintswalo Safari Lodge South Africa/Manyeleti Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tintswalo Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.